We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Perth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Perth Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Perth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Perth
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Really enjoyed our overnight stay at this hotel. Modern decor thoughout complete with flat screen tv in the room, big comfortable beds and blackout curtains. A nice modern cosy bar downstairs with unique quirky features. The room was clean and the staff were helpful. The location is ideal too as it is right in the city centre but also in a quiet street so not noisy at all. Easy reach of lots of shops and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.
I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you in person for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.
Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    139
    120
    49
    32
See reviews for
39
211
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a good experience during a recent 2 night stay. A very nice hotel with a good breakfast - nice to see the history being made a feature of (the water running underneath could be seen via glass panels)

A few members of our party found the lack of lift a bit difficult, and if someone could do something about the world's squeakiest floor board in the room above Room 14 that would be great!

Parking was no problem at all and the location was very easy for access to Perth. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have some plans in place to refurbish some of the areas of the hotel and I will bear in mind your comments whilst we are finalising our plans.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is good and the staff very nice, enjoyed breakfast, but I am afraid the floorboards above my room were very squeaky and it annoyed me intensely. The toilet was good and the fitments looked quite new but the furniture in the good sized bedroom was chipped and detracted from the overall good experience. You cannot get digital radio on the tv which was also disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.
Is a shame to see that the floorboards, have in a way, over-shadowed what would have been an excellent stay. Judging from your comments and rating we have some work to do towards fixing this issue and I am pleased to inform you that our maintenance team have been working on this matter today and I am hoping that by the end of the day this matter will be dealt with.
At the same time I would also like to thank you for the nice and kind comments relating the staff of the hotel and the breakfast.
I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to firstly thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback and secondly show you the difference your comments have made.
Thanks again.
Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mercure Hotel in Perth, Scotland, for three nights in July. Although this hotel is rated as a three star hotel it has all the trappings of a four star hotel and contains a number of original features from the water mill which have been attractively incorporated into the interior design of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were so pleased with the lovely clean room we stayed in, plus the lovely extras such as tea/coffee, biscuits, sparkling water and still water, ironing board and iron, hairdryer, toiletries etc, etc. We also enjoyed a very good breakfast and the service was superb. What more could we ask for at such a reasonable price. It was an excellent hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your recent experience on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed the dinner as this is an area we put a lot of effort in as well as a new menu, as to ensure that all our clients have a good end on their day.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south cumbria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Built on the site of an old mill and water features incorporated which look fantastic. You can see the stream in reception and the bar area. As there had been heavy rainfall the water was flowing really quickly and we kept looking at it through the viewpoints. Lovely bedroom . Exceptionally clean. Very comfortable beds. plenty of hot water . Good breakfast. Excellent staff nothing too much trouble. Would like to stay here again. (We did go out for an evening meal at the Isle of Skye Toby carvery which was also excellent.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 28th and 29th June comfortable clean room,helpful staff.Good breakfast and very tasty 3 course meal in the restaurant.Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your recent experience on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed the dinner as this is an area we put a lot of effort in as well as a new menu, as to ensure that all our clients have a good end on their day.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonehouse
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

just back from an overnight in the Mercure hotel Perth, the hotel is a two minute walk to the city centre. We booked on a half board breakfast and the food was excellent, however the restaurant staff told us we had twenty pounds to spend on dinner and when we were checking out the receptionist told us it was £22. That is however my only complaint. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the hotel is beautiful inside. a great overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comment relating the food allowances and the extra money you had to pay. This should have never had happened and please accept my apologies for this oversight. Happy to make amends so please contact me once you get the chance as I would welcome the opportunity to firstly make up for the error and secondly thank you in person for the nice comments.
My telephone number is 01738 642800 or on gm.mercureperth@jupiterhotels.co.uk

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth Hotel

Address: West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a watermill, the Mercure Perth Hotel provides the ideal place to take a business trip, a short break or to hold your event. Whatever the reason for your visit to the newest CITY, the Mercure Perth can accommodate your event, a private party or a wedding celebration. The charm and character of this hotel offers the perfect backdrop.The hotel has 76 bedrooms and The Kinnoull Suite is the largest event room, accommodating up to 120 guests. The two other event roomscan accommodate smaller intimate parties. Whatever your requirements, from menu choices to colour themes, we will be delighted to help make your event one to remember.The team of the hotel is very experienced and we will be working closely with you to help you organise the party. Our aim is to assist you in any way we can so the event runs smoothly and with great success.Chris CharalambousGeneral Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Perth
Mercure Perth Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Perth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.