We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Perth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Perth Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Perth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Perth
1 review
“Mercure Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I found the staff in the hotel very good the hotel is fine but some of the toilet s/bathrooms are a bit tired looking but I only stay overnight . On the whole the hotel is central for everything. My husband is in hospital in Perth , I feel the rooms are a bit pricey when you are only staying one night or two and no breakfast included

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I have passed your comments over to our Maintenance Manager who will look into the issues.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    139
    121
    49
    32
See reviews for
39
211
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel was lovely - and perfect for one night while visiting Perth for a wedding. The bar area was great, the breakfast was incredible (and served until 12noon on a Sunday which was amazing!) and the room was really nice. However, the bathroom was quite dated and my shower wouldn't move up the pole and was perpetually turned to the side! It wasn't too bad for me, as I'm only 1.5m, but my husband is considerably taller and the shower didn't work so well for him. Bizarrely, while the room was great, it didn't have any electricity points! It had ONE for the TV, so we had to unplug the TV in order to charge phones and use my straighteners! it wasn't a problem to unplug the TV as we weren't using it, but it was so bizarre to have a desk in front of the mirror, but no power point within shouting distance! Other than that, it was fine. Very good value for money and great location, but the bathroom just needed a bit of work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel,.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I have passed your comments over to our Maintenance Manager who will look into the issues.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Pamela Mees

Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNDEE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The overall impression of the Reception and Dining areas are that they are very dark which on a dull and dreary Sunday morning is not what you want to see.

However, that said the staff polite and helpful; the breakfast buffet was plentiful and apart from an undercooked croissant was very good - especially the coffee.

The bedroom was clean and very comfortable - my only complaint as always these days is the lack of a biscuit or 2 to have with the complimentary tea and coffee. The room also seemed to be very hot yet the radiator was not on so we had to have the window open all the time - fortunately the room was in a quiety location.

The bathroom was clean and the complimentary toiletries of a good quality but the bath needs to be refurbished or replaced as do the wall tiles (large chunk of one missing and has been replaced with grouting). The shower was dangerous though because the temperature dial did not work and the water was so scalding hot you could not stand under it! The on-off dial was also so stiff that with my arthritic hands (mild) I could not turn it so was dependent on my husband this for me!

A previous reviewer mentioned problems with accessing the internet - you can do so for free but at a very slow speed - if you pay extra you can get faster speed in the bedrooom. I think you may be able to get WIFI downstairs in the bar area but not 100% sure.

The one thing however, that was really bad was 2 bags of dirty laundry left lying outside, for at least 18 hours, what I later discovered was a room for housekeeping on our floor. By the Sunday morning these bags were starting to smell!

Room Tip: Only 2 floors so perhaps request one on the second floor so that you do not get noise coming down fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are in the process of getting our wifi changed to be free in all bedrooms and due to this we have experienced a few technical issues. I will look into the issues you have mentioned and speak with the relevant departments to make sure that this does not happen again

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel in the near future.


Thanks again.


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Or do you, this is not a cheap hotel, but it is no more than average when it comes to amenities and service.
How difficult is it to install wifi? Well apparently it is in Perth, it is of course available in the dining area, as a seasoned traveller I should have known that unfortunately I think MERCURE may just have missed the point, if a hotel of this standard was over in France the room rate would be significantly less how they can justify their prices takes some understanding, sorry not impressed, just very very average my own fault I didn't consult Trip advisor..

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members and I am sure they too will be disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies.

We are in the process of making all of the hotel free wifi but due the building being so old we have encountered a lot of problems and hopefully we will have the issues all sorted out and have our wifi up and running in the next few weeks.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future and if you decide to do so please contact me directly as I would welcome the opportunity to apologise in person.


Thanks again.


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely hotel very gentle feel 2 it, the breakfast was as good as i have had for a long time (buffet ) the waiter was very attentive for our table, dont think he gets much sleep as he was carrrying tables about late the night before yet really friendly and seems 2 enjoy what he does.a rare quality indeed. thank you for a pleasent stay .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future.


Thanks again.


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly, the location is in close proximity to Perth City Centre and the breakfast was good too. The rooms could certanly do with an upgrading but the beds were comfy and for the price you pay its not too bad. Would stay again if visiting Perth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future.


Thanks again.


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

There is free parking at this city centre hotel which is one of the few good points we could find. The receptionists were helpful and friendly and checking in was effortless. We went to the bar for a drink only to be told there was no draught beer as the pipes were being cleaned. (At 3.00 on a Saturday afternoon?)

Our room was of a reasonable size but in need of decoration. There was a tea and coffee making facility in the room. The bathroom was very cramped and the grouting on the shower tiles was badly in need of attention as it was filthy. We only had one hand and bath towel provided.

The bed was very comfy and the only thing that ruined a good sleep was the level of noise given the paper thin walls and squeaky floorboards.

Whilst £45 for rom only appears reasonable the hotel needs to look at the state of the rooms as they are badly in need of attention (or at least ours was!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members and I am sure they too will be disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies. I have passed your comments over to out Maintenance and Food & Beverage Service Managers to look into the issues you have mentioned,

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future and if you decide to do so please contact me directly as I would welcome the opportunity to apologise in person.


Thanks again.


Pamela Mees

Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth Hotel

Address: West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a watermill, the Mercure Perth Hotel provides the ideal place to take a business trip, a short break or to hold your event. Whatever the reason for your visit to the newest CITY, the Mercure Perth can accommodate your event, a private party or a wedding celebration. The charm and character of this hotel offers the perfect backdrop.The hotel has 76 bedrooms and The Kinnoull Suite is the largest event room, accommodating up to 120 guests. The two other event roomscan accommodate smaller intimate parties. Whatever your requirements, from menu choices to colour themes, we will be delighted to help make your event one to remember.The team of the hotel is very experienced and we will be working closely with you to help you organise the party. Our aim is to assist you in any way we can so the event runs smoothly and with great success.Chris CharalambousGeneral Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Perth
Mercure Perth Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Perth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.