We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glover Arms

The Glover Arms
Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3JJ, Scotland
01738624888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 170 restaurants in Perth
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Perth
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have visited several times and have always found it great value for money. Food is always good quality and the menu is reasonably priced. Service great sometimes it can be a bit slow but hey I do not go out to rush a meal. If I wanted to eat and run quiuckly I would go to one of the cheap dumps that serve frozen muck and chase you out the door!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    86
    59
    34
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GrampianScotland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great hospitality - pity about the kitchen!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Glover Arms has the best staff of any local restaurant in Perth. They make everyone welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.
Complaints are handled without fuss and dishes replaced when required. This is just as well as the dishes provided by the kitchen are of variable quality and seem to take a long time to appear!
A new menu has been introduced featuring a selection of pies by well-known TV chef, James Martin. These include a chicken, leek and pulled ham pie which sounds great and is good value for money!
When it arrived, after 30 to 40 minutes waiting, the pastry was over-cooked and when removed there was only a tablespoonful of 1 - 2 ozs. of small pieces of chicken. No sign of the leeks or ham in the dish.
The server offered to replace it with a fresh dish, but who wants to wait another half-hour for a replacement. the pies are made up in the kitchen so there is obviously no quality control, or perhaps it lacks a trained chef!
This is a pity as the restaurant is warm, inviting and busy. There are several menus available plus a board with offers of the day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Getting pricey and stingy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Short review this time, as I'm pushed for time. We started going here when it first opened, and at that time it was far better than average for a chain pub restaurant. It went downhill badly over the years, and we finally got so fed up with bad service and food that we stopped going, after several bouts of abysmally slow service, and very poorly prepared food. Also, one of our regulars is veggie, and the choice was extremely poor. We revisited recently, to find the place has been refitted. The rooms are now a Travelodge, sold to them by Vintage Inns (and have gone downhill according to our friends who always stayed there).
The bar length has been reduced, and a couple of extra tables squeezed in, and the interior, originally fake (English) traditional, has been 'modernised' with the addition of various glass screens and panels. It's not unpleasant, but why try to create urban chic from a fake mediaeval pub? The food was actually far better than the last time we were there, but be prepared to go hungry. In parallel with the style change, portions have shrunk to nouvelle cuisine size: Tasty, but leave you hungry. Presumably, this is to induce you to purchase starters, sides and desserts as well, but it just left us feeling short changed. Over £16 for 2 pints of ale and 2 glasses of wine left our guest somewhat stunned as well. In summary, the food seems to have improved, the service was OK, the portions will leave you hungry, and the drinks are more expensive than expected. Ambience is good, decor is fine, and the comfort is fine. Easy to park, with their own car park, but remember it is out of town, so one of you needs to drive or you take a cab.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“this was their second chance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Food was ok nothing special. The one staff member, a young lad who had about 15+ tables to see to him self on a busy night night was amazing, i could not fault him and felt sorry for him rushing about trying to keep everyone happy. Because of this it took nearly 3 hours for our table to have 3 courses. This was the second chance and it failed! Best thing about this place is the staff.The manager needs to think about his staffing. Will not be back in a hurry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for a chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We took the kids here for an early evening meal, which we all enjoyed. There were a lot of the standard chain pub/ restaurant options but there were some more unusual options too (e.g. wild boar and chorizo burger) The food was tasty and the portions were satisfying... and in the case of the ice creams, enormous! The service was quite good too, givenhow busy it was.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glover Arms also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Glover Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glover Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.