We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "Excellent" for Elgin´s Southbank Guest House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southbank Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southbank Guest House to your Saves list
Southbank Guest House
36 Academy St | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
Oberasbach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An "Excellent" for Elgin´s Southbank Guest House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

From our initial telephone enquiry to our departure, Mrs. Reid was a considerate hostess, always quick to meet the individual needs of her guests.
Lovely house, recently thoughtfully and very tastefully refurbished.
Excellent en suite bathrooms. Very comfortable beds.
Quiet location, just a stone´s throw from the town centre.
Breakfasts fresh and tasty.
Thank you, Mrs. and Mr. Reid and staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
20
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have now stayed at this guest house four times.
Always a great welcome and the staff are really nice.
The owner is lovely and always has time for you.
Great breakfasts, second to none.
Highly recommended.
The rooms are always clean and adequate.
Nicely situated for the centre of Elgin and a few hundred yards from the railway station and main road routes.

Room Tip: Room 1, very spacious, one double and two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice place to stay for visiting the surroundings. Comfortable and clean room. New and big bathroom. Private parking. Good and typical breakfast. Great location in the center of Elgin. The owner was very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Arrived later in evening and was asked if I would like to have my breakfast a little later than the advertised hours! Guest house has just been refurbished and refurnished. Absolutely immaculate. Very central yet in quiet street. Plenty of free private parking. Lovely breakfast including fresh fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast choices. Would highly recommend. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in room no 5. Brand new beds, furniture and shower room/toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Academy Street is a perfect location for the town centre. Room was clean but was absolutely freezing as heating set centrally. Came in from a night out and the heating still wasnt on so didnt sleep very well as I was cold. Also the kettle in the room kept tripping, went to the foyer and rang bell twice but no answer so had to go into town to get a hot drink. This is the only bed and breakfast I have stayed in where there was no shower gel/shampoo. Didnt really have breakfast as the waitress got my egg order wrong and by this time my husband was half way through his so her offer to change it was declined as i was already sat watching him eat his, and the sausage was of such poor quality i couldnt eat that either. Therefore for what you got in relation to a bed and a bit of breakfast £70 was quite expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
hi, sorry you were disappointed, we had just had a new heating system in stalled in the house and we have been having problems with the timing settings but its all sorted now, if you had looked in your cupboard you would of found a spare heater! and you could of used it, sorry about the kettle, these things happen, we have just spent £50,000 refurbishing the guest house and I think you should of given us full marks for that alone and the rooms are spotless and so clean, i remember you sulking at the dinning room table,£70 is not expensive next time you stay in Elgin try a hotel , you will get a buffet pre cooked breakfast, and some where between £90 to £195 a night , there will be a night porter, but then we are only a bed and breakfast, please do not book with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location could not be better, It's only a 3 minute walk to the city center. The building is old but charming, the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is excellent with a lot of choice. Parking is no problem and free.
We liked Elgin much better than Inverness, it's not touristy at all and the people are very friendly (like almost everywhere in Scotland).
We would stay here again, hopefully soon.
Thanks Isabelle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked a room for the weekend, we lived several years in elgin, knowing which hotels are up around ,without much thought we booked the room in Southbank Guest House the breakfast wonderful, kind and friendly atmosphere .very clean in rooms you can see the money invested in this hotel ,Now we live in Manchester and certainly as we will be in Elgin, we will stay in this wonderful hotel again.

Room Tip: room 1A very nice and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Guest House

Address: 36 Academy St | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house, close to all amenities (walking distance) all unsuited shower rooms, tv, coffee, tea making facility, breakfast included in price. we have complimentary Wi-Fi in the annex and main house in all bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Southbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Guest House Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.