We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glasgow Road, Perth PH2 0LT, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have just returned from a wedding in Perth where we stayed at this hotel. Wedding was at another venue in Perth. Staff very friendly on arrival and check in was effortless. Room very clean and with tea and coffee facilities. Staff arranged a taxi for us. Beds were comfortable and breakfast on Sunday was excellent . All in all very impressed with this hotel and price paid was more than reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear mhay5109,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Lovat Hotel, Perth.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the facilities to be clean and comfortable. We cook our breakfast fresh to order for each guest to ensue the freshest breakfast for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    28
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
31
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Cumbrae
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is in the beautiful city of Perth in Scotland and it does have a bit of character about it.
It also has the squeakiest floors I have ever come across in a hotel and you hear the slightest movement throughout the hotel. The staff at the Lovat are first class and very friendly and the food is good quality and well presented, apart from the Yorkshire puddings which arrived as flat as a waffle!. Breakfasts are excellent and there is plenty of choice for everyone.If the chef buys a few bags of Auntie Bessie's Yorkshire puddings at the supermarket he will have cracked it.
I stayed at the Lovat on 4 occasions this year on business and everything is very consistent...even the squeaky rooms!
Would not hesitate to return on business or a stop over.

Room Tip: Make sure you are upstairs as the squeaky floors and the plumbing will drive you nuts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Samtheskull,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Lovat Hotel, Perth.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the staff very friendly and welcoming. I'm glad to hear that you always enjoy our breakfast before you start your day.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards


Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Friendly staff, maze of corridors to find room, uncomfortable mattress in what was otherwise a clean and tidy bedroom and shower room, very thin walls and noise could be heard from bedrooms adjacent until early hours.

Decent breakfast selection promptly served. Central situation.
We got a special bed and breakfast deal.
Would think twice about going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Tigerbrian,

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor regarding your stay at the Lovat Hotel.

I am disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay due to the uncomfortable mattress and noise from other rooms. I am glad to hear however that you enjoyed our freshly cooked to order breakfast.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Kind Regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed B&B two separate nights here at the beginning and end of a coach holiday, the hotel booked and paid for by the tour company.

The modern entrance of the hotel appears to be built on the front of a terrace of grand old houses and the two rooms we had were in the old part. Basically it was a front room with a bay window and one corner of the room taken for a bath and toilet, so the central lighting fixture was now up against the wall to the bathroom.

There was enough room and the beds were comfortable, the shower worked well. The extractor that comes on automatically with the bathroom light made a considerable amount of noise but didn’t appear to be very effective and the bath towels were on the thin side but did their job.
The cheerful woman who was behind the front desk morning and night on both days – I didn’t see a name badge – was a real treasure, and the staff in the breakfast room were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, with a mix of cold buffet items and hot food cooked to order. But, is it not possible for guests to eat breakfast in peace? A Johnny Cash CD was blaring away on continual replay and his mournful dirges made me despondent.

We would have eaten in the restaurant but noticed a sign on the front desk that use of credit cards would incur a £2.75 fee, a charge we thought outrageous, so walked into town for a curry.

I would have rated this as 'good' if there had been the option, but I don't think it reaches Very Good

Room Tip: Kitchedn extractor fans are placed outside window of a groundfloor room that is accessible from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear LondonPontac,

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor regarding your stay at the Lovat Hotel.

It is never pleasing to here about issues with a guests room and I apologise for these.

I am glad you found our receptionist very pleasant and helpful and we do prize ourselves on good customer service. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and we have noted your comments regarding the music and we will act upon this.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards


Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I thoght this hotel looked good on the web photos etc but overall was a dissappointing experience, we were given a room to the rear of the annexx which looks and feels like a 70's add on to the rear of the building, the room reminded me of a a car ferry berth, the built-in music system again reminded me of a 1974 Datsun Cherry radio but with non of the Datsun reliability, the building has a make shift economy feel to it and when guests on the upper floor rise from their beds during the night and in the morning the roof creaks and groans and sounds as if it is about to give way! overall we were disappointed with the hotel accomodation but the stakk were al nice and curtious.

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited the restaurant as a result of not being able to book in town and found the food to be delicious, the service great and the price very reasonable. if you are looking for somwhere to eat with pleasant surroundings and excellent food don't forget to give this a try its well worth coming out of the centre of town for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear JT2118,

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I will convey your message to the team - especially the new Head Chef Mark - he really is making a big difference. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my first visit to this Hotel. I must say that I was disappointed by this property. My room was on the annex side of the hotel, and on the first floor. I arrived at my room to discover the door wide open. The room was no more than a closet. Fixtures and fitting were tired. The stairs which some of our group had to navigate were bordering upon dangerous. This was compounded by having to tote your luggage up these narrow stairs.

We had a meal in the Hotel which we were warned might be mediocre. I have to say that each and everyone one of us were pleasantly surprised. The venison was simply amazing.

I had the opportunity while waiting for the bus to leave in the morning to chat with the Head Chef as he was cutting herbs from the hotel garden. He is fairly new to the property and has instituted a program of growing what he can and buying locally.

The food was the amazing part of this property. Everything else I have to say left much to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. It is always displeasing when a customer doesn't enjoy their stay with us and we require the feedback to improve our service.

I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal with us and I hope we will see you in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel

Address: Glasgow Road, Perth PH2 0LT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovat Hotel is perfectly located on Glasgow Road, Perth, just a half mile from Perth’s busy city centre where there is an abundance of shops, restaurants and cafes to be found. Guest will enjoy visiting the Perth Museum, Black Watch Museum, St. John’s Kirk of Perth, Perth Race Course or playing a round of golf at the King James VI Golf Club. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers a Scottish breakfast, free wireless internet, local cuisine at the 1747 Restaurant, banquet space is available and complimentary usage of Symphony’s Leisure Club found at our sister hotel. Payment using credit cards will be subject to a 2.75 GBP administration charge. There is no charge for the use of a debit card. This is non-refundable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Hotel Perth
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.