We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful castle with wonderful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elcho Castle

Elcho Castle
Rhynd, Perth PH2 8QQ, Scotland
+44 1738 639998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Attractions in Perth
Type: Castles, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elcho Castle is one of Scotland’s best-preserved 16th-century tower houses. It was built around the time of the Protestant Reformation in 1560 by a member of the family of Wemyss of that Ilk. The family could trace their lineage back to the 12th century. A descendant of the builder of Elcho was created Lord Wemyss of Elcho in 1628 and Earl of Wemyss in 1633. Open daily from 9.30am to last entry at 5pm from 1st April to 30th September.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful castle with wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I do not believe that Elcho Castle will disappoint the children will have fun running up and down trying to count the the original on suite toilets they run to double figures.
the views from the top really are spectacular and a short walk up to the small village will let you look round an ancient Doo Cot which is privately owned and if like me you have a dog it will enjoy the walks around the Castle

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My family and I visit the UK frequently and have seen quite a number of castles and this one ranks as my favourite. It is a beautifully preserved castle and the views are spectacular. It was particularly fun for the children who took great delight in counting the number of toilets in the castle! It is a bit out of the way but worth the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited Huntingtower castle 18 months previous to this visit and we're told about Elcho castle and the guide there told us it was well worth a visit.
It is in very good condition and is a maze of stairs and rooms to explore and you can walk round the outside at roof level. There is good information available on boards in and around the castle and in the guide book, which you can buy in the shop. You could also borrow some costumes and dress up and pretend you own a castle, unless you already do and are just having a wee break from your own.
It is indeed well worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Elcho Castle, Perth - How many toilets?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We have been members of Historic Scotland for a number of years and visited Elcho Castle recently with our daughters aged 9 and 4.5 years. Both girls really enjoyed this castle with lots of rooms to explore and a climb up on to the roof with wonderful views. As with most H.S properties, we have noticed, that there isn't a huge amount of information regarding all the rooms but a guide book is available to buy. There is also a free children's quiz available with pictures rather than writing. This was great for our 4.5 year old as she could complete the quiz by herself. They receive a sticker for completing the quiz.

The ground fairly flat outside the castle with a lovely orchard to walk round and a trail at the back of castle that takes you down to river. There are also picnic tables.

Like most castles its not wheelchair friendly inside with lots of stairs. There are rooms on the ground floor however it is quite uneven so may struggle even with a push chair.

Small shop with access to toilets block down a small hill. No baby changing facilities. Castle is sign posted from motorway then along some narrow minor roads. Be careful as more than once we came across other drivers driving too fast for the type of road. Access to castle is through a farm to free car park directly outside property.

This is the second time we have been here and on both occasions it has not been busy so definitely worth a visit even during the school holidays. Historic Scotland's Huntingtower Castle is also close by with a large Dobbies across the road. All could be visited on the same day.

If you are on holiday and plan to visit a few Historic Scotland properties it maybe worth looking at their Explorers Pass as it may save you money on admission prices.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“En Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Set on the banks of a river, the castle is in a beautiful location. You can go up on the roof and get some nice views of the surrounding area. The most surprising thing about the castle is ever room is en suite, which is very unusual. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elcho Castle also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Elcho Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elcho Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.