We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rattray's Bar and Restaurant

Rattray's Bar and Restaurant
The Cross, High Street, Perth PH2 7QW, Scotland
01821 642888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 173 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We have refurbished the premises from top to bottom and to the highest standard, ensuring our customers can enjoy a bright and modern setting, with a relaxed informal atmosphere. We have employed a skilled Chef, who has created mouth watering menus for lunch and dinner.We also offer a superb fresh snack and pizza take away menu.Our team have been fully trained in all apsects of the hospitality industry and are keen to welcome you to Rattray's.Fine Wines, Cask conditioned Ales, Cocktails, Aromatic Freshly Ground Cofee and Speciality Teas are just a few of the beverages you can expect to be offered when you visit.At Rattrays, we pride ourselves on our Customer Care, the quality of locally sourced produce we offer at prices that are value for money.View our Full Menu onlineRecent Customer Facebook Message For an outstanding meal, great atmosphere, exceptional staff and to make you feel extra special Rattray's is the only place to go, thank you so very much for making my 18th birthday extra special I can't thank you enough x
1 review
“A wee gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Been here a couple of times, and so far not been disappointed. First time I've been asked how I'd like my burger done, and it was fabulous! Takeaway pizza lovely, quick & hot. Staff friendly & welcoming and I like the bright decor and displays of local art - great to have an outlet to display locally. Overall very impressed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattraysrestaurant, Owner at Rattray's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review, delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Rattrays. As our Burgers as all our food is freshly cooked to order, we ask our clients how they want their burger cooked so that they can enjoy the food cooked to their own requirements. Glad you were impressed with the whole experienceand we hope to see you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Had a beautiful, Festive dinner with a friend. Our portions were huge and cooked to perfection. The staff were so friendly and the service was five star. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattraysrestaurant, Owner at Rattray's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
thank you for your wonderful review of Rattrays, so pleased that you enjoyed our food and service, great food and great service are of top priority to us. Hope to se you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not too sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Made a visit to Rattray's whilst visiting family recently. Had previously visited the establishment under its previous owner, and it has undergone some massive refurbishment and lost alot of the original features. Don't get me wrong, the old place was fairly dire with staff to match, but now the place seems very clinical. Our order consisted of one started, two mains and three drinks. The steak was well cooked and to my request, but the chips tasted overlooked. I did not eat dessert due to pressure of time. The bill was something of a surprise, and a tad on the pricy side for what it was. Having eaten at The Kitchin in Edinburgh and Gleneagles, I felt the meal should have been outstanding at that price, it did not represent good value for money. The drinks were very nice. On the issue of service, I was not terribly impressed unlike other tripadvisor reviewers! Our waitress was quite an intimidating woman, who did not seem sincere at all.She also served our meal smelling strongly of cigarettes, and looked generally unkept, greasy hair etc. We found this rather off putting to be honest. She did not reflect the overall image I feel the restaurant is trying to portrait, her colleague was far more welcoming. Am not sure if we will return when we visit Errol.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattraysrestaurant, Owner at Rattray's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
I am so sorry Rattrays was not to your liking, to comment on a few issues you had, our staff are always clean and tidy and would not be allowed to work with greasy hair, we pride ourselves on our service so disappointed you did not feel happy with it. We feel that our prices are very good value for money, our starters are £3.25 -£3.95 our mains are £9.50 to £15.95 for a 21 day aged rib eye steak with hand cut pommes neuf and all the trimmings. We think this is excellent value for money for aberdeen angus beef. Most of our customers have returned time and time again due to great food and service. I can only apologise that you did not enjoy your time with us and hope that you give is another chance to make sure you enjoy your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This little gem is in Errol between Perth and Dundee. We were there on a Sunday evening when it was very quiet but it had obviously been busy earlier in the day as they had run out of the Sunday roasts.
We had the fish and chips which were probably the best ever. It will be a long tIme before we order fish and chips from another restaurant as the memory of Sunday will be too fresh.
Desserts were lovely and the service was faultless.
This is worth seeking out if you are in this area. We live in Wales but visit family near Errol and will make a point of going back to this small but excellent restaurant

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattraysrestaurant, Owner at Rattray's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our establishment. we take pride in trying to ensure our guests are treated to excellent food but also excellent service, which is of equal importance to us. we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Our fish and chips are fast becoming famous for being fresh and of the best quality, they are also known as whale on a plate.

In fact on Wednesdays we offer whale on a plate wednesday, our famous fresh fish and chips, thick cut chips, minted peas, homemade tartare sauce, farmhouse bread and butter and a pot of SUKI tea. We hope we will be able to visit us again on your return to the area and thank you, your response is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BRING BACK THE OLD SMIDDY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

It's too bright and a bit modern for Errol high street. Not too bad food but the Smiddy was much better. The service was fine the girls were nice. It was a bit expensive. The take away is a great idea but I'd rather order from somewhere in the town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattraysrestaurant, Owner at Rattray's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are sorry Rattrays is not to your liking, we think that you are doing our wonderful village a disservice, as Errol and its inhabitants deserve a fresh modern place to meet, eat and drink. As you can see from previous reviews our prices are very competitve. Dismayed that you thought the old smiddy was better, you are welcome to your opinion but we pride ourselves in fresh local produce used in all our menus, cooked to order by our experienced Head Chef and kitchen staff. You didnt give a reason for preferring to order takeaway from the town, it feels like you are not going to like our establishment at all for whatever reason. Sorry that you don't but we are hoping to please our customers by offering quality food, drinks and environment with a takeaway and delivery service for those who are unable or do not wish to travel. We are aware we will not please everyone but are pleased the majority of our customers love our service and premises and are coming back because they appreciate having an establishment worthy of a city location in their small village. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattray's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Errol, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Rattray's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattray's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.