We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for commuting to Rewind Festival” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New County Hotel to your Saves list
New County Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for commuting to Rewind Festival”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here over the Rewind Festival weekend, perfect location for commuting every day....the hotel is ideal for what we needed, lovely entrance and staff very helpful and friendly. Our room 107 was overlooking the town centre opposite a late night takeaway which we were informed can be noisy, but we didn't appreciate how noisy it would be, the room it's self was located on the first floor up a winding staircase, it was clean, nicely decorated and spacious. The heat within the room was unbearable at times especially during the night, although the windows opened we decided against doing so for the noise level. Also there was what we assumed to be a water tank of some sort located at the opposite side of our room which was very noisy and vibrated through our room wall every time water was used, especially during the night!!!! We stayed Bed and Breakfast and the breakfast was lovely. A selection of continental along with full english, food was well presented and delicious. Would return but to a different room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.
It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed yourself, all your comments are taken on board and looking forward to your next visit.

Jalal & New County Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    172
    76
    31
    34
See reviews for
31
285
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a fantastic stay earlier this month.
All staff are very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was pleasent.
We had a nice room and a really comfortable bed.
And although there was nothing at all wrong with them, the stairway and bedrooms could be done with the same high standard of makeover as the main entrance, bar and dining areas (This could then easily be a very good 4 star hotel)
The food was amazing, and to think that this talented young chef is only 23!
We would not hesitate to recommend the New County Hotel, and hope to be back for another break soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for posting such a positive review.

We do try to provide a high standard of customer service and the best food for all our guests to ensure that they enjoy their stay with us.  I will pass your kind comments onto my team and our Head chef Rory and I hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Jalal & New County Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When we booked this hotel I wasn't expecting too much but we were in for a pleasant surprise.
From the outside it doesn't look much but inside its very nice.
The general manager Jalal is a star, he looks after you from the minute you walk through the door. On arrival he gave us the keys for 2 different rooms and said one was bigger than the other but pick which one suited best. Not many hotels do that. The room was spotless and comfortable. We booked a deal that gave us the choice of the Opus One restaurant or the Bistro, we opted for the Bistro. When I tried to read the menu I realised I had forgotten my glasses. Jalal promptly offered his glasses lol, again what a star! The food was very good. I had the ribeye steak which was cooked perfectly. The breakfast was as good as the meal the night before. I would definately recomend this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You very much for this wonderful review ! and looking forward ton your next visit.

Jalal & New County Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My colleague and I stayed one night in Perth at the New County Hotel on the 9th of July. At first we were not impressed by the rundown outside facade and lack of elevator! The rooms first shown to us were extremely hot, small and not according to our expectations. At this point we were ready to leave and find somewhere else for the night. However two staff members went out of their way to do their best to accommodate our needs. Simon and Jimmy kindly dragged our very heavy luggage up the endless stairs and then Jimmy insisted that we move to better rooms. One room could only be changed immediately and Jimmy promised an upgrade to my colleague later that night if another booking was not fufilled - and he was true to his word. In the morning he called to assist with the bags again as he was going off duty and there would be no-one else to assist us. After a lovely breakfast we were on our way. We wouldn't stay there again, but the hospitality we received from these two staff members certainly made up for the disappointment. They are real stars and should be highly valued by the owners and management!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.

We are always looking forward to get comments from our guests both positive and negative as they help to improve our service, identify areas where we are strong and the ones we have to work on.
All your comments are taken on board and hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just back from this hotel after a Sunday night "meal deal-stay". Friendly staff, fantastic food and lovely bar, restaurant and reception area. Rooms basic but very clean. Easy walk into town centre. Will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review and I hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for a 2 night break with a meal. The staff are very nice and we ate in Opus having a lovely meal there. Rooms fairly comfortable but the plumming system is mental (assume it's ecofriendly at least),no minibar or room fridge but other than that all you would expect. Great location in centre of Perth and good base to see the country. Get a back room,noisy front when windows are open.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
On behalf of all of us here at New County Hotel, we thank you for taking the time to review he hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

JALAL Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recent promotion stay at the New County. I was a little daunted at first by the outside facade but the welcome we received and the entrance and rooms are to a very good standard. I requested a room change because it was so hot ( I know hot in Scotland what a change) this was no problem. The evening meal and breakfast were superb. The staff were very helpful and friendly and a special thank you to Simon the manager on duty for taking very good care of us. You are only few minutes walk to the city centre an ideal location and although parking is limited they double parked and rearranged as necessary very thoughtful. Thank we will come back .

Room Tip: Bit of a climb to the second floor and rooms facing the car park are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope it is not goo long before your next visit.

Jalal & New County Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth’s city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city’s bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray.Opus One is the hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel also has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.