We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbank House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunbank House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbank House Hotel
50 Dundee Rd., Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely massive bed lovely breakfast amazing location and grounds only down fall was very small bathroom but the rest of the hotel made up for that it was lovely :) thank you so much for a wonderful stay hopefully we will be back soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    33
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
18
83
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed as a family, taking 3 rooms, all of which were beautiful, very comfortable, and very clean. We received a warm welcome after the 6 1/2 hour drive up from the midlands. The grounds were very pretty and the location was perfect for our needs. Breakfast was wonderful and we booked to eat one evening to find that the standard of food and service was very high and the price very reasonable. We had ordered packed lunches for all of us for 2 days of our stay and these were ample and tasty - very convenient for us. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, management and staff and we had a wonderful stay. We will be looking to book again for next summer.

Thank you to all at the Sunbank for your professional yet personable care and attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we stayed here in the first week of july ,,with our dog balfour, the hotel was just what we were looking for clean and well run,, the wee bar / sitting room was very nice and when we were their it was so hot we had your drinks out side , just great , will be back thank you guys

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlethen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a lovely time staying at this hotel the owner and his wife were fantastic the staff were very polite.the room was fantastic very large great view wish we had time to stay longer was a great place.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If only we could be sure that every hotel was as good as this wouldn't travel be a lot easier!
Previous excellent ratings are well deserved by Remi and Georgina and not forgetting John and the other excellent staff. The welcome was friendly and helpful, the cleanliness of the rooms and appointment of the public spaces was exceptional-it's a magnificent old house-not too big but just grand enough to feel special. Breakfast was everything one would hope-including home made croissants. We had the evening meal and although the menu was a little limited -understandable it's not a chain more like a family home-it was superb. What really pleased me was crystal wine glasses and air dried sheets-who knew I could be so easily won!!! If you are in this neck of the woods they treat yourself-it's not an area we visit often unfortunately otherwise I 'd be back tomorrow!!

Room Tip: It is next to a busy road but the traffic at night is negligible and the view makes it worth it. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sunbank House for 2 nights during our trip to Scotland and were looking forward to our stay here after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Were we ever disappointed. All the furniture is dated and worn (seat cushions were completely without support in the dining room). It was very warm during our stay and there was no air moving in our tiny, cramped room, even with the window open. When in the room, we would leave our door ajar for air movement. Bathrooms were outdated as well. I could not wait to leave when our stay was up.

On a positive note, Zane was very helpful, offering recommendations for things not to miss in the area and helping us plan our day. Breakfasts were good and filling. We ate dinner there one night and it was satisfying as well. We loved the grounds and enjoyed sitting outside with a cocktail in the evening an coffee in the mornings.

With some major redecorating and renovation, it could be a very lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall a lovely quiet little hotel. We were made very welcome and staff were very attentive and friendly! Close to town centre and easy to find, Room and bathroom were spotless, and we got a great nights sleep! The breakfast was perfect with a varied menu. Would gladly recommend and would have no hesitation in returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbank House Hotel

Address: 50 Dundee Rd., Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sunbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbank Hotel Perth
Sunbank House Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbank House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.