We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Greenock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Greenock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Cartsburn, Greenock PA15 1AE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 8/09/2012 and had a very good experience. I turned up at the reception to check-in and the whole process was worked well, the lady behind the desk was helpful and made me aware of all the relevant times (breakfast and check-out), something which sometimes can go amiss in other hotels. Breakfast finished at 11am which was great as being out the night before meant it was a reasonably long lie.
The room was great, clean and comfortable. Felt very fresh and new, and a lot nicer colours than the old HIE bedrooms.
I had a slightly disrupted nights sleep due to the neighbours, however, staff were on hand to ask them to keep the noise down, to which the guests obliged.
Breakfast the next morning was good with plenty to eat.
Check out was quick, and the girl at reception was very chatty, even gave me some sympathy for my hangover.
Would easily recommend this hotel to a friend and would stay here again should I be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    51
    21
    9
See reviews for
48
74
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kirkcaldy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were at seamill the night before and decided to make a weekend of it.So we opped to go Greenock and stay at the holiday inn.I felt the receptionist was friendly and did tell us,what was available. The was clean,larger than the 1 we had at the seamill hydro,and was double the money.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

room looked a bit tired and not ad clean as the tontine, breakfast was ok. limited range of chanels available on the tv and very expensive wifi, stay here if you want a smoking room otherwise i would choose the tontine

Room Tip: smoking rooms are ion the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Kironp,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

stayed here for a night while we were at a wedding a few years back , rooms were very clean , tea tray well stocked , plenty to eat at breakfast time , tv , internet also available in lounge , would stay here again but for longer .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great service, satisfactory room, decent breakfast, very clean. Good 2 night stay 20/21 August 2012. Well located to explore the beautiful countryside and a good value for money package.I strongly recommend this for couples/families needing a base for exploring the west coast of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

i stayed hear in may with a group of friends it was brilliant, staff could'nt be nicer would advise anyone to 2 stay here not only is it value for money but its in a brilliant location and food is fantastic

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel to attend a family wedding in the area. We had booked and paid for 3 rooms. My sister in law and nephew arrived first and were booked into their room. When we arrived we were promptly advised that the rooms had been booked in a similar but different name, and that the keys for the other two rooms had been given to my sister in law. We had to ask the room numbers and which room my sister in law was in so we could get our keys although it made no sense to us that she would even have our keys. Well, we got in to the lift, went to her allocated room only to discover she only had keys for her room.....treck back to reception to try to explain to the reception staff that we had not been allocated any keys. Eventually we were issued with one key card for each room although there were two people sleeping in each room. We found the rooms to be very basic, our had damp marks on the wall paper and the shower room smelled of dampness. The rooms were very warm with no air conditioning and windows that could only open slightly. We slept fine, no real issues there. Shower worked perfectly. Breakfast was a joke....sausages, scrambled egg and beans were available although not all ready at one time. Toaster was so slow it was a waste of time waiting for the bread to brown as it took two rounds to get a bit of colour. Staff were not helpful, tables lay littered with previous parties remains. All and all we won't be returning to this hotel. Not the standard we expected at all.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good Day

I am sorry to see that the hotel did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. We strive to ensure that we deliver a great guest experience and that we use the feedback from guest as a learning tool as we strive to ensure customer satisfaction.
Thank you for giving us your feedback and for taking the time to do so, We will learn for your feedback and ensure that all aspects of your feedback are addressed and improved. As we strive to achieve a continued cycle of improvements that guest feedback allows us to achieve

Regards and Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenock

Address: Main Street, Cartsburn, Greenock PA15 1AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenock 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel in the heart of Greenock. this home from home hotel offers a friendly warm welcome to all guests for all visists. Breakfast and Parking included in the rate, Breakfast now includeS hot items all included in the very competitive rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenock Hotel Greenock
Holiday Inn Greenock
Greenock Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Greenock Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Greenock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.