We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal George Hotel to your Saves list
Royal George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
carlisle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location of the hotel is very central and near the Perth concert hall. The front of the hotel overlooks the Tay. We were fortunate enough to have a room overlooking the river, which was very nice, I'm not sure what the other rooms would overlook. The room we had was very comfortable and had nice furnishings. We only ate breakfast in the hotel. This was served in a conservatory, again overlooking the Tay. The breakfast was excellent. My only criticism of the hotel would be the car park; the access was via a very narrow lane and to park in one of the few spaces requires significant manoeuvring skills! There is on street parking within walking distance, but vehicles have to be moved fairly early in the morning

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River Tay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    122
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
66
142
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Eddie and Lorna have a right to be proud of their establishment nestling by the Tay. I was a guest at one wedding there in August and father for my own daughter’s wedding 10th August 2013. It is aptly named Royal. If it was good enough for Queen Victoria it is just as good for you but at an affordable cost!! Instead of three feathers being the logo it ought to have five. The complaints about parking are made by those who wish to have tarmac outside their bedroom and who should simply book into the lodges on the periphery of town. This was a Coaching Inn and there are charming Dickensian hang overs throughout the hotel. Relax and accept that this is an old establishment with a modern service.

The staff could not be more amenable and the young receptionist, the bar man and the waiters we encountered could not be more caring about their guests. Every need was paid attention to. The service at two weddings we attended within a month was slick and chic. Both weddings saw the guests replete with food and in a relaxed atmosphere which added to the day. The bedrooms were very comfortable, well decorated and furnished. Many have lovely views over the River Tay. Breakfast is traditional Scottish with a large choice of food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was one of the mini suites, up in the roof. It was very spacious, with a huge en suite bathroom, the bed was super king size and very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. We only stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, so can't comment on the standard of food for lunch or dinner. However breakfast was exceptional, at least eight choices of cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit juice, fruit, and copious amounts of tea and toast. To top it all the homemade shortbread was delicious.The only negative point were the bath towels, which were on the small side.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarbert
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

stayed here on business and it was certainly better than your average 3 star hotel.the room was quite small but the bathroom looked brand new .The hotel is a bit of a warren but the staff were friendly and it was good value for the rate paid.The car park is very small and is through a pend you can park on the street after 6pm till 8 am for free.
Breakfast was supposed to open at 7.30am but they were very obliging a little while before that time and the two staff serving were friendly and on the go all the time.The cooked breakfast is served not buffet and was pretty decent.
there was a little street noise from the road from about 6 am but it wasn't overly intrusive

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I chose the wedding venue 1 year before the wedding and to be honest from day 1 we knew we had chosen the right venue!
With all the questions a bride to be has and all the concerns Eddie was so helpful .
After loads of meetings and getting to see someone else's wedding being set up in the hotel it gave me lots of ideas.
I have to emphasize how well all the staff were on my actual wedding day . This was a 5 star plus at efforts to make all feel welcome and nothing was ever a problem with them !!
We got ready in the hotel before the wedding and the wedding suite is huge so fitted my 5 bridesmaids and mother of the bride makeup artist well .The hotel is an old fashioned so if you want new and modern don't book here .The hotel was perfect for my wedding pictures inside and outside as your right an the side of the Tay!
The food was amazing and very quick to get the meals out to all our guests at the same time , none of this still waiting whilst other people are already finished ! The meal its self was hot and portion size was quite big considering we catered for 60 guests including some young children . Eddie is such a professional at being a wedding master . The hotel is big enough for guests to mingle day and night nice couches to lounge on great little touches with hotel menus and table was set up for a king and queen .
The night time was perfect to we had 120 guests and all had an amazing time and the buffet was tasty and not a thing left at the end of the night
.I couldn't recommend this hotel anymore and the price was very good and the breakfast next morning was to die for .All or guests had taken up the rooms and we all dined together the morning after together so made it even more special .
Thanks again Eddie and all of his staff who made our day as special as it was !
Perfect day \ night had by all !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room did not look anything like we expected from images provided. It was dated and small but clean. View over a car park with the smell of rubbish bins below did not add to the experience. The towels were tiny. Plugging in a kettle wasnt easy.Parking was a problem as a busy Saturday in Perth. I did not like not having access to the internet in our room but were advised of this.The breakfast was very good and staff friendly and helpful. We did get to see what views were available over breakfast. Felt very disappointed could of got much better hotel for that price.

Room Tip: Avoid room 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The room had everything we needed and the staff were very polite and accommodating at all times, from reception, to dining room, to bar. The food was absolutely delicious (we had dinner and breakfast). We will definately return but hopefully for a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.