We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal George Hotel to your Saves list
Royal George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bishops Stortford, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Elegant and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice Hotel overlooking the river. Nice restautant. Lovely spacious rooms.
Very pleasant staff. Do need to be able to cope with stairs. There is very little parking at the Hotel. There is more parking fairly close by.

Room Tip: I would get a river view room if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    122
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
66
142
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed the night here and loved it. The room was spacious and clean with plenty of natural light. Some parts of the hotel looked slightly jaded and in need of TLC but not dirty and did not detract from the all the good points. The staff were really friendly and went out of there way to help. Would use this hotel if I stayed in Perth again.

Room Tip: Try and get a river facing room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed a few times now at the Royal George. Stayed in the Tay Suite last couple of visits overlooking the old Perth Bridge over the River Tay. Very comfortable room which large bathroom. Staff and food outstanding. Excellent location and highly recommend to others

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Tay Street for spectaculsr views over the River Tay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just had a family wedding here and cannot praise the hotel or staff high enough. Very friendly and attentive but all very relaxed and unfussy. The meal was enjoyed by all guests and generous portions made sure even the hungriest we're catered for. Very swift service so no tables were left waiting for long. So thank you to Eddie, Gary and all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We attended a friends wedding recently at this hotel and had a brilliant day. The staff were fantastic, weren't intrusive but couldn't have done any more to assist. A special mention to the bar man Michael, he overheard us asking the rest of the party what they would like to drink and before we turned round to ask he was halfway through the order, amazing service and we have all spoken about him since.

We were served a 4 course meal which included a melon and sorbet starter, butternut squash soup, roast beef, with roast potatoes, veg and a Yorkshire pudding and cheesecake dessert. Unfortunately I enjoyed the first 3 courses so much I had no room for my dessert but I tried a little piece of another and it was also delightful.

My only very small point to note is that there is no parking at this hotel (limited on street parking is available) and that one of the internal windows between the restaurant and the bar area was in need of a clean but can only assume this was an oversight as every other window was clean (I checked lol).

We will definitely return to this hotel despite it being over an hour away as we have already checked out the high tea menu.

Thank you for making it such a wonderful day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Perth. It is very close to the concert hall, shops and some really nice restaurants. It is also right on the banks of the River Tay, so the views are lovely. Despite its central location, the hotel is nice and quiet.

Inside, the lobby and bar area are rather dated, but they do have a certain old world charm about them. Reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful.

The first room we were given was the Chinese Suite, which was very 'interesting'! The decor was like a really tacky Chinese restaurant with lots of shiny fabric, fans on the wall and large red chinese lanterns. It was also very dark, in part because of the decor but also because the only view was of a wall!

My husband went back to reception to ask if we could change rooms. This was no problem, and the receptionist arranged for us to be moved to the Honeymoon Suite, which was absolutely beautiful. This room was large, bright and airy with lovely views of the Tay. The room had obviously been quite recently redecorated: it was very much in keeping with the traditional style of the hotel, but with a modern twist. Lovely. And the bed and pillows were so comfy. As an added bonus, when we checked out it turned out that the honeymoon suite was cheaper than the Chinese suite!

If you get bored of walking around the city, the hotel is well located for exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside including Scone Palace which is about a 5 minute drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a nice hotel combining old-fashioned charm with newly decorated bedrooms. My only gripe was that the bed was not great - it was a pretty cheap mattress, I think - the surface was heavily patterned with stitching which made it feel bumpy, it wasn't a bit comfortable. And the duvet was slightly too big for the duvet cover so it made it rather lumpy. Between the lumps and the bumps, I didn't sleep at all well.

But the staff are outstanding - and they were very honest at breakfast and told me the kipper was dyed, so I had the cooked breakfast instead. They also made porridge exactly to my specifications. If the bed were only better I'd have loved it! And I'm sorry to have to post this unenthusiastic revue, because the staff were so nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.