We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient hotel for sightseeing in Perthshire” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huntingtower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Huntingtower Hotel to your Saves list
Huntingtower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3JT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Onchan,Isle of Man.UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A convenient hotel for sightseeing in Perthshire”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

A quiet location yet near to all major road networks for easy access to tourist destinations such as Gleneagles,Crieff,Scone Palace,Glamis and Stirling.
The hotel was very easy to find ,large car park,pleasant gardens,pity the stream had no water in it,a lovely reception area,comfy sofas.Not the most welcoming staff at reception,efficient but a smile would have been nice.The room was very spacious and well appointed on the ground floor near reception.
The lounge bar and dining room with wood panelling gave the hotel a feel of a country house.We paid £65.00 on a room only basis,dinner was £19.90 each,but was really good value with attention to detail in quality and presentation,lovely.Our only criticism was the breakfast at £15.95 each it did not match up to the exellent dinner the night before,we felt it was not up to the standard of dinner .We would stay there again but not have the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    176
    56
    31
    26
See reviews for
95
274
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and really liked it. We did have one problem which at the time was a bit scary. The lift broke down when we were in it. However the staff responded quickly and got us out of it within about 10 minutes.

Apart from this we had a great time at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful including the red haired receptionist who was criticised in a previous review. We found her to be very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is located a few miles from the centre of Perth though if you walk out to the main road (just over a 5 minute walk) you can get a bus into the centre. It is situated in a quiet area and has lovely grounds surrounding it while parking is also available at the side of the hotel.

Our room was very large with a large sitting area to the side of the bed. The bathroom was also a good size. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean. The room contained tea and coffe making facilities and shortbread was also left in the room

The hotel has a bar and a nice restaurant which like the hotel as a whole has plenty of character. We had an evening meal in the restaurant on one night and the food was very nice. It was a set price menu - £19.95 per person for a 4 course meal. I would certainly eat there again. The breakfast was also decent. It consisted of a cold buffet plus options for a cooked breakfast.

Free Wi-fi was also available in the hotel

We found the hotel to be a relaxing place to stay and we would certainly have no hesitation going back to stay again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I've stayed in many, many hotels but have never been treated with such disdain by the reception staff and subsequently the manager as we did on the one and only night I would ever stay in this hotel. Hugely unprofessional receptionist with red hair, absolutely needs emergency training in treating customers well in a service environment and in the meantime should be kept as far away from hotel guests as possible. I felt like a naughty schoolboy despite being a good 15 years older than she. The manager seemed unconcerned by how she spoke to the hotel guests also. If we hadn't been meeting others there for a friends birthday surprise we would have all left and went to a hotel that appreciated and knew how to treat / speak to their guests. As a diret result none of us felt inclined to spend / stay in the hotel any longer than necessary and they missed out on the income that would have been generated from a party of 6 for dinner, drinks, breakfast (yes breakfast wasn't included in the tariff which came as a surprise!!) and lunch. Complaint now winging it's way to Best Western / Portland Hotels. Other reception staff were professional and bar staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall ok hotel, nice setting, beds were uncomfortable, rooms smelled a bit musty / damp......wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Lovely, relaxed feel to this hotel. Ideal for couples looking for a quiet weekend away as hotel is on its own at the end of a quiet lane about 5 minutes' drive outside Perth - beautiful views over countryside at the back of the hotel. Lovely wood-panelled restaurant with excellent food and good value for money (bonus was watching ducklings and rabbits playing on the lawn at dusk outside the dining room window). Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed one night for a wedding in July. Hotel is a lovely building with nice grounds. Room was OK, we had the disabled room which had a ramp outside (from the rear carpark) leading to double-doors which people kept mistaking for the doors into the hotel! Bit scary when someone is trying to batter the door down and knowking on the window.
Could hear a lot of noise from the rooms above, just people walking about as normal so the level of noise was quite annoying. The reception & senior staff were all excellent. The bar staff and one of the waitresses at breakfast seemed disinterested in serving customer s- it was like we were inconveniencing them. The food was excellent and as a wedding reception location it ticked all the boxes.
Overall, mostly minor gripes and general impression was good.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

In September 08 I booked 23 rooms for May 09. In January I phoned and increased the booking to 25 rooms. When I sent the final room list 3 weeks before the event they contacted me (a week later) to tell me they had cancelled my booking in Dec/Jan as I had not confirmed the rooms - despite my call to increase the room number! They cancelled the booking without contacting me - despite having my name, address, phone no. and email address!!! You can't imagine the problems this caused. However I would highly recommend Crieff Hydro for stepping into the breach - in a much classier manner! If you have a booking with this hotel - check it regularly!

Stayed May 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chirnside scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend break while the arts festival was on, under the two nghts b&b and one night dinner package. Hotel is set in a lovely peaceful location. Started weekend off by sitting in the peaceful grounds with a bottle of wine. All staff were efficient, helpful and polite. Room was nice, had everything you would want. Dinner was lovely. Food was excellent. Would deffinately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntingtower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Hotel

Address: Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3JT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Perth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#5 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingtower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Huntingtower Hotel, nestled in a quiet country neighbourhood setting, yet only minutes away from the city of PerthHuntingtower Hotel is one of the friendliest country house hotels in Scotland, designed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy understated elegance and charm, individual and tasteful guest rooms, spacious and contrasting lounges and dining areas, award winning food and service, delightful gardens and grounds. A place where you can relax and feel completely at homeWhether your stay is for business or leisure Huntingtower Hotel is the perfect choice to make sure your stay in Perth a memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Huntingtower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Perth
Perth Best Western
Huntingtower Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntingtower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.