We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Braeval Hotel to your Saves list
Braeval Hotel
Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I thought this Hotel was excellent value for money.
The staff were very helpful and always asked if there was anything else they could do for me.
The breakfast on the Sunday morning was excellent quality and far too much to eat - of course you do not have to eat it but when it is so good it is difficult to leave it!

I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments. Offering good value for money is important to us. We want our visitors to be pleasantly surprised and have their expectations of a 3 star hotel exceeded. We were assessed by Visit Scotland this month and they rated us at 4 star for restaurant, lounge bar and customer service. Our overall rating is 3 star because our bedrooms are on the small side and don't have baths.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    72
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
23
80
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Loved this hotel. Arrived on a Sunday in time for the carvery lunch, (precooked and kept warm under lights) and live music in the bar area. We also had dinner that night in the Bandstand restaurant which has wonderful views looking out over the Moray Firth. Our room was on the 1st floor with a fabulous view out over the North Sea. We had two marvellous days of sunshine, couldn't have had better weather and easy walking distance into the town. Comfortable rooms with WiFi which worked (very good!). Our only issue was the dinner served in the bar area on Monday night which differed somewhat from the previous night's dinner in the dining room. On the Sunday night my husband had the Steak and Real Ale Pie baked in the oven, which looked and tasted wonderful. Because of this, I ordered the same dish the next night and was terribly disappointed. The meat was served on a flat plate with a separate piece of baked pastry on top. This pastry tasted really rancid as if it had been stored in a plastic container for some time. I understand that there is a cook's night off, but please make sure that pastry is not baked earlier and then saved for when it's needed ...(oooh here's one I baked earlier). For long distance travelers: launderette in Nairn does a service wash.

Room Tip: Front of the Hotel have views over Moray Firth, although there is a kitchen extraction fan which ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed most of your visit, but I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy the bar steak pie. It seems that you believed you had ordered the same pie dish that your husband had from the restaurant menu the previous night. However, the restaurant is closed Mon/Tues during the winter months and so the bar menu is served instead of the restaurant menu. The bar steak pie is made with puff pastry and is offered as a lower cost option than the individually, hand-made short crust pastry pie served in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Trying to find some positives about our stay at this hotel, so let's deal with the negatives 1st. Worst bed we slept in during our 19 day road trip. Tiniest ensuite we had the mispleasure of attempting to use, not acceptable when a barely 6ft tall person can't sit on the loo without banging knees on the wall and head for that matter. Room was tired and in need of an overhaul.
Okay now some positives, room was a good size, shower whilst small had a decent supply of hot water, staff were fantastic during checking in, bar, restaurant ( see Bandstand review) and breakfast/ check out plus wifi was appreciated and very reliable.
For those considering staying, Braeval isn't 5 star, you aren't paying 5 star prices, probably would have rated higher if the bed had been decent. No regrets but won't stay again but would certainly eat at the Restaurant and have a drink in the Bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad your experience of the restaurant, breakfast and staff was good. The en suite in this room is small (although adequate for a 3 star pub-hotel). However, our aim is always to improve our product, so we had already scheduled alterations to make this large sea view bedroom slightly smaller and the en suite larger. This will be completed in December as we work through our end of season re-decoration of all our rooms. I have had no other negative feedback about the comfort of this bed, but will check it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt welcome, the whole team were friendly and nothing was too much for them. Having my elderly father with us meant there were a few requests for variations of food, this was totally fine with them, the food was delicious. The rooms were clean and warm.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The floors were creaky and uneven. It was a small room with a great view of the ocean and beach. Staff was friendly. Good water pressure, desk and chair. Quiet when we were here. Had a room on the second floor.
Good location to the center of town.

Good walk on one of the only beaches we saw that you could actually walk on. Can do laundry down in the RV park/caravan park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Two night stay in the top two rooms of this small hotel. The staff was excellent, very helpful and accommodating. One room had a beautiful ocean view. Breakfast was good, plenty of continental options or a hot breakfast was offered. The restaurant did reasonably well for dinner, nothing stunning but the menu had a few creative options and dessert selections were interesting. They were very willing to provide food to be taken up to the rooms. Each of our rooms had a sink with a shared toilet/standing shower. This worked fine for a family but may be less ideal if traveling alone. Other guests complained of noise, but we were insulated from that in our rooms. Parking is limited, although we never had a problem finding a spot. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Having both top rooms for our family worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I'm so pleased you had a good visit. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very good small hotel stayed in single room for 2 nights good bed and clean room
Food is very nice and at a good price ,staff friendly and good at the job. And good location looking over the water would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post these lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nairn
#1 Business Hotel in Nairn
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeval Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.