We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kidron House Hotel to your Saves list
Kidron House Hotel
122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Festive Deals!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
dumfries,scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just home from a 2 night stay at the Kidron House Hotel. As soon as we arrived, we had a very warm welcome from the front of house staff.He was very polite and friendly and gave us all the information we needed.
Rooms were spotless and very comfortable.Plenty of tea/coffee etc. The radiator didn't give off a great deal of heat,so room was a touch cool. but to be fair we weren't in the room that long.
Breakfast sheet was filled out the night before and you filled out a time you would be down, which I think was a great idea, this meant you weren't waiting ,especially since it was nearly fully booked when we were there.
Breakfast itself was spot on, and plenty to choose from.
We would have no problem booking this hotel again and would definately recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to send us your review.I am pleased everything was to your liking.It is always nice to receive such positive comments.The breakfast sheets have proved to be a great success with our guests and ensures everything is served at your preferred time freshly cooked to your individual requirements.I have looked at the radiator in your room which we found needed a slight adjustment which has now been dealt with.We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you once again..Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    44
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
48
46
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

very friendly and welcoming staff. the room was clean, spacious and homely. the evening meal was top notch and breakfast was amazing. their new bar was nice and relaxing place to sit and enjoy a few drinks. the atmosphere of the hotel was calm and peaceful. overall a very nice hotel will surely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Julie,thank you for your very positive review.We are so glad you had such a pleasant stay.We always want all our guests to feel relaxed and well cared for which it seems you have experienced
We look forward to seeing you again soon and wish you all the best- The Kidron Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband took me to Kidron House for my birthday as someone had recommended it to him. I was very surprised by the cleanliness and the quiet ambience, you just feel right at home here. The staff are very friendly and nothing was a bother, they were very attentive. The menu was limited but it was explained to me that they have just started catering for the wider public and are testing the waters, which is very prudent of them. The meal was beautifully presented and very pleasant on the palate so 10/10 there. The room was well decorated and clean, the bed was very comfy indeed and really felt at home, and breakfast was just how I like it . I am looking forward to my next weekend break in May and I'm sure I won't be disappointed. I would advise anyone to try out this little Gem you won't be disappointed . Well done to the staff at Kidron . Mrs Riddell

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Madge,firstly we would like to wish you a belated happy birthday.We are delighted you enjoyed your meal so much and I have passed your compliments on to the chef.As you mentioned we have just opened our new bar and restaurant area which is proving to be very popular with our customers.We are in the process of expanding both our lunch and evening meal menus which we are very confident will be a success with our clients.I am glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms too.We look forward to seeing you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is my opinion as a traveller.Thank goodness I only stayed 1 night.the room was very small and without any drawers but there was a makeshift space to hang coats on.The bedside lamp did not work.There was no internet connection despite that being advertised .No writing materials in the guestbook,I went out for the night to a business meeting thinking i could have a drink at the bar later as the bar was open till midnight.When I arrived at 10-50 the bar was in darkness and the room locked up.After ringing the bell for 5 minutes a gentleman arrived and advised the bar was not busy and he was going home.Charming!! what kind of customer service is that.Unbelievable!!.

Room Tip: In my opinion,not a great place if you require a high level of customer satisfaction.If you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear guest,we appreciate you have taken time to review us.I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us as our aim is always great customer care and a positive experience with us.I would however like to address a few points you have raised.
1 The room you booked was a single room and as such is one of our smaller rooms.The furniture is not makeshift but has been designed for purpose.There are drawers at the right hand side of the bed with 3 drawers.
2 We checked the bedside lamp and found it was unplugged but working perfectly.Free high speed broadband is available 24 hours.This does require a code which was given to you on arrival along with all other details of your stay.We are always happy to assist if any problems are found entering it but no problem was mentioned to us.We did however find that there was not a pen in your guest folder and this has now been rectified.
3 We believe the issue with the bar is where the real problem lies.I have checked footage from the CCTV and found you arrived at 11. 31PM .We also have a note in our incident book which explains service was indeed refused to you.The reason being the member of staff on duty found you had consumed a lot of alcohol prior to arriving with us and thought it unwise to serve more.Also it was noted you did not want to purchase anything from our bar area but asked to bring a bottle of your own whiskey and for the bar to be left open after midnight.This is not permitted within our licencing laws as we open from 10am till 12pm.We did offer to take glasses an ice to your room and this offer was refused.I do feel under the circumstances we did everything reasonable to accommodate you while acting responsibly within the licencing laws.The member of staff dealing with you that evening lives in house and the hotel is his home.
We apologize that your stay was not all you expected and wish you the best in your future.
Best wishes John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh scotland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We came for one night for a wee break and had a fantastic stay.everything we needed plus sauna and spa bath a bonus. The man at front of house was lovely and couldn't be more helpful if he tried, the chief great also , breakfast was a treat . Will certainly come back and will recommend to friends .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and taking time out to review us.As always the executive room is a hit with our guests.We are delighted you enjoyed both your room and food so much.We look forward to having you again in the future.Kind regards-The Kidron Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Spotless rooms, very comfortable beds and really friendly staff. Excellent dinner In the restaurant in the evening and staff adjusted restaurant hours for us after we explained that we had to eat early to allow us to make visiting hours at the nearby hospital. (3 adults/mother-82 and daughters). Ample parking and great location for the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend this hotel and very reasonable rates for the standard of rooms, breakfast and service. Chose this hotel because of the previous great reviews on tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed as it lived up to it's great reputation. Keep up the good work! Will definitely be back if we are in the area again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Dorothy,thank you very much for your extremely positive review.We are always happy to hear that guests are enjoying our new improved facilities. Our restaurant staff are keen to accommodate whenever possible and i have passed on your feed back.We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.Best wishes from all at Kidron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked 4 rooms, for 2 nights, at the Kidron for a family wedding on 22nd Feb, 2014. It is the second time that I have stayed and on both occasions I have been more than happy with the rooms and the service. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the staff are more than happy to help and very friendly. The food was great and the bar area very comfortable and we will definitely be visiting again, very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Dawn,it was lovely to have you with us again .We really appreciate the great comments you have posted in your review.We always like to hear of guests enjoying their stay with us.Rooms and restaurant area are all newly done and I am glad they seem to have met your expectations.See you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kidron House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.