We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Southbank Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Southbank Guest House to your Saves list
Southbank Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   36 Academy St | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Extremely disappointed. Hotel prices I paid £65 online booking with a picture of the room I requested with a bath . When I turned up I got the impression as I am a builder that any room will do. The room was back in the 70s regarding decor, extremely cold radiator only Luke warm and turned off at 11 pm till 7 am next morning , shower took ages to warm up , towel rail didn't work , shaver point broken ong with the light . Awful . Thank the lore there was a weatherspoons within walking distance to spend the night keeping warm

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
so sorry you dident enjoy your stay,its a pitty you diddent tell as about the problems in your room as we would of sorted it out for you at once,all issuse have been mended.topic heating ,i think hotels have 24 optional heating and hotel priceing to match.if you had asked us about the water,i would of said if you run the tape or shower for a few minutes it would of been hot, (200 year old house , 15 bedrooms) can take a little time for water to flow through ,and once again if you had asked us for a annex room with bath we would of given you one.i must say that builder or butcher or candel stick maker or the queen,your all welcome here,tradesmen are always welcome your comment unfair,if you dont ask you dont get,may i think you speak up next time and give the hotel a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
21
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Thankfully we were only staying here for one night. The bedlinen was clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was nice and served on a warm plate. I didn't think this guest house was clean as other reviewers have stated. The stair carpet is certainly in need of a good brush. On our arrival they put an electric heater in our room as it was so cold. The drawers of the bedside cabinet wouldn't stay closed so we turned it so the bed kept the drawers shut. The light on the same cabinet had no bulb but that didn't really matter as there was no socket to plug it into anyway. We were given what they called the Master room, one double bed, two single beds, three bedside cabinets, chest of drawers and two easy chairs. When you opened the room door and walked in you then had to close the door to get into the room, one at a time. Heated towel rail in the bathroom didn't work so this too was cold.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
thanyou for your feedback,after the winter we have had a mantance run and were short staffed back then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is a great place to stop at. It is well run; the breakfast are excellent and service is terrific. It is a short walk into the center of Elgin. The staff has suggestions that are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

friendly owners who made us most welcome. great room and a great breakfast.the guesthouse is in a good location for shops resturants and pubs would recommend it to others.thank you

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

so much to say about this fantastic b&b. isobelle went out her way to make sure everything ran smoothly and perfectly. We arrived to find that another guest had accidently taken our keys for the room that were left out as Isobelle was at a function. when we got in contact she immediately made the effort to leave and come back to let us in although it was her evening off. There was 3 of us and a child meant to all be in one room but because of the inconvienience of the keys which was out of her control she gave us an extra room free of charge for the two nights we stayed for my mother so partner, child and I had our own space which we were incredably grateful for.The rooms were spacious and immaculate with everything you needed. the bathroom and shower was fantastic we have absolutely no complaints. And finally as almost everyone has mentioned the breakfast really are truely scrumptous! And to top it off its certainly is great value for money. Would recomend this to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of riding from Leeds to Elgin on my motorcycle. What was more of a pleasure was staying at the Southbank Guest House, 36 Academy Street, Elgin.
Lovely hosts Isabel and Malcolm could not do enough to help, and the best breakfast of our trip the following morning. Thank You !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stay at Southbank whenever we are in Elgin which is about 6 times a year,our daughter lives in Elgin but lives in a very small house so we always stay with Malcolm and Isobel.
The rooms are lovely with a great shower,we usually have one of the annexe rooma and it is very peaceful.
Rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels and tea and coffee topped up.
Breakfast is great with lots to choose from,you will never leave hungry!!!
All in all Southbank is perfect for a visit to the beautiful city of Elgin

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Guest House

Address: 36 Academy St | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house, close to all amenities (walking distance) all unsuited shower rooms, tv, coffee, tea making facility, breakfast included in price. we have complimentary Wi-Fi in the annex and main house in all bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Southbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Guest House Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.