We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Nairn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Braeval Hotel to your Saves list
Braeval Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One night in Nairn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was booked in at the Braeval by my company as I had work in Nairn and did not wish to stay in Inverness. I was welcomed and shown to the 2nd floor family suite (2 bedrooms & a shower room with WC) - it was explained to me that there were keys to the whole area and room 9 was unoccupied so I had the suite to myself - there was a decent selection of tea/coffee/hot chocolate and shower gel/shampoo.
I had had quite a long day and I fell asleep and missed meal times - however next morning I was welcomed for breakfast which provided all of the usual options of fruit juice and cereals, then full Scottish breakfast etc.
I was more than happy with the Braeval - thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a pity you didn't get a chance to dine in our restaurant, but hopefully you will next time. I'm particularly grateful for your comments about the Family Suite. I hope this helps put into perspective the negative feedback in the review entitled "not happy" from November 2012. So, thank you very much for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    91
    24
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
99
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

After a cold 30 mile bike ride, the Bandstand Restuarant was a perfect venue for a Sunday roast accompanied by excellent "Rogue Wave" IPA from Cromarty brewery.
Great food, good service, superb value.
This place deserves its many awards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I'm thrilled to hear that our restaurant is worth a 30 mile bike ride in the winter! If you feel like exerting yourself again - watch out for our New Sunday Carvery which will be starting soon. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed earlier this year, felt like we had the place to ourselves, it was lovely! The staff are incredibly helpful, the hotel comfortable and the area is outstanding. But it was the incredible food that really set it apart! Probably the best hotel breakfast Iv had.
Cant wait to get back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for giving your feedback. It means a lot to us and to our staff. I hope you get the chance to return to the Braeval again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked the hotel a month in advance. When we arrived we were shown to a room on the top floor in the loft, past bits of bed furniture in the corridor. the room was freezing, tiny and had a shared bathroom. I asked if we could have an early breakfast as we had an early flight the next morning and was told I could have a continental breakfast on left on a tray outside your room. No thanks! They say in the advert that you can request an early breakfast but they don't say you will get one.
I then asked wether or not I had to book for dinner. The restaurant was closed for refurbishment but I could eat in the bar area if a table was available. I didn't fancy that either.
Parking is a bit risky as the road is very narrow so I had parked five minutes walk away.
We asked for our money back as I would rather sleep in the car if necessary.
The manager couldn't be bothered to speak to us but authorised the re imbursment in cash even though I had just paid five minutes earlier with a credit card. What I thought was funny was the explaination that we recieved when we said the room we was given was not ensuite, they said it was as there was no occupants in the next room. tell that to the staff when the door slams and your shut out of your room in the middle of the night.
Booked into the Westerlea Hotel just up the road , bliss.

Room Tip: another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
I cannot understand what generated this grossly unfair review which contains many inaccuracies, but I will attempt to provide as balanced and fair a response as possible.
On arrival, the guests were shown to the Family Suite located on the second floor (not in an "attic"). The Family Suite comprises a twin room, a single room and a shower room all located together behind a private lockable door. The guests were informed that they had been allocated the sole use of the entire family suite (which obviously included sole use of the bathroom). The guest's keyring contained a full set of keys - a key to the outer door of the suite, a key for each bedroom door within the suite plus a key to the outer hotel door. Bedroom doors do not lock automatically behind you, they have to be locked with a key so it would be impossible to be "locked out in the middle of the night" as claimed. The guests arrived prior to check in so the central heating was not yet on, but an electric fan heater was in the room which they could have used if desired. The "bits of bed furniture" in the corridor was a brand new headboard which had been delivered that day and was awaiting fitting to the bed in the adjacent bedroom. As stated on our details, breakfast is served 8am to 9.30am but we often provide cooked breakfast from 7.30 am on request. We offer a continental breakfast delivered to the room or a packed lunch to take away if guests want breakfast earlier than that - a perfectly acceptable alternative common to most hotels. As our restaurant was being renovated, restaurant meals were available in our extremely popular and comfortable, award-winning "Highland Pub of the Year" Lounge Bar. (As the guests had not booked on a dinner, B&B basis, we had no obligation to provide dinner in the restaurant anyway). We clearly state that we do not have private parking. On street parking is free and is considered satisfactory by all the residents in the street and normally by our other hotel guests. Finally, when the guests complained to staff that they did not like their room, the staff politely offered to refund the payment and cancel the booking with no cancellation charge. As staff do not have access to the refund facility on the credit card, they telephoned me at home to ask for permission to offer cash instead. I was off duty so not available to see these guests. To state that the "manager couldn't be bothered to speak to us" is offensive and untrue. This review is disproportionately negative. All that happened here is that the guests arrived, did not like the room offered and were given a full refund without question. They did not actually stay with us and so did not get the opportunity to experience and enjoy the Braeval as other guests have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently as we were attending a wedding in the area. The staff were very friendly on check-in and we were shown to our room - which doesn't seem to happen much these days. The room was quite small and the bathroom was tiny but clean on arrival. The breakfast was okay - although I only opted for the cooked breakfast on the first day as I didn't feel the ingredients were of that good quality. However, the choice was sufficient and again the staff were incredibly friendly. My only other complaint would be that our room wasn't cleaned very well the next day.

However, the location was very good - near the water and the town centre and the bar was very impressive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I'm glad our staff looked after you in a friendly manner while I was on annual leave. I'm sorry to read your comments about the cleaning and have given this feedback to staff. I was surprised at your comments about breakfast, however. I have always been confident about the quality of our breakfast products and regularly receive excellent feedback about it. We use beef link sausages from our local butcher, Stornoway black pudding, local bacon and free range local eggs, so it's disappointing if something wasn't to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the room above the bar/restaurant with sea views - there was a little noise but nothing excessive. The rooms are spacious, clean and well resourced. The main attractions are the views (amazing!), the bar (which has a brilliant selection of whisky), the food (nice, huge portions) and the really friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here recently and really enjoyed the food.We dined in the hotel in the evenings although we had previously planned on going out. The staff were friendly and helpful.
It was just a short walk over to the beautiful beach which makes it easy to go for a walk at any time.

Room Tip: A sea view is good.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your food while staying with us. Our restaurant, The Bandstand, is open to non-residents and is growing in popularity as an independant restaurant. (I'm grateful to any hotel guests for feedback posted on our other Trip Adviser restaurant site "The Bandstand Restaurant" - much appreciated and helps other "non-residents" hear about the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
1.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeval Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.