We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntingtower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Huntingtower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huntingtower Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3JT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Perth
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Having returned to this hotel for the 5/6 th occasion for a couple of nights stay , the welcome and friendliness of the staff were outstanding . The helpfulness , and the extra mile that they go to ensure that the stay there was excellent is a credit to them and the management.
The food once again was superb both breakfast and evening meal with a good range of choices for both.
Relaxed atmosphere, lovely location , plus a huge bedroom and big bed , just as I said "simply the best"

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post these kinds words, it is always nice to hear that people have had a good time. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    144
    41
    26
    26
See reviews for
67
218
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We used the Huntingtower as a rendezvous point for meeting with friends as it was central for all and easy to get to from the main motorways. That's not to say its by the motorway, far from it. The location is secluded and tranquil.
We got an excellent two night deal package and although I don't think we were in the best of rooms due to the deal rate we were on, but it was well worth the money.
Food was excellent and servicce on the whole was very good. I would suggest that the hotel provide a better manned bar in the evemning as we were constantly looking for the bar tender after 22.00.
Would we go again? Yes, and looks like we will be in February 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed overnight at the hotel after attending a Diamond Wedding Lunch....food was fantastic as was the service, the staff and the ambience. Such a change to get a comfortable well decorated bedroom and a bathroom with a traditional 3 piece suite. Can't praise the Hotel highly enough and it takes a lot for me to say that! Just one minor niggle.....the driveway and in particular the disabled parking bay had not been salted and it was quite icy...not ideal for those in their mid 80's to walk on - i parked at the door to let my parents out then went back to park..couldn't enjoy the grounds either because of icy paths - a little bit of attention here would be worthwhile.

Room Tip: I asked for a ground floor room for my parents and i got one too.....no noise despite overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

have stayed at this hotel twice this year and found both visits to be an absolute pleasure

the hotel is very easy to get to, with beautiful surroundings and grounds and near enough to get into Perth, just a short drive, should you wish to shop.

We had a beautiful room on both occasions, both were very clean with very comfortable beds, ensuite with separate bath and shower, or shower over bath. Good facilities with plenty storage.Selection of tea, coffee hot choc and shortie in the rooms.

we have also eaten here on several occasions both for lunch and dinner, cannot fault the quality and presentation of food or the service of the staff. The chef has an amazing talent to create beautiful meals, and the staff have always been friendly and welcoming and whilst being attentive, they are not overly bearing.

Staff and service have always been exceptional at each visit

I cannot wait to eat at this hotel or stay there again in the future, always trying to find a reason to go and have a meal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lunch for four in the conseratory on a monday, good menu, we all had 3 courses, highlight of the starter was the 'black pudding affair', unexpectedly tasty and nearly enough for main, all the mains were good and puds were just above average. Service was good and the food delivered in a timely manner. The conservatory was warm and looked out onto the gardens,lovely location. All in all well worth the 10min drive out of Perth for a very pleasant experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Arrived for a 2 night mid week stay - booked via the hotel website using a promotional code sent to me by this hotel chain. Excellent value for money. Lovely old fashioned hotel set in nice grounds. Staff were excellent, especially Zoe who served us in the restaurant. Offer included free 2 course meal every night of our stay and the food was wonderful. We asked for a romantic room and they didnt let us down. The room (202) was very large, clean and had the biggest bed ive ever seen. Lovely bathroom with roll top bath, though the shower was warm it wasnt very powerful. Loads of choices at breakfast which was served freshly cooked. Couldnt find any major faults at all about this hotel especially at the rate we paid. Would be hesitant to pay full cost though. Would recommend going there for an evening meal - 3 courses for £19.95 - and again food was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my fifth trip to this hotel for an annual meeting. I always stay for three nights. As usual the welcome at reception was warm and friendly and the receptionist remembered me. The room whilst spacious was a little fryaed at the edges, with curtains etc in need of refurbishment. The bathroom also has a distinct mouldy damp smell, which was from the unpleasant shower curtain. I only ate in the reasturant for one evening and can only think there has been a change of chef. The venison was not very nice at all (usually one of the best things on the menu) and the cheese selection was miniscule. Breakfast was ok, except for the first morning, when the kippers were overcooked and the ege rock hard. It was a shame as I have always enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntingtower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Hotel

Address: Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3JT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntingtower Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Huntingtower Hotel, nestled in a quiet country neighbourhood setting, yet only minutes away from the city of PerthHuntingtower Hotel is one of the friendliest country house hotels in Scotland, designed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy understated elegance and charm, individual and tasteful guest rooms, spacious and contrasting lounges and dining areas, award winning food and service, delightful gardens and grounds. A place where you can relax and feel completely at homeWhether your stay is for business or leisure Huntingtower Hotel is the perfect choice to make sure your stay in Perth a memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Huntingtower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Perth
Perth Best Western
Huntingtower Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntingtower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.