We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC but heading in the right direction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Station Hotel to your Saves list
The Station Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Leonard St., Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC but heading in the right direction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Most reviews are not too complimentary about the hotel. It is looking a little dated and could do with some TLC however it is being modernised, just very slowly. You can see how at once upon a time this hotel would have been very grand indeed, but the years & may I say a lack of investment has seen things become a little run down in parts. The location is great for the town being next to the train station, but is still quite a peaceful place. Big rooms, & high ceilings give evidence of its former splendor and a the wooden panels add to the richness of it character. The food is "ok" if a little limited, but not to put you off it is well cooked. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. An ideal hotel to use as a base for exploring the many delights of Perthshire.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    121
    78
    52
    51
See reviews for
45
143
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

When I walked in the front door, the smell of stale cigarette smoke hit me like a ton of bricks. The reception area and lobby looks like something out of the 1940's and I think the carpet dates from back then too. The corridors are narrow and dimly lit, with worn carpets and paint and wallpaper peeling off. The floors are crooked and creaky. It was actually a little spooky. I had a single room and my bed was stuck in a little alcove and when I sat on the edge of it, I could reach over and open the bathroom door which hit my knees and I'm just over 5 feet tall. I wish I would have taken pictures.

The linens were clean and fresh, but I think the mattress dated to the 1940's too. It was so dirty and yellowed. I think the cleaning staff missed quite a few spots in the bathroom. The walls were
filthy.

Surprisingly enough, dinner in the dining room was very good as was breakfast. The staff was friendly and very polite and helpful. That's the best I can say about this hotel. I would never stay there again and wouldn't recommend it. It needs major work.

The there was a band playing in one of the event rooms on the first floor and I could hear the music from my room until almost 11:00. I was on the second floor. My travelling partner was on the third floor and she could also hear it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The exteriior shows promise, but inside is a different story.It's stated to have been Queen Victoria's top hotel in the area-well, the carpet certainly hasn't changed.
We were ok with dogs (the reason we'd booked to stay) in an area 1 night, and the next a very officious, rude girl said not ,so we made a point of eating elsewhere. I'm not sure health and safety will be happy with the photos I have to send them of the dangling wires in my room, includuding those around the shower. Many staff said the owner spent most of her time abroad-I'd do the same...avoid.

Room Tip: Take one look at enterior and drive on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Looked lovely in the pictures but a lot of work still needs to be done! Our room itself was fine but the hotel lobby needed it all! Just looked a bit tired and shabby! Bathroom and bedroom was clean enough! Maybe this hotel will be good given time when it's all been done up! It did the job for 2 nights and was in a good location. Cheap as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padiham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed one night here as a stopover on the way south from West Coast. Thank goodness we didn't need to stay longer. Some work has been done but when entering from the car park at the rear, guests are greeted by a cavernous corridor with paintwork that saw better days years ago. The reception area is cobbled together with some seating areas, a pile of games and a football table, no attempt at styling or presentation, just a mish mash of old furniture plonked about. Our room, a standard double, was adequate in size and furnishing if you don't mind cheap flat pack stuff. The bed however was atrocious. The mattress springs crunched and twanged and the whole thing dipped in the middle so that he and I almost had to belay ourselves on to the edge to prevent plunging into the unknown. Very uncomfortable indeed. While I can comment with humour on that, the H and S issues were a different matter. There was no non-slip provision for the over bath shower, the venetian blinds covering the window behind the toilet was thick with dirt and dead wasps, the shower curtain was filthy, mildewed and way too short to adequately prevent water going on to the tiled floor. When wet, the floor was like a skating rink, very dangerous. Continuing with the floor theme, the carpet on the stairs was at best threadbare and in places worn through and the carpet in the bar had split along the join and was starting to curl up. The staff were good, the coffee was good, the breakfast was good but expensive. Finally do we really need plastic table clothes in this day and age?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here at beginning of September for 2 nights. Paid extra for a "superior" room. Was certainly larger but not "superior" in any other way. Breakfasts were a disaster! First morning I had full breakfast, including hash browns. First one was still frozen, literally! I sent it back and the 2nd one, although defrosted, was still cold & inedible! I was offered a third but by this time had finished rest of breakfast so declined. On 2nd morning, I decided to have the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. Seemed to be much better than the fry up until I found a long, black hair on my plate! Felt absolutely sick to my stomach so declined replacement that was offered. Cost of breakfast was deducted from my bill but any sort of apology was not forthcoming, indeed the receptionist seemed to think it was quite funny, making facetious comment about "our poor chef, losing his hair"! Filled in on-line survey questionnaire but still awaiting response. Will definitely NOT be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Ok, this is an old hotel, that has seen better days, however it is a welcome change from the generic hotels we find ourselves staying at. Check in was no problem, the room was large and clean. The furniture was cheap looking. But hey it was £39 a night. I have stopped in much worse and paid more.
The bar was pleasant, service was good.
We didn't eat there as we prefer to go out and find a local bar or restaurant as food is always overpriced in hotels so cannot comment on it.
Overall this hotel has character, its clean, staff were friendly and very well priced.

Room Tip: Don't book the cheap rooms, go for the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Leonard St., Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.