We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant home, tastefully decorated, most welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Croft guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft guesthouse
Save
You added The Croft guesthouse to your Saves list
10 Institution Road, Elgin IV30 1QX , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An elegant home, tastefully decorated, most welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed overnight at The Croft while visiting the lovely town of Elgin. A beautiful home, immaculately and traditionally furnished. Very large rooms. Breakfast was served at a large table over looking the garden. Our host made us most welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

The Croft is an adorable B&B and is well situated for exploring the Speyside region; most distilleries, castles, and villages are within a 30-40 minute drive. Pubs, restaurants, and shops in Elgin are within a 5-minute walk from the B&B. The owners are absolutely lovely people and were happy to give us recommendations for sightseeing. The bedroom and en suite bathroom were clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was very good. Overall, we highly recommend staying at the Croft.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed in Elgin for 2 nights in early October. We arrived in the early evening having flown into Aberdeen, which is about an hour's drive away. Ann provided a warm greeting, and her daughter's boyfriend rushed to help us with our (heavy) luggage.
The property itself is an elegant Victorian town house set in an attractive formal garden. The town centre of Elgin is a short walk away, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants to choose from.
Our room was spacious, comfortably furnished and nicely decorated, with a good sized bathroom. Breakfast was served at a large table in a very pleasant dining room, which provides the opportunity to meet and chat with other guests. The full Scottish is a good way to start a day of walking (or whisky tasting!).
Elgin itself is a pleasant town, and a good place from which to begin the whisky trail. Do explore the cathedral ruins and visit the Johnstons cashmere centre. The local Glen Moray distillery does provide tours, but not on Saturdays after the end of September (unfortunately for us).
We would definitely recommend the Croft.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

beautiful old house set just off main drag in elgin. Old fashioned decor but clean and landlady so welcoming. Great breakfast at comunal table so get to meet other guests. Note that there is a great bathroom - I missed it!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Croft guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft guesthouse

Address: 10 Institution Road, Elgin IV30 1QX , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Croft Guesthouse Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Croft guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.