We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous old house hotel which we will stay at again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Mansion House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous old house hotel which we will stay at again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a joint birthday present. When we drove in we had been warned some work was in progress, the work did not detract from a stunning looking hotel and certainly did not affect the enjoyment we had with our stay! We ate in house the first night which was delightful, we used the Leasure facility's on the second day, although not quite what we had hoped it was going to be, there is a pool, steam room sauna and a jacuzzi which all were working.
All in all from the moment we walked into it to the moment we left, I don't think I have been made to feel more welcome but not over attentive!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent short break, it's great to hear that you both enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
76
4
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves while visiting family in Elgin. So glad we did. The Mansion House Hotel is probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Not just in its class, but better than some 4 & 5 stars we have stayed at.
The staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful without being overbearing (it always annoys me when staff try 'too hard' and its not genuine).
The room and all the facilities within it were excellent. First class bed!
We had dinner and breakfast. Both were worthy of a 5 star rating.
Well done and a big pat on the back for everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely and very complimentary review, we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be passed on to the staff. Thank's again and we hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for the weekend. Our stay was fantastic, the room was comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food was beautiful. We would recommend a stay here and will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, we are glad that we made your stay fantastic and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel, the first being a weekend with my mum about 6 yrs ago. I'm returning with a friend for a pampering girls weekend staying for 2 nights.

Arrived on the Friday slightly early, but the room was ready so we we given our room key. I was amazed to find it was the same room I stayed in previously with 2x 4 poster single beds, beautiful bathroom with a shower that will blast your skin off and a sink big enough to be a bath.

Staff are friendly and polite. Rooms are cleaned daily. They are warm, comfortable and clean.

Pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are all brilliant, well maintained and clean.

Breakfast staff were efficient however, I was a little disappointed with the choice for the cooked breakfast as it was either a Full Scottish or Smoked Kippers. However, I asked for scrambled eggs on toast and was told this was not a problem. My ideal breakfast would have been Eggs Benedict though. I have to say the eggs were very over cooked so I was disappointed by this. Full cooked breakfast got full marks.

All in all a great place, would recommend and we will be back again!

It's a shame about the on going external works, this is part of the Flood defence system so is totally out of the hotels control. However, we have not been effected by it at all during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review regarding your recent "Pampering Girls Weekend" It's great to hear that you had a nice time and hope that you may return for your 3rd visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I spent two relaxing nights at the Mansion House. Good food in pleasant surroundings, friendly staff and an ideally placed location for visiting the numerous sites along the Moray Coast. A short walk from Elgin City centre and some historical ruins of the Cathedral.

Room Tip: Rooms can be upgraded by paying an additional charge, but we had no complaints about our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us and hope that you may return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night, on arrival the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, check in was simple and quick, we got showed to our room which was absolutely stunning and beautiful, the room was nice and large with a nice comfy 4 poster bed and 3 piece suite, with large tv in the corner, with nice modern bathroom, we ate our evening meal in the hotel dining room, where the staff were great, the food was lovely, I used the leisure facilities swimming pool and sauna, these were good,

Only bad points I would have is the changing rooms for the leisure facilities were a bit run down, the lockers were like something out of a builders change shack, these were all rusty and did not lock, and the edge just around the inside of the pool was a little bit grimey,

Apart from this the hotel is a great place to stay, and we will defiantly be back and stay again,

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room with a 4 poster bed, well worth it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thank you for all your lovely comments regarding your room, the food and our staff. We realise the leisure facilties are requiring upgrading and this is imminent. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mansion House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mansion House for a night just to get away from Inverness for a couple of days and do a mini tour of the Moray Coast.

We got a great deal on Groupon so didn't mind paying the extra £35 to upgrade to a Superior 4 poster room.

The room was magnificent. Traditional bedroom and the bed was huge and very comfy. Huge TV with all you expect including the bonus of Sky Sports - not that we really used the TV but it was a nice attribute.

The bathroom was clean and spotless and very nicely designed. The shower was fantastic although could have been more powerful... there was also a large bath.

The views were spoilt slightly by the flood defence works going on, but this shouldn't put anyone off as in a room like that a view of the outside isn't essential!

Dinner was excellent and a very nice menu. Great to see some DECENT half bottles of wine on the menu too enabling me to have a half bottle of Chateau-neuf du pape and my wife to go with Chablis.

A couple of wines my wife wanted including the dessert wine weren't available which was slightly disappointing, and service could have been better for dinner, however the food was exceptional.

Breakfast could have been better, but wasn't bad.

Will definately return some day I'm sure.

Reception service on checkout was fantastic - the girl was full of personality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent break. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay, we appreciate feedback to allow us to maintain standards. We hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.