We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tontine Hotel to your Saves list
Tontine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Ardgowan Square,, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint & comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here several times on business & have always found the staff to be pleasant & helpful. The rooms are clean & have been recently refurbished. There is everything you would need for a stay. Nice big bathrooms. As its an old building there are some nice features. The only thing I would mark it down for is the squeaky beds. In every room I've stayed the bed has squeaked... A nice enough breakfast with a choice of cooked or continental. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
55
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Fantastic place to hold your wedding reception great food and very good staff nothing is a bother to them especially Mr tommy Hutchinson had a fantastic day.Everyone had a great nite My son and his new wife spent the nite there and said that it was first class why go out of town when we have a beautiful hotel in Greenock .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013


On arrival the hotel looked impressive, located near the marina for nice walks.
The hotel is decorated to a good standard and is kept reasonably clean. As the hotel is old there are a lot of squeaky floors, of which you can tell when people are walking past your room.
The rooms look to have been recently updated with stunning bathroom, however the forgot to update the bed... It even squeaked when you breath!!!
Food in the hotel was very disappointing with service in the restaurant to match, I was that disappointed with my evening meal that for breakfast the next morning I stuck with a box of Kellogg's.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in one of the executive rooms. The room was in the modern wing of the hotel and on the ground floor. First impressions were disappointing as the view from the window was of a large industrial skip! However, the room itself was recently refurbished, clean and well appointed. The large walk-in shower was perfect. We ate in the hotel on one night - the only people in the dining room - but the food was fine. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of options.
This hotel is a very popular function venue and on the weekend we stayed it was exceptionally busy with several functions taking place on the same day. Despite this the staff took time to welcome us and we never felt rushed.Each member of staff we encountered was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Some executive rooms overlook the garden. Larger, more expensive rooms available in the old part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on May 4th for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at the hotel.

This is a great location for a wedding and the staff are a credit to the hotel.

The room was small but adequate for a short stay. The room appeared to have been recently refurbished and this showed especially in the well presented bathroom. My only 2 critical points about the room would be the bed and the temperature of the room. The bed was so hard, it felt that we were sleeping on a divan with no mattress. The second negative point was the temperature of the room during the night, imagine trying to sleep on a rock in a sauna. There did appear to be a heating control unit on the wall but this was not functional.

The breakfast was excellent and served from 0800-1000. Hot items were served buffet style (eggs, mushroom, tomatoes, link & lorne sausage, bacon and black pudding). Cereal, bread, rolls and orange juice were also available on a self serve basis. The staff were friendly and offered tea or coffee and toast if required.

All in all this was a good stay. My only recommendation would be better mattresses and looking at the temperature of the rooms. We stayed in room 31 which is on the lower level.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were in the Tontine Hotel for a Silver wedding, the food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you.
One guest was in a wheelchair and everything needed was there for her to help her feel comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal at this hotel this week booked a table arrived met at door waiter directed to table lovely place warm and pleasant service was first class food reasonable price waiter and bar staff very. Attentive would recommend exellant place to eat will be back next week

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Address: 6 Ardgowan Square,, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tontine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.