We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glasgow Road, Perth PH2 0LT, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Scottish Highlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed here last year and also at The Queens. The rooms are variable and a bit tired, but warm and clean. The corridors are a bit of a labyrinth and for some you have to go up to go down! Like the Queens the walls are paper thin. I had someone in the room next door who coughed for ages and then snored most of the night. It was obvious that the bed headboards are just on either side of the wall - not a good idea and could be sorted. On the plus side the meal in the restaurant was absolutely first class. I had a bell pepper which was huge and stuffed with rice and melt in the middle feta and it was scrumptious! Likewise, breakfast was great with lovely fresh fruit and cooked to perfection smoked haddock and poached egg freshly coo,end to order. Now if the rooms were as good as the food it would be perfect :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear catlover77

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do pride ourselves in the food that we serve - expecially our breakfast! We do hope you will visit again with us.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
38
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are just back from a weekend break for my mums 65th birthday. There were 6 of us and we had three rooms and they were all different but all lovely. Clean and plenty of room. The staff were all really nice and even gave us directions when we couldn't find the hotel. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Alisongrant

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear you and your party enjoyed your weekend. Please pass on my Birthday wishes to your mum.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

most rooms are quite basic and cold, as i have stayed here a few times, but on one visit i was given a lovely big double room which was lovely and warm and had a decent size bathroom (sorry cant remember room number was a little while ago), so luck of the draw really where you get put.

breakfast in bed is lovely, and tastes much better than the standard buffet downstairs. car parking is minimum, but there is street parking so you will be able to find somewhere for your car. near enough to town and leisure centres.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear airhostess17

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us at the Lovat Hotel. I'm sorry that we disappointed you on your visit this time. I can only apologise that you were not comfortable in your room and hope that you brought the temperature to the attention of the reception staff who I'm sure would have been only too happy to have provided you with a portable heater if the radiator in the room wasn't adequate. Unfortunately I don't know what room you stayed in so am unable to check if there was any maintenance issue with that particular rooms heating.
I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast in bed. In the restaurant we do have a cold buffet but we also offer full cooked breakfast there too which is cooked fresh to order, maybe this was not made clear to you and again my apologies for this oversight.
Hopefully should you return again we can check your guest history and see if it is possible to allocate your prefered room.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had a nightmare of a booking one weekend in December when the hotel we were supposed to be in had shut down. No one had contacted us to tell us and we only found out when we got there.

We decided to visit the Lovat Hotel in Perth, one we had visited years previously when we first went out together. It had changed since then, it was a lot more modern but still had many of the old features too. The staff were very pleasant and made you feel very welcome, the rooms were big enough and comfortable and the food was excellent.

The hotel is a short walk away from Perth city centre which has many shops, restaurants and pubs. The hotel has a sister hotel (The Queens) further into Perth centre that has a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. As you are staying in the Lovat you get access to use these facilities as part of your stay.

We plan on going back in the future as it ticks all the boxes for us for a nice relaxing weekend break. Can't praise them enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Steven P
It's lovely to hear from returning guests. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay this time too and look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits in the future.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The deal we had was part of a party night, so the rate was heavily discounted - which always appeals!

My room was comfortable, spacious, well decorated and spotless. The bathroom was a bit of a let down - actually it was a shower room; no bath in sight. If cat-swinging in the bathroom is one of your activities, you wouldn't have been doing it here! The water pressure in the shower was non-existent - you had to run around to get wet - and the "bathroom" itself was unheated. It's a shame because everything else about the hotel was very good.

Highlight of the stay was breakfast. I stayed at a hotel in Glasgow recently that aspires to be in the 5* range and the breakfast here beat it out of sight. Cooked to order, plentiful, good ingredients - top marks all round. Service was great, too.

I'd visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Graeme61
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. So glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, Chef will be pleased. Look foward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Was here for a work night out. All staff very professional and helpful. Could not fault the food. Very tasty and well presented. Was cooked to perfection. Wide selection on the menu for everyone. Will definitely come back for a lunch or dinner. Top class.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lf259
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your night with us. You should check out our Facebook page where we regularly post our daily specials menu. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples,FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff is excellent. The room was large and the bathroom larger than most hotels. The room was adequately furnished with comfortable beds. The WiFi had a very week signal and thus could not stay on the Internet. Excellent Internet connection in the bar area. The room we were in did not receive suffient heat. As soon as I notified the desk, a staff member brought up a electric space heater and this was sufficient. The room was clean.

Room Tip: We were in room on 2nd floor at very end of building and had heat problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear 87Hatteras,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Best Western Lovat Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff dealt with your heating issue straight away.

I hope to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Perth PH2 0LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovat Hotel is perfectly located on Glasgow Road, Perth, just a half mile from Perth’s busy city centre where there is an abundance of shops, restaurants and cafes to be found. Guest will enjoy visiting the Perth Museum, Black Watch Museum, St. John’s Kirk of Perth, Perth Race Course or playing a round of golf at the King James VI Golf Club. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers a Scottish breakfast, free wireless internet, local cuisine at the 1747 Restaurant, banquet space is available and complimentary usage of Symphony’s Leisure Club found at our sister hotel. Payment using credit cards will be subject to a 2.75 GBP administration charge. There is no charge for the use of a debit card. This is non-refundable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Hotel Perth
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.