We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a venue to get wed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elgin Cathedral

Elgin Cathedral
King Street, Elgin IV30 1HU, Scotland
01343 547171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Elgin
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a venue to get wed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Such a romantic venue to be married my son and his new wife chose the humanist ceremony which was wonderful experience,not stuffy but modern,relevant and upto date and personal. Great photo opportunities for all,consider if you would like something a bit different and yet dignified.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    68
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful old Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our last stop on a busy day of sightseeing. This must have been a very impressive building in its day. Built in the 1200's it was burned down in 1390. You can climb the tower to get a better view of the area. There is a feeling of great history while strolling around the sight.
Across the street there is a biblical garden which is also worth a quick visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beware the 137 steps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visited in the rain so ran from each building. The steps up the tower were a killer and visitors should be forewarned. The overrall visit was wonderful and we had a combined ticket with Spynie Palace so it was well worth visiting both.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Plan your visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The cathedral is closed for lunch 12.30-1.30pm. As we arrived around 12.15pm we just walked around the outside. If you want to explore the cathedral properly, plan to avoid the lunch time closing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our second visit to Elgin, first with teens in tow. We went to the very top of the cathedral and enjoyed a wonderful view not only of the ruin but of the city. Going to the top took some effort (and lots of "excuse me's" on the narrow, spiral staircases) but was well worth it. This is a beautiful ruin that was probably absolutely stunning when it was intact. Walking through the grounds, you can see several column bases that help to give a general idea just how massive it must have been.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elgin Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Elgin Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elgin Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.