We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed & Black puddin'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moraydale Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moraydale Guest House to your Saves list
Moraydale Guest House
276 High Street, Elgin IV30 1AG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bed & Black puddin'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Very nice place, Breakfast, Brill (Black Pudding) with full English. Filled me up until tea time.!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
46
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Simply put... we chose to stay at the Moraydale Guest House after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were definitely not disappointed! We stayed for a total of 4 nights. Wilma made it feel like our home away from home.

The rooms were tastefully decorated, comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious! Wilma always seemed to have information that we needed at her fingertips, whether it was directions, restaurant recommendations, local news or weather forecasts... The location was perfect and the Guest House is beautiful!

Thank you for the wonderful hospitality Wilma! We will be sure to come back and stay with you the next time we are visiting family in Elgin.

Hope we haven't missed anything!

Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Last minute B&B blitz in Elgin and fortunately we came across Morydale. The place was clean and inviting, breakfast was great with a larger selection than other B&B's. Can't wait to come back and this time around we're making reservations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Can wholeheartedly reccommend this Guest House as a great place to stay. Our room was spacious with a modern well-equipped en-suite bathroom. The breakfasts were generous with a varied menu and served with a smile and a very pleasant manner. It is also very conveniently situated in the centre of Elgin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Wilma was terrific. We were made so welcome and comfortable. The poached eggs and mushrooms were perfect! Pity I didnt get the job I was going for. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

I stayed here on a one-night business trip earlier this week, and can state with honesty that this is the best B&B/guest house that I've ever stayed in. The location is great - an easy 5 minute stroll along the main road to the town centre and only 10 mins walk (uphill) from the train station. One of the proprietor's first questions was 'will you be needing to use a computer' and when I answered yes she promptly swapped my room to one with better wifi reception - a triple room at no extra charge, which I thought was excellent service considering I had only booked a single at £40/night. The room itself was large and comfortable and scrupulously clean, with large windows, high ceilings, tasteful decor, LCD Freeview TV and an ensuite bathroom better than some 4* hotels I've stayed in. I didn't have time for breakfast the next morning but if the smell is anything to go by, it would have been delicious! I'll be travelling to Elgin a lot over the next few months and the Moraydale will be my first choice every time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We arrive next monday (Aug 4th) for our third stay with Wilma and look forward to it immensely. The Moraydale is beautiful - immaculate and so welcoming. There is nothing bad that we can say about it. We visit family in Elgin So will have no problem staying at the Moraydale - it is becoming a 'home from home'
Madeleine & Alfie Adams

  • Liked — the porridge !
  • Disliked — leaving !
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraydale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraydale Guest House

Address: 276 High Street, Elgin IV30 1AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Moraydale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraydale Guest House Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraydale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.