We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
33 Kinnoull Street, Perth PH1 5EN, Scotland
01738449792
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 173 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $0 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcoming Scottish restaurant in PerthLocated on Kinnoull Street, The Bothy Perth is a relaxed restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with Scottish produce. The warm and homely atmosphere is the perfect place to relax with friends or family and to enjoy home-cooked comfort food. Child-friendly and wheelchair accessible, The Bothy Perth is ideally situated for visitors to the Perth Playhouse as well as Perth Theatre.Traditional dishes & hearty foodThe restaurant chefs use the best Scottish produce to offer a varied menu with classic items like Marshall’s macaroni glazed with strong cheddar cheese; freshly battered haddock with tartare sauce, crushed peas and a ‘poke’ (‘portion’, to you non-Scots!) of chips; or pub lunch favourite, the 100% Scottish beef burger with hand cut chips, tomato salsa and pickle.Perth town centre accessibility & transport linksThe Bothy is on Kinnoull Street in the centre of Perth and a brisk 10 minute walk from Perth train station. Paid parking is available in the multi-storey car park along from the restaurant and several bus stops can also be found nearby.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The bar/restaurant is large and spacious with wonderful leather seats - tables are widely spaced. Staff were excellent and although they got some of our order wrong (computer error), they were generous at fixing the mistake. Food was good and service was quick. A great atmosphere. I would recommend it as a good place to try.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Bothy.
We do pride ourselves in delivering wonderful food and service to our guests daily. As you mentioned , the venue itself is very special and a joy to work in everyday!

Thanks again for this wonderful feedback, I shall share your kind words with the team!

Kind regards,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    196
    87
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic friendly place with great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Bar was warm and friendly food was excellent the service was really good and the waitresses who served our food were friendly and chatty and the manager was friendly and welcoming will Deff go bk on next visit to Perth ty to all at the bothy

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for the 5 * review.

The Bothy is a very special venue with great food and service at the heart of it. We really do appreciate when our guests recognise our hard work and commitment in ensuring you have a wonderful experience and return again and again.

Come back soon!


Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Briiliant Baby Shower Function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I held a friends Baby Shower here on the 23rd of August. They couldn't of been more helpful through the whole process. From booking their function room to settling the bill at the end.

It was held in their function room which is down the stairs away from the restaurant. We asked them to put in a small buffet for all the ladies who were attending. They catered our every needs, as when we booked the buffet menu wasn't very suitable for my pregnant friend. We sat down and arranged a menu that my pregnant friend and vegetarian friend could have.

They had set up the room beautifully as well.

All in all could not fault the day. Thank you all so much.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for the 5 star review!

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your afternoon. We were all very impressed with the baby shower decorations! The delicious buffet and cake stands suited the your event perfectly.

Please send our best wishes to 'the mum to be'

Thanks again,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very stylish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Have been twice, love the decor, great atmosphere, very busy on both occasions. Really enjoyed the food, very tasty. Service was also good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good morning and thank you for the great review.

It's a wonderful to hear of our guests returning to The Bothy. As you mentioned, our interior is very stylish and a joy to work in everyday! Thank you for your positive feedback on both our food and service, I shall pass your kind words on to the team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Never fails to disappoint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Myself and my partner have visited The Bothy a number of times now and once again It was fantastic, so much so I felt the need to leave a review. The food was faultless, I ordered the salmon fish cakes with noodles - delicious! Our servers were attentive as always, if I remember correctly their names were Jackie and Alisha... Thank you for a lovely evening! Great food, great service, I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good morning and thank you for the 5 star review!

We do pride ourselves in delivery great food and service here at The Bothy. Our head chef Russell will be delighted to read your very positive feedback on his dishes!

We are very excited to announce that our new menu is launching soon, come back and sample some very exciting new dishes!

Many thanks,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bothy also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bothy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.