We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff,rooms require updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glasgow Road, Perth PH2 0LT, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff,rooms require updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at the Lovat recently and were very impressed by the friendly greeting received at Reception.Carpets on stairway were looking a bit tatty and the room looks a bit old fashioned with dark furniture but was large and clean with tea/coffee available.We ate in at Hotel(Dinner),I had the Mixed Grill which was really tasty and plentiful but my better half ordered the Steak which came with some salad and that was it !!(very poor value for money in my opinion) but she said was tasty also.We didn't have Breakfast so can't comment but overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Alex G

Thank you for reviewing your stay. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to enjoy breakfast too, we do do a good breakfast if I do say so myself.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
38
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Been Staying here the past two weeks with work and its a good hotel. Restaurant serves excellent food and portions are really big. Definitely value for money. Only thing to report is some of my colleagues have said the radiators do not work very well and rooms can get cold.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Colin c

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant facilities. Hopefully if your colleagues reported their radiators to reception they will have had the maintenance guys check those out for any faults.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel was fab! The service, staff, rooms, cleanliness, food, facilities. We will be back for sure.

We attended the hogmanay party and could not fault a thing. Thank you all for your great service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear nicolecampbell3

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were a part of four who attends a Christmas party night. On arrival we were met with a friendly member of staff who advised of table etc. on entering the function suite we were given a glass of sparkling wine. As we had the more expensive of the two menus there was wine on our table as we seated. The menu was varied however we all had the traditional Christmas meal. The food was plentiful, well presented and enjoyable. The entertainment was a bit loud that you could not hold a conversation without raising your voice. As this was a disco the music could have been more varied and included Christmas records. Overall a good night was had by my party and good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear John F

Thank you for reviewing your party night with.
I am glad you had a good evening and will pass your feedback onto the DJ with regards to the music.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacriston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at the Lovat twice on business, and found that the rooms could do with a refit. Bathrooms are old-fashioned, furniture is dark mahogany, there is no air-con and only very mediocre heating, and general décor is stuck in the 1980s. The fit & finish of the rooms is very average.

However the restaurant almost makes up for all this - I ate in the hotel for a total of 5 evening meals and 5 breakfasts, and enjoyed all of the food. Service was good, food came very promptly and was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Greg S
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. We are proud of all our staff and particularly proud of our restaurant.
Hopefully we will see you again if you are in the area for business or pleasure.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is so close to Perth Royal Infirmary (less than 10 minutes walk) and because it's a Best Western. A good choice. Pleasant bar/restaurant, good food and plenty of it. The room was a bit noisy but that was because of other guests coming to their rooms in the early hours of the morning - they'd been to a party I could tell.
Easy to find. No problems parking.
If I had to visit PRI again I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Rick L
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Perth PH2 0LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovat Hotel is perfectly located on Glasgow Road, Perth, just a half mile from Perth’s busy city centre where there is an abundance of shops, restaurants and cafes to be found. Guest will enjoy visiting the Perth Museum, Black Watch Museum, St. John’s Kirk of Perth, Perth Race Course or playing a round of golf at the King James VI Golf Club. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers a Scottish breakfast, free wireless internet, local cuisine at the 1747 Restaurant, banquet space is available and complimentary usage of Symphony’s Leisure Club found at our sister hotel. Payment using credit cards will be subject to a 2.75 GBP administration charge. There is no charge for the use of a debit card. This is non-refundable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Hotel Perth
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.