We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - what a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A96, Elgin IV30 8UP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - what a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here just for one night as we needed a place to stay after a long journey from Lancashire, before attending the Glenlivet Whisky school the following day. We chose this place after reading the fantastic reviews here on Tripadvisor. So welcoming and friendly - on arriving we were asked if we wanted tea/coffee - and it was left in the lounge for us along with some Scottish shortbread. The bedrooms and showroom/toilet such a great size and traditionally furnished - lots of storage. Our room was big enough for a family, let alone a couple. The beds were comfy too. An excellent choice of breakfasts for the next morning (inc a veggie option). The location is also fantastic as the house has its own grounds - complete with red squirrels!

Room Tip: check out the website for the house for more info on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
77
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I just cant be more enthusiast about my stay in this B&B: it was absolutely amazing.
The position is in a park 2-3 miles away from Elgin town centre. There is plenty of parking insite.
The staff is really really kind and helpful: i think these people love their job, because I have never seen such warmness and in all my life.
The park itself is very beautiful and we were lucky enough to spot squirrels and deers there.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the toilet is big and clean, the shower is absolutely amazing, beakfast is great, rates are very good.
If you come to Elgin by car, do not miss this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Ardgye House delivered in line with the claims it makes for itself on its website. On arrival, we received a very warm welcome, and were led up a handsome staircase to an astonishingly spacious room that was well furnished, with ample storage space, tasteful decoration, and so relaxing. With the Olympic Games in full swing, we were delighted to find that (for later that evening) the room offered a high-quality TV picture with excellent reception.
We were fully aware that, despite its grandeur, Ardgye House is a B & B establishment and NOT a hotel, and so (having already had an earlylish evening meal elsewhere) we took advantage of a fine evening to sample the grounds. No need at all to go off-site. For an hour and half we had the undulating woodland tracks to ourselves, except for the occasion deer and red squirrel. We were glad of our stout shoes - being working woodland and not a theme park or a Chatsworth, it is NOT open sandal territory even in summer, so arrive suitably shod if you want to make the most of what is on offer. For country lovers, the surroundings are truly delightful.
For those who arrive by car and in need of a meal, Elgin is close by, and offers an adequate range of eating establishments. Don't overdo the evening meal out, however, as the Ardgye House breakfast is first class both in quality and quantity.
We would have liked to stay at least one more night, but the establishment was fully booked, and little wonder. It was an uplifting experience, and represented excellent value for money. Highly recommended, and with enough places of interest within reach by car as to make an attactive, functional base for more than the single night that our own commitments allowed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Ardgye House was one of the few experiences I have had where the photos did not do justice to the spacious and elegant nature of our rooms. We rented the family suite which was huge with 12 foot ceilings and its own change room. Upon arrival we took some snacks out to the lawn chairs while our boy ran around on the grass. The deep, soft bed spoiled us for anything else the rest of our trip. In the morning we watched a whole host of birds at the feeder as the sun rose over the trees, and breakfast was delicious - I enjoyed both cold cereal and the eggs & smoked salmon. Genuine luxury with a very friendly attitude and no problems whatsoever reserving a room online from Canada.

Room Tip: The family suite is spacious and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Location , breakfast, and service without doubt up there with the very best,as a Rep i travel the length and breadth of the country and must say stay here if youre in the area you wont be disappointed and I hope to return in the very near future

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cle Elum, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I do small group tours all around Scotland and I stayed here at Ardgye several years ago with a small group. We do not generally stay in this area on our tours but having remembered what a wonderful stay we had before I altered an itinerary specifically to be able to stay her again.
It was so wonderful to have a place be exactly as you remember it, only it was even better. Carol welcomed us in and took care of our every need. On our second night, we decided to stay in rather than go out. We bought things in town to bring back and share at the house. Carol provided everything we needed for a wonderful evening and allowed us to take over her sitting room to enjoy the evening!
Beautiful home, perfect hosting and one of my favorite stays. You cannot go wrong staying here!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent four nights at Ardgye House B&B (June 25 to 28, 2012) and were delighted with the quiet location, the facilities, the food and the quality of service provided by our friendly hosts. Unlike some other B&B websites, the Ardgye House website contains a very accurate description of what to expect on arrival - a lovely Edwardian country house built in 1904 by a local farmer, nestled within 150 acres of private grounds.

The B&B is well sign-posted on the left hand side of the road when travelling west on the A96 towards Inverness from Elgin. We highly recommend this B&B and will return at the first opportunity.

A morning walk in the woods around the estate is a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast

Address: A96, Elgin IV30 8UP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast is a gracious Edwardian mansion house centrally located in Moray (2.9 miles from Elgin town centre). Twin, King and Family en-suite rooms are available with generous free car parking facilities. All rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished in the period style with quality modern finishes. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television and free wi-fi. Enjoy a traditional Scottish or Continental breakfast in our stylish breakfast room. Children are welcome and there is opportunity for exploration in the spacious grounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardgye House Bed And Breakfast Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.