We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TWO LITTLE CORNERS OF FRANCE !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pig 'Halle

Pig 'Halle
South Street, Perth PH2 8PG, Scotland
01738 248784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 179 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Scotland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“TWO LITTLE CORNERS OF FRANCE !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have just enjoyed a super lunch in this fabulous French restaurant. A sister restaurant to Breizh (where I have lunched regularly) this was my first visit to Pig'halle. This is another Paula and Herve Tabourel venture which again shows the very high standards they set for both food and service. Pig'halle offers excellent value and choice on the set lunch menu (there is also a board with Daily Specials) as was shown by the full restaurant. As a lover of French food I feel extremely fortunate to have both Breizh and Pig'halle on my doorstep. Give this one a try - you will not be disappointed !!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    75
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“didn't live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We arrived with high hopes as it is run by French people - the staff were indeed extremely friendly and the service was very efficient - but the food failed to live up to expectation. My black pudding starter was very good, but my wife's terrine was so cool as to be almost tasteless. It had obviously been brought out of the fridge 5 minutes earlier. My main course purported to be crispy pigs trotters, but turned out to be nothing but trotter meat in pastry. My wife's onion soup was watery and tasteless - quite a feat with french onion soup! Luckily we finished just as the baby parked beside us started to cry.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee scotland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Went to Perth for a day's shopping and found this restaurant by chance. Liked the look of the menu so went back for lunch and were delighted that we did. Both set and a la carte available. Lots of choice, with day's specials included, on set menu - 2 or 3 course options. Both went for set menu - excellent! Very reasonable prices and warm, friendly waiting staff who were also very efficient. A very pleasant way to spend an hour or so on a dreich November day. Would certainly return and would recommend - particularly for adults.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the most memorable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I went with my wife for lunch to Pig Halle first time and all has been perfect. Welcome we have received make us feel like visiting family or good friends rather than going to the restaurant. Food "very" French simply divine delicious. Mini steak tartar and rabbit terrine for starters and to follow pig trotters and my wife's black pudding amazing. Would most definitely recommend this place for every lunch goer.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The most exciting new restaurant to open here........ever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

It's difficult to explain in words just how shocking and exciting the moment was when the Pig 'Halle website was accidentally stumbled upon one evening whilst meandering through the web. For so long, when dining out in this area you are usually confronted with a cut and paste menu of boring, passionless and repetitive dishes, seemingly all taken from some talentless chefs equivilent to the Larousse that has only a handful of recipes for plates such as smooth chicken liver parfait (never made on the premises), goats cheese in filo, chicken wrapped in melancholy and stuffed with misery, and always, always the ubiquitous sweet chilli sauce will have found a foothold somewhere. Pig 'Halle has none of this. It's menu is a thing of beauty to behold. This is a very French restaurant with a very French menu. A list of classic, inviting and often adventurous dishes that would cause any ex pat Frenchman visiting here to instantly become misty eyed and sentimental upon reading. Rabbit, quail, coq au vin, boudin, they are all there. It is also a homage to the greatest animal that graces our kitchens, the humble pig. You could imagine anyone from Jacques Chirac to an onion seller from the Rangis being at home here. Walking through the door feels as warm, comforting and inviting as walking in to your grandparents house as a young child. It feels like home, like you belong.

A complimentary amuse of excellent, fatty rillettes with a lovely onion jam and warm baguette was first to arrive. We started with two dishes that I didn't think I would ever eat on a Thursday afternoon in Perth; ouef meurette and a terrine of pigs snout. The egg was perfectly cooked, the red wine reduced by just the right amount with a lovely piggy smokiness coming through. The terrine was both gelatinous and crunchy, full of flavour and served with a wondefully fresh salad, sharp dressing and a good handful of croutons. Both were well executed and properly delicious.

Main courses continued in the same vain. A slow cooked shin of beef bourginon was very tender, packed with deep bovine flavour and a fantastic sauce that was better than anything else we have previuously eaten in Perth by a considerable distance. The star of the day though was the house speciality of boned and rolled pigs head, braised then pan fried to produce a peice of meat that was soft, unctuous and giving inside with a caramalised, crispy exterior. Served with a good sauce gribiche and a simple selection of boiled potatoes and vegetables this was as good as you could ask for; impossibly authentic brasserie eating, perfectly pulled off and leaving you to wonder just how we have survived for so long without such sustinance.

Desserts were a great apple gratin with a brilliantly fresh apple sorbet and some excellent profiteroles with chocolate sauce. The wine list is a solely French affair that offered a good selection and value for money by both glass and bottle. The food prices offer incredible value for money also; a two course lunch menu is available for £9.90, a la carte starters begin at a simply ridiculous £2.95 for the ouef meurettes.

It is hard to write about this restaurant without sounding like you are gushing. However, it is so rare to discover something that both promises so much and delivers a meal that exceeds all expectations that the praise deserved is litterally hard to pen. From start to finish the food, the service, the ambience and the experience were outstanding, authentic, delicious and always delivered without fuss or arrogance. In Pig 'Halle we have a restaurant that is a product of the real, genuine love, experience and passion of a first class chef and front of house team that have redefined the boundaries of eating out in Perth, maybe even Scotland. Go. Go now and then go again and again. Take your friends, your kids, your granny and your girlfriend. If they enjoy good food they will love Pig 'Halle. Vive la France.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig 'Halle also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pig 'Halle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig 'Halle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.