We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star dining and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New County Hotel to your Saves list
New County Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 star dining and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time we've stayed here and we'll definitely be back. We got an excellent deal for dinner bed and breakfast and we couldn't have got better value for money The food in the restaurant was superb and well worth a visit. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
On behalf of all of us here at New County Hotel, we thank you for taking the time to share your praise for our hotel. We are truly delighted to be held in such high regard and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    173
    76
    31
    34
See reviews for
31
285
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night due to weather conditions. Had a light snack, 2 toasties & a plate of chips between my partner & I, cost less than £10. Bar lovely. Free wifi which runs quite fast. Staff very helpful, especially the man who checked us in. A very nice man. Not sure of his name. Room quite small but comfy enough. Stairs a killer with luggage but ask at reception & they will help you. Shower not so great but good sized bath & plenty of hot water so shower not really needed. Wished we got up in time for breakfast but had a late night at the cinema so sleep was needed. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review the hotel following your stay.
It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed yourself, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having stayed before, we knew what to expect. Charming staff, lovely reception/lounge area and more than adequate bedroom. All in keeping with it's 3 star rating. Jalal the General Manager is exceptional, nothing is too much trouble and the training he has given his staff is more akin to a 5 star hotel. Opus One is excellent and we found the Menu, slightly more adventurous, than before. Will definitely return, as Perth offers plenty of opportunities.

Room Tip: Ask for a Courtyard room and you will probably not realise you are in the middle of the city. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay again with us and thank you for posting such a positive review.  We do try to provide a high standard of customer service for all our guests to ensure that they enjoy their stay with us and always leave with a smile.
I will pass your kind comments onto my team and I am sure they will find your lovely comments so encouraging –

Hope it is not too long before your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We are just back from a 2 night break at the New County, which we enjoyed very much. we dined first night in the Opus One restaurant which was delightful, lovely food beautifully presented and very attentive maitre'd, next night we dined in Gavins Bistro, food equally as good but in a more informal setting. Ther staff were all very friendly and helpful,our room was very clean, warm, bright and airy, my only remark would be,that if you have any mobility issues this hotel would not be for you, as there is no lift, and the stairs are quite steep, I feel that is something that the owners should think about. All in all a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Less stairs to climb in lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
We do try to provide a high standard of customer service for all our guests to ensure that they enjoy their stay with us.
 I will pass your kind comments onto my team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friends booked this as a ‘fine dining experience’ as we love our food.
Hotel from the outside looks in need of some TLC, but once inside the ground floor is very nice. Alas heading upstairs it’s clear to see where the money has been spent.

Our room was very dated and could do with a refresh (particularly the carpet). It was clean enough but very small and looked onto the main road. (despite our friends requesting rooms to the rear at the time of booking) resulting in very little sleep. Shower room in need of an upgrade with chipped wash hand basin.

Our ‘fine dining experience’ was indeed an experience, but not in the way we imagined.
Our main courses had to be sent back twice as on both occasions food was cold. When it did come back the final time it was minus the garnishes. When queried, staff advised that they had ran out. At this point we would have expected the chef to come out and personally apologise for events (as is our experience if there are any delays in service).We had sat down to dine at 8PM but our main courses did not arrive until 10PM
Later in the bar we were approached by a gentleman who introduced himself as the owner. He asked us why we had complained about our meal and we explained why. He accused us of threatening his staff by promising to write this review on Tripadvisor, and stated that we would never have been happy no matter what they had done to rectify the situation – might have been worth a try though we would have thought. He questioned our previous experience of ‘fine dining’ by asking the names of the restaurants we had previously dined at – we found this a little discomforting.
Good points – not many but breakfast was good and Clive is the saving grace in this establishment. He was polite and helpful in every way. If it hadn’t been for Clive (and breakfast) we would have allocated 1 star.
Overall the hotel in no way lives up to its billing as a fine dining experience. It may very well be that when it originally opened it delivered on the food front but alas no more. Don’t be taken in by the website as reality is somewhat different
Would NEVER stay/dine at this hotel again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Owner at New County Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
It's unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and as I said when I met you, all of us at the New County Hotel strive to ensure our guests have a really nice experience.

