We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, a fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant

Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant
173 South Street, Perth PH2 8NY, Scotland
+44 1738 444630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 179 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Perth's only Authentic Indian Restaurant. Owned and run by Praveen Kumar and his wife Swarna Kumar, both born and brought up in small rural communities in south India. At Tabla we use fresh, farm grown spices by own family in India. Praveen has gained great wealth of Food and Restaurant management skills from The Gleneagles Hotel & Turnburry Hotel, where we workedover 6 years. Tabla is well presented restaurant with stone walls and open kitchen. You'll find cheerful and well attentive staff to exceed your dining expectations.
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Once again, a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my second visit to Tabla, the first was 2 years ago. The food was just as delicious and the staff were lovely. If you're going for an Indian in Perth, make sure you visit Tabla!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirmalreddy, Owner at Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Tabla Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write to me on TA.
I am very pleased to see you back after 2 years. A BIG THANK YOU.
looking forward to see you back soon.
Kind regards
Praveen Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    116
    30
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian resteraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Was recommended this Indian by the manager of The New County Hotel(fantastic too!)
He was soooo right it was fab,
Food was excellent and great value.
The owner took the kids into the kitchen and let them see how they make nan.
They loved it !
The staff are so friendly
When your kids want to go back so do you!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirmalreddy, Owner at Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Tabla Guest,
Thank you for lovely feedback on TA. I am glad your kinds enjoyed watching making nan.
I will pass pass your feedback to team.
looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Praveen Kumar
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always, simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have written several reviews of Tabla, but how can you stop reviewing perfection? Tabla is simply the best Indian Restaurant I have ever eaten in, and I have eaten in hundreds! I am away over 30 nights a year on business and always choose to eat in Indian restaurants when I get the chance. I have eaten in great ones, good ones, average ones and poor ones but none as good as Tabla. The service was 1st rate as usual, I was greeted as a friend as well as customer and treated wonderfully all evening.

This time, after poppodams and pickels, I had the Andhra Kodi Curry with Pilau Rice and a side dish of Chana Masala and it was equisite. Flavour burst forth with every mouthful and the love, dedication and attention given to my meal by the chef and his team was so evident. Everything is freshly prepared, everything cooked traditionally including making their own Garam Masala (I spotted the Star Anise! Great to see!) and everything was fantastic. The fact that you can see into the kitchen shows there is nothing to hide and that the chef and his team take immense pride in their work. I cannot wait for my next visit (probably 9 weeks time!!) and just wish there was a restaurant even half as good near me at home!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirmalreddy, Owner at Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Tabla Guest,
Thank you for lovely feedback on TA. I am glad you enjoy your every visit . I will pass pass your feedback to team.
looking forward to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Praveen Kumar
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was the best indian food we have ever tasted,and we eat alot of indian food! Also the staff were fabulous and really went out their way to cater for the children. My chidren always ask to go back here.
si and sandie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirmalreddy, Owner at Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Tabla Guest,
Thank you for taking time write to me on TA. I am very glad you your kids enjoyed your meal at Tabla. Our chefs are very happy accommodate any request of our little curry kings.(your kids)
I will pass your feedback to team at tabla.

Looking forward to see you when in town again.
regards
Praveen kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Despite not having a reservation Tabla were able to squeeze us in. The food was really good, especially the tandoori lamb chops, and the squid pakora worked well too. Staff were attentive without being intrusive and the bill was extremely reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirmalreddy, Owner at Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Tabla Guest,
Thank you for taking time write to me on TA. I am very glad we could find place for you dinner.
I will pass your feedback to team at tabla.

Looking forward to see you when in town again.
regards
Praveen kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabla Authentic Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.