We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club to your Saves list
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel looks very tacky from the outside, not like the photograph above. Put in a room with steamed up double glazing which was at the entrance to a corridor and overlooking the Hotel front entrance. After a 250 mile drive and a busy day I needed to rest, no such luck. The noise from the corridor door outside my room, the movement of people and chatter coupled with taxis pulling up outside etc. meant a limited nights sleep. I had asked to be moved earlier but told "we're full up". So I overslept slightly and missed breakfast (9am finish). On booking out the receptionist said there was nothing extra to pay. Fortunately I had the presence of mind to ask to see the bill instead of rushing off, I have a limit of £25 for food & drink and I know I went over that the night before. On seeing the bill my company had been charged for 4 beers (over £14.00) but I had paid cash at the bar for 2 of them! That's £7.20 into somebody's pocket when they cash up. I then paid the receptionist for the 2 beers I had with my meal the night before and made sure she refunded my company's money. If I hadn't checked the bill my company would have I asked me to pay back anything over £25, the cost of the beers included, that would mean I'd pay for them twice. I wonder why the Hotel ignored my company's instructions on my spending limit? The only good point was the food which was faultless, but I'll never stay at the eight acres again. I had originally asked to be put in the Premier Inn, had my company done that in the first place it would have put a completely different spin on my trip to Elgin. Next time?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Our apologies that there were discrepancies with your bill on departure, we have two new members of staff on the reception team and in a very busy hotel there can occassionally be human error. Our building is in a 70's style, however it has been extensively refurbished internally, all photos are accurate. When the hotel is fully booked, it is not possible to move guests, however had you requested a quiet room prior to arrival we would have happily accommodated this.
Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    165
    103
    75
    51
See reviews for
68
202
38
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

A late booking and was in room 50 which is lovely: more in keeping with the vest of the hotel.
I didn't have dinner as east eying out Elgin's newest and higjly pipular culinary establishment KFC!
Had a great breakfast but would encourage all visitors to request mushrooms at breakfast
Although not on the menu, they sure should be as it would appear to be one of the chef's specialities , going by the waitresses reaction when asked ;-)

I will be back to 8 acres and will try the gym!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Another visit to Elgin and late booking at 8 Acres
Room 50 is a lovely room and more in keeping with what you expect when entering this hotel
I didn't have dinner as was trying out Elgin's newest and highly popular culinary establishment KFC!
Breakfast was delicious.
Although not on the menu, i would encourage every one to ask for mushrooms at breakfast, as they are to die for. Must be the chefs specialty going by the waitresses reaction when I asked for them.
Def be back at 8 acres

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Could not fault the staff very helpful and friendly that's where it stops.
It should be called Eighties Acres its a concrete block if you own a JCB do the owner a favour and nock it down. Room could do with a good clean, next room had a dog in there nice touch, hate to think what's been sleeping in my bed. I would give this one a miss,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Our apologies if you felt your room was not up to standard, it is very rare we would receive such comments. The hotel does allow dogs but we charge to allow industrial cleaning following their departure. Our hotel is a 70's style building but has been extensively refurbished internally to great compliment.
Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently visited Eight Acres for a two night break on the dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We had a fantastic time. The hotel itself does not look very nice from the outside but do not let that put you off! It is very clean and fresh looking inside. We found all the staff to be really friendly and very helpful. Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean with a good shower . We used the swimming pool and spa facilities during our stay which were pretty good. We both thoroughly enjoyed dinner on the first night so much that we changed our plans and ate at the hotel restaurant on our second night too. The breakfast was great with a good choice of foods. Overall I think it was very good value for money. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team here, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked at last minute and for a single room at a very good price. Room was a bit small and overlooked a flat roof. Must be same room as in early comment in May. Felt a bit like a cell but for the money for one night was acceptable. Wasn't happy about open window beside a flat roof so did not leave anything in view on table. Very pleased with the menu in the restaurant and the meal was good. Breakfast was very quick which is always handy. Would stay again. Did to try the spa.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review, our single rooms are small but as you concur reasonably priced and do include use of our extensive leisure facilities. They are comfortable for a one night stay. We look forward to you staying at the hotel again in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

went here for a meal and would not recommend.. not good value for money which is a shame because it is a nice restaurant and very nice and helpfull staff. I was very much looking forward to my meal and was disappointed afterwards, would not go back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed by your dining experience at Eight Acres Hotel. Please contact me directly on gm.eightacres@crerarhotels..com and advise your specific complaints with regards to your meal so that I may go over with the team and rectify as necessary. I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Acres Hotel And Leisure Club
8 Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Crerar Eight Acres Hotel Leisure
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.