We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added West End Guest House to your Saves list
West End Guest House
282 High Street, Elgin IV301AG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
brighton
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had stayed here for 2 nights while in the area and its a lovely place to stay. The rooms were spotless and nothing was trouble if you had needed anything. The breakfast was lovely in the morning and was lovely. I would certainly stay here again if im back in the area

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for the second time during a family visit to Scotland. Fantastic quality breakfasts with a large menu, coffee,tea,orange juice, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts,cheese,toast, jams, marmalade and a great choice and generously portioned cooked breakfasts (it's making my mouth water just thinking of it). A spacious dining room. Clean and comfortable rooms with powerful hot showers. Carol is a great host and all the staff are very friendly. I think this is a gem of a B & B. No hesitation in recommending this B & B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This guest house is in the centre of Elgin. We stayed here 2-3 years ago and this being our latest visit.
Carol who runs this B&B is an excellent host and cooks the best full Scottish in Elgin.
Her standards have not dropped since our last visit and would recommend this guest house on the breakfast alone.
All ingredients where possible are locally sourced...marmalade sausages.....stornaway black pudding...haggis endless supply of toast..good coffee.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and well presented.
Had the best nights sleep !!
Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Nice big bright, clean room. Good shower and comfy bed. Host was very friendly and attentive. Room equipped with everything we needed. Big breakfast was tasty and supply of orange juice and coffee was plentiful. Good location, only 2 minute walk to town centre.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the West End Guest house and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly, the room was comfortable and very clean and the breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend to others looking for a base at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed with our 16 month old daughter at the West End Guest house. We had a lovely time. The room was comfortable and clean, with a nice shower, comfy bed & wall mounted TV. They even managed to supply a travel cot and a high chair for breakfast for the child. I would happily stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am struggling a little with this review because I don't want to be at all unfair or negative but my experience feels a little different from most of the other reviews on here. The West End was in a great location and the host (owner?) was really helpful and welcoming. My room was fine and my bed was comfortable . Breakfast was OK (I tend not to eat a cooked breakfast so the choice of alternatives especially fruit was a little limited). The room was clean enough but not spotless. Generally the West End was perfectly fine and charged a fair price for what it offered - but I didn't have the amazing, 5 star experience that other people seemed to have had!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Address: 282 High Street, Elgin IV301AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West End Guest House is a warm and welcoming stop on your travels. Come and experience Scottish hospitality, good food and comfortable surroundings. We have 6 rooms, five of which are en-suite and one with a private bathroom. We are within walking distance of the town centre and within a 20 mile radius of the Whisky trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Elgin
West End Guest House Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.