We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welcome to 9 Dryden Place, Edinburgh
Welcome to 9 Dryden Place, Edinburgh
Welcome to 9 Dryden Place, Edinburgh
A view of the outside of the property
The lounge
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Midlothian
|
Condo/Apartment – 
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
AnnetteF5...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation, light, spacious and perfect for a large group.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This is a beautiful townhouse on the outskirts of Edinburgh. It is an easy walk into the centre of Edinburgh.

The place is well equipped and very comfortable. The layout of the apartment makes it ideal for large groups and extended families staying together.

We had a fabulous week.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views and proximity to the city
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ShoenaF
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in gorgeous neighbourhoopd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I booked this apartment for our French family's first trip to Scotland. It suited their needs perfectly as it has a big dining kitchen, huge lounge and four good sized bedrooms, It is extremely well fitted out, in a lovely quiet neighbourhood yet convenient for the city centre. Absolutely great value for money compared to other hoolkiday lets I considered.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The space, decor, architecture, neighbourhood
Liked least: Parking is a bit of a pain - just like the rest of Edinburgh unless you're further out of town
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kengor
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GREAT FAMILY FLAT WITH EVERYTHING YOU MIGHT NEED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We spent a week at 9 Dryden Place with our extended family and friends. There were 7 of us and we fit ad styed comfortably in this two floor flat. It is lovingly cared for and decorated by its owners Sheila ad Ian and they live right downstairs prepared to handle any difficulties that arise. Actually, we had no difficulties, but it was a comfort knowing they were there. The neighborhood is peaceful and several of the rooms of the flat have wonderful views of Arthur's Seat and the Crags. There are good pubs, restaurants, bakeries and small groceries in walking distance and Sainsbury will deliver groceries for a nominal fee. We did not have a car and used our feet, taxis and bus service to make our way around Edinburgh. A walk to the Royal Mile is about 20 minutes, Taxi service arrives moments after calling and works great and the bus stop is a short two minute walk from the flat and bus service is easy to navigate and runs often. The flat has a large living room and large kitchen and there are four good size bedrooms and two full baths. During the week we were in Edinburgh we cooked and enjyed a full Thanksgiving meal with turkey and all the trimmings. Loved this place and would recommend it highly!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The size and the ameneties in the flat were great
Liked least: The wi-fi worked fine but dropped a few times
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kathleen...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Lovely clean apartment.
Excellent value for money.
Shelia and husband very welcoming, could not do enough.
Lovely area.
Will go again. Loved everything about it .Thanks Shelia

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: House, Edinburgh and welcome. Free parking for blue badge holders and carers free in most places so dont buy a 3 day pass.
Liked least: price of kilts
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Richard M
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming, comfortable, spacious, great location, great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I cannot recommend this property highly enough. The owners, Sheila and Ian, were very friendly and always helpful. We were a party of 7 spanning 3 generations, and even with that number and age range we never felt crowded or even close to it. The lounge is extremely spacious, with plenty of seating and a stunning view through the bay window. The kitchen is modern, well equipped and also has plenty of seating. Central Edinburgh is a 20 minute walk for those inclined, or there's a direct bus route with a stop just round the corner on the Dalkeith Road. If you don't feel like going into the centre to eat, it's only a 2 minute walk to the Salisbury Arms, which serves excellent gastro-pub style food. Or if you want to self cater, there's a Tesco express within half a mile. Parking was no problem, we could always find a space in the unrestricted zone just the other side of the Dalkeith Road.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The spacious lounge and kitchen.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jacqui S
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Big recommendation for this comfortable roomy house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We were three couples staying here for a week visiting the Edinburgh Festival. Really happy on arrival to find the house so big and nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and well equipped. We had stayed in Leith the previous year and found the locaton of Dryden much closer to the festival - Pleasance Courtyard particularly. Area was very quiet and the house has stunning views of Arthur's Seat. Sheila was friendly and extremely helpful - any problems were sorted same day. We will definitely be rebooking when we return to the festival in 2014

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Size of property and location
Liked least: Parking restrictions
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2012
It was great to meet you all and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
tom s
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“spacious, comfortable,peaceful accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at dryden place. Our party consisted of two adults and five children, but the apartment was spacious enough for everyone and of a very high standard. We found the owner very helpful but we were left to do our own thing, no intrusion. The location was excellent, minutes away from the city centre, plenty of buses.

All in all, we can say we had a great time and would happily recommend dryden place to anyone.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: quality and size of accommodation, tranquil location
Liked least: having to park away from house (minor inconvenience)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$155
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Sheila M
44 1316676561
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing