We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gailes Restaurant and Hotel to your Saves list
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Armadale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've not stayed here, but have eaten on many occasions and have always found the menu to be varied and plentiful. There are always menu course deals and the prices are reasonable, with decent portions.
The staff are friendly, and the service has always been excellent wether it was quiet or busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    85
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
52
94
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My daughter’s wedding reception was outstanding; the attention to detail second to none, the wedding staff was amazing and everyone enjoyed the special day. However, the hotel side was not up to expectations, the rooms were like any travel lodge I have visited and very overpriced. The staff on the hotel side needs people skills. Two examples: Night porter/ bar manager totally humiliated the bridesmaid in front of a large wedding party. It was getting late, but unbeknown to the wedding party she was refused a drink, he came over to us and voiced very loudly that we allowed her to drink so therefor we were all refused to be allowed to drink and told to go to our rooms, this could of been handled in a more diplomatic / professional way so not to embarrass all of us. He could of said the bar was closed!!!! The second instance we came down to breakfast 15 mins before time and most of the buffet was empty and had to ask for things to be refilled, but was told most things were no longer available and felt we were rushed and made to feel uncomfortable. We checked out and were waiting for a lift back to Glasgow and when asked for a lunch drink was told we had checked out and therefore not allowed to be served a drink....bizarre???

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Director of Sales at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Further to your recent visit to the Gailes Hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed celebrating your daughter’s wedding with us and our service exceeded your expectations. I was surprised to read your comments with regards to other aspects of your visit. With regards to our team, can I firstly assure you that this service is certainly not the norm; we frequently receive comments with regards to the professionalism and attentiveness of the team. Our night team are all long standing employees but we will certainly raise your comments with them.
With regards to our bedrooms we are graded by visit Scotland’s Quality assurance and have consistently received 4 star status with the overall cleanliness and fixtures of the bedrooms being complimented. As a privately owned company we are always reinvesting in our hotels to continually improve them. Thank you for your comments, I do hope that you will consider using our properties in the future as I am sure from your wedding experience you are aware how passionate we are about our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, ayrshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Decided to visit today as it was my anniversary, normally go to The Old Loans but decided to give it a try. Ordered the 2 courses of the Lite menu costing £9.95 my husband ordered the Cauliflower soup and I ordered the Coconut chicken tempura with chilli jam. Husbands soup was ok but lacked a little seasoning. My Tempura came out and and to my surprise looked like 4 large chicken balls which you would get from the chinese, cut into them and the batter was so thick that the inside was still slimey batter. Returned them and replacement was sent back 10 mins later darker in colour but still slimey inside and dripping with oil. Really not impressed with these as any previous time i have ordered Tempura it has came out a lovely light golden batter. Main courses were Homemade lasagne which was good and Steak pie which was served with cold mash and a very small portion of veg. Would say I won't be returning again and really wished we had went somewhere else, which was a pity as staff were pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We got married in the Gailes and everything was amazing. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and organised. The guests commented on how great the hotel was. We couldnt resist doing guest tours of the penthouse suite!! With a perfect dressing room for the morning there was plenty of space for the hairdresser and makeup artist, living room to relax in and peer through the one way glass to watch our guests arrive to relaxing in the private spa room at night it was the most amazing day. Great value in comparison to anywhere else we looked. Even the food was delicious!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

attended for a family Birthday,great choice of food, at affordable price, staff very friendly,good service, in a lovely setting,I would recomend this hotel for a lunch, evening meal, and wedding i have been for all of these occasions,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two nights for a family wedding. Couple of things let it down-
When we booked asked if there was a special room rate for wedding guests - told no room rate £135 per night Talking to other wedding guests realised they had a discounted rate of £100/night .The evening receptionist agreed to give us the discounted rate.

On the first night service in the restaurant was somewhat slow although at breakfast service was excellent.
don't know if beds are old or poor quality but not the best nights sleep I've experienced in a hotel.(room 30)
The. Wedding itself was very well co-ordinated and organised and all meals including the wedding meal were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I'd just like to thank all the staff at The Gailes for making my daughter's wedding the most memorable occasion. The service was second to none, the staff exceptionally helpful and the whole day was seamless from the moment the bridal group stepped onto the red carpet. Every guest I spoke to enthused about the high standard of food, starting with the canapes, through all the courses, right through to the evening buffet: unable to find fault with anything! The staff were eager to help with a constant smile on their faces, which further enhanced our spirits for the whole day. Many thanks indeed. Keep up your good standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gailes Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gailes Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel, bar and restaurant in the heart of Ayrshire. Distinctive modern accommodation with full mod cons and king size beds. Stunning Penthouse Apartment with private sauna, spa and Jacuzzi plus rooftop garden and conservatory. Excellent dining options in our relaxed and friendly bar and restaurant areas. Part of the award winning SimpsInns group. Adjacent to a number of championship golf courses and just minutes from the busy towns of Irvine and Troon. Prestwick Airport and Troon P&O Ferry terminal are less than 10 minutes away, while Glasgow International is 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gailes Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gailes Restaurant Hotel Irvine
Gailes Hotel Irvine
Gailes Restaurant And Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.