We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food at The Gurkha Nepalese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurkha Nepalese Restaurant - CLOSED

The Gurkha Nepalese Restaurant
36, South Methven St, Perth PH1 5NU, Scotland
01738622563
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
northumberland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fab food at The Gurkha Nepalese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were staying in Perth and wanted a good curry so asked some locals - they recommended the Gurkah,so we thought we'd try something new and we were very pleasantly surprised.
The decor is nothing special,but the food and service were.The staff were very helpful and chatty,nothing was a problem.
The food was great,a bit like an Indian but with different flavours.There's lots of choice and the portions were HUGE - I'm a pig,but with a starter it had me beat! The Gurkha beer was very nice too.The bill was very reasonable,amazing value for the quantities.
So if you're in Perth and want a slightly different curry,give it a try,I'm sure you'll love it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellshill
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Good tasty authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great tasting food and very big portions. Very quiet though for a Friday night. Staff were so nice and very attentive

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sarah, Perth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal last night at the Gurkha! The food was spectacular and the service was friendly and attentive! Definitely going back and will be recommending it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Terrific food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Terrific food, all very fresh and attractively presented, by very friendly, attentive staff.
Yes, as some others have said, the decor may be a little bit faded, but it is spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Portions were on the large side for me, but staff cheerfully offered to put the excess into takeaway bags. Inexpensive, and they also do some special deals.
This is the first time we have tried Nepalese food, as opposed to Indian, Punjabi, etc., but we thoroughly enjoyed it, and plan to return very soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Fantastic place, food tasted like it was made to order. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gurkha Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gurkha Nepalese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.