As I was on the premises on the night in question I would like to address a number of inaccuracies and omissions in your letter.

1. You sat down to dine at 8.05am and you were served an amuse bouche followed by your breads,  a starter and then sorbet. Your main course was served at 8.45pm not 10pm as you stated and some of you had quite a bit of it eaten before you complained. When it was returned to you by the kitchen we made sure it was hot.
2. Before your meal a lady in your company announced that she was entertaining guests who always review on Trip Advisor and that we had better be good.
3. The same lady went to our Duty Manager at reception after you left the restaurant and  said to the Duty Manager  "You better not think of charging us for the petit fours or coffees or else that will go on Trip Advisor as well. (the petit fours and coffees were not included in your 5course deal as was previously explained to you) I was in fact sitting at a table beside reception with some friends and overheard this outburst. It was then I went to your party, you were sitting at back of reception area, not in the bar as you stated and it became obvious that no matter how hard we tried we could not resolve your issues.
We did give you complimentary drinks and did not charge you for the coffee or petit fours and when you were checking out in the morning you told our receptionist and Duty Manager that that you were happy with your stay.
4. When I asked you if you were happy with your rooms and service, you told me that you were happy with the rooms and service, your issue was with the food being cold and the chef not coming out of the kitchen to speak to you. The afore mentioned lady in your company said, "Usually when we complain the chef comes out to speak  to us...did you have a chef in the kitchen"

This week we had an unannounced overnight stay by the AA inspector who again gave us a very good 3 Star grading and 2AA Rosettes, he said that we exceeded the expectation of a 3star hotel in hospitality, food and customer service.

While we take all comments and complaints seriously and act upon them and learn from them where and when we can to improve our offering, in this instance it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your visit.

Proprietor Owen Boyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked 2 rooms on a KGB deal which included meal on 1st night. We arrived after 3pm and the check in was swift our rooms were allocated and transpired our own room (107) was facing the main road which was quite noisy, we had a quick look in 108 which hadn’t been made up, it was facing a courtyard and would clearly be quieter. I returned to reception and asked if a quieter room was available I was offered 108 and aware that it was not ready to be occupied I said we would sit with our friends in their room until it was ready. I was offered coffee whilst I waited by the very polite lady on the desk, but declined as I didn’t need it.
The room was ready within 30 minutes. It was large with a separate seating area, it faced a sort of courtyard with no view. The room is clean and has a large comfortable bed and it is absolutely roasting! There is a mobile aircon unit which was fine but we had to sleep all night with a window open to keep cool, never done that in Scotland before in January! The next day we discovered that the large unit on the wall was not a heater, but a powerful aircon unit which did the trick!

We decided to have our meal in Gavin’s Bistro where Jalal, the manager, was most helpful (he must work 24 hour shifts as he was always around!)
The Flatiron steak he recommended was excellent and perfectly cooked. The Just Laugh Comedy Store had a show in the hotel and this was excellent value at £10. There were 3 comedians and Vladamir McTavish was hilarious (had never heard of him before, but he is a seasoned comedian)

Breakfast on both mornings was in the lovely Opus restaurant and very good they were indeed.

Car parking is available at rear of hotel, however it is really small and a tight fit, I wouldn’t leave my car there even if there was spaces.

There is a short stay Council operated car park next to the hotel, fees are payable 8am-6pm Monday to Saturday (Max 3 hr stay) if you arrive say 3.30 pay for 3 hours it will mean you are covered until 8.30am next day then move your car to the car park located a few yards down the street opposite the front of the hotel. It’s £4.50 for 10 hours but as you have to pay 24hrs a day move it back to council car park after 6pm and you will have overnight free parking and if you are Sunday departure its free all day anyway.

Overall a very good weekend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just had a lovely weekend stay at the New County Hotel in Perth. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean, although the bathroom was a bit dated. We had dinner in the Bistro where the food was of a very high standard. The breakfast menu was also very good with a great variety of cooked and cold breakfast options. The service was exceptional and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth’s city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city’s bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray.Opus One is the hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with 2 AA Rosettes. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel also has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.