We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinnaird Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinnaird Guest House
Save
You added Kinnaird Guest House to your Saves list
5 Marshall Place, Perth PH2 8AH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 Perth B&B and Inns
Pegnitz, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The B&B is centrally located and has private parking spaces. The rooms are comfortable, my room was a bit small, but had TV and hairdryer as well as a small bathroom with toilet and shower. Breakfast was delicious, cooked freshly and served friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Everything a good B&B should be: clean, warm and welcoming - with a great breakfast. Within walking distance of all Perth's attractions. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here on Friday night with my girlfriend. We booked a small double room, which at £65 for the night was the same price as a double room in the cheapest central Perth hotel. However, where as reviews of said hotel suggest it's rather run down, our room in Kinnaird guest house was in pristine condition, perfectly clean, modern, and yet very homely. The room was small- I think there was a larger double available for a slightly higher rate- but we had expected that. The breakfast room and the lounge upstairs (free whisky and sherry!) look out onto one of Perth's main parks, which is quite scenic.
The Kinnaird is family-run, and you get the impression they enjoy their job- the owners were friendly and helpful.
The highlight of our stay though was the cooked breakfast (there is cereal etc too)- unlike many hotels and some other guest houses, at the Kinnaird they cook to order, and buy from an award-winning local butcher. It was the best breakfast I've had in a long time.

There were a couple of minor negative points, but these did not stop us forming an extremely positive impression of our stay: Firstly, because our room was small, you could hear people going past in the corridor as if they were actually in the room (they must have passed no more than 2 metres from where we lay in bed- this made me jump in the morning! But there are only a few rooms, so not much corridor traffic); and secondly, it would have been nice to have toiletries such as shower gel / shampoo sachets provided in the en suite.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Kinnaird again, or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is our second visit. Spotlessly clean, understated service and an amazing breakfast.
I can't recommend this guest house enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Great place. Delicious breakfast, friendly owners, comfortable room with great view over the park, and a lovely little lounge room to relax in. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Spacious room, warm professional welcome and a guest house run more like a hotel.

Breakfast was amazing- well presented and hot.

Everywhere was very clean and well presented.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were going to Perth Races and needed a Guest House near the station and within easy reach of the Racecourse at Scone. By chance we chose Kinnaird House and how lucky we were. A great location, lovely clean room and a fabulous freshly cooked breakfast. They booked a taxi for us and let us store our luggage after we had checked out on Sunday morning and couldn't have been more helpful.

One word of warning if you are going to the Races - leave plenty of time. Although Perth is spending a lot of money in an attempt to be become a City again, getting across the bridge over the Tay was a nightmare!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinnaird Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnaird Guest House

Address: 5 Marshall Place, Perth PH2 8AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Town House built in 1806. Overlooking the beautiful South Inch Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kinnaird Guest House Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinnaird Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.