We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reid's

Reid's
32-34 High Street | Perth, Perth PH1 5TQ, Scotland
+44 1738 636310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 159 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Reid's Cafe and Bistro opened in July 2010 and is privately owned by locals Alan and Allison Ovenstone who continue to take an active role in day-to-day operations of the vibrant venue. Located in the City's busy High Street, Reid's is open 7 days a week and serves locally sourced produce, beef from a local award-winning butcher, breads and a selection of home baking produced freshly at Reid's. You'll receive a warm Perth welcome from the friendly staff and can choose from an extensive breakfast menu, fabulous cups of fresh coffee in the mornings and afternoons, and lunch or tea from the All Day Menu. A "Daily Specials Board" offers some tempting options over the lunch period and Reid's is regularly buzzing in the middle of the day. The outside seating terrace has an enviable position on the main commercial High Street, cornering St John Street, full of independent retailers, and opposite George Street which leads to the Perth Museum & Art Gallery. Reid's is an ideal place to come & enjoy home cooking with flair & passion, whether its breakfast, lunch or coffee, our large menu & specials board should tempt you in. The team pride themselves on serving you freshly prepared food in the tastiest way possible.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gluten free delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

So refreshing to have a gluten free menu to choose from! No need to check and double check that coeliac disease is understood. Good choice of GF foods and though we just had a main course, it was delicious. Wish we'd had time to try the GF shortbread which looked superb! Will definitely return to Reid's next time we're in Perth and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Great service, too, from quietly efficient staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    63
    16
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dollar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great value breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great place fro breakfast, bacon rolls particularly good and excellent coffee, A very busy coffee shop and good value

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Been in a few times and the service is always very quick and friendly. This time
I just had a coffee and cake. The coffee was hot and strong and the cake was fresh and tasty.

The retaurant does evening meals some nights now too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb place always enjoy it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I always love coming here, never ever had a bad experience. Food was really really good, four sausages with my roll and sausage and for a very good price!! My mum had a lovely cappuccino and delicious cheese scone!

Staff were very friendly and fast service and good atmosphere! Highly recommend this cafe!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abernethy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The café is conveniently situated Perth's High Street. It is well laid out and a good selection of newspapers are available for customers. The service is good and one is made to feel welcome on entry.
My only concern is that the prices are pretty exorbitant though, to be fair, this comment is made solely on the basis of the cost of a regular cup of latte - £2.55 which I reckon is the most expensive cup of coffee in Perth. Goodness knows what the price of food is!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reid's also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Reid's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reid's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.