We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Braeval Hotel to your Saves list
Braeval Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wigan
1 review
“Nice Place to Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stopped here for four nights and had a really nice time. The staff were friendly and the food (and real ales) was of an exceptional quality. Our bedroom was long and narrow which meant that one of us had to sqeeze along a wall to get into bed but other than that the room was fine.
The view towards the sea was stunning and the 'prom' was close enough to enjoy an evening stroll.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    80
    22
    11
    1
See reviews for
25
86
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Wa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The location was great on the beach and we got a room with a view which was nice. The bartender checked us in and didn't mention that you have to turn on the hot water for the shower so I washed my hair in the cold. I could have called down to check what I was doing wrong but I was annoyed and it didn't cross my mind until after I froze to death. Everything is pretty dated but that's what you get for the price. The service in the restaurant that night and in the morning was excelant as was the food. If you don't expect much and want a good price this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stoped over for 2 nights and found the Hotel very nice.
The Bedroom was very clean and had a great view of the beach.
Morag and her staff were 5*****Nothing was to much truble.
The food was amazzzzing and the biggest onion rings i have ever seen and the young girl with the long Dark Hair (Jane i think) was a fab waitress.

The town was small but found what we were looking for (Dumpling Scotch Sausage and Black Pud to take home)

Thanks Again for a fab stay.

Kind Regards

Mr & Mrs Dobbs Colchester Essex England

We will be back 1 day for a longer visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbeek
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at the Braeval for 1 night on our way from Newcastle to Durness.
The room had sea view, which was an extra because we had booked the cheapest room (without sea view). The room was small but comfortable.
Dinner in de restaurant was very nice, breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly.
Just one minor aspect: it's sometimes difficult to park your car due to the very limited amount of parking space available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I would like to get down to business and say how it was, the room I stayed in was clean but was is in need of an uplift to carpet, decor including paintwork inside and out. It was querky in that the floor had a slight slope and the bed followed suit. I had a wash hand basin in the bedroom with a separate shower in another room, shaving and showering in two separate rooms is manageable though. The hotel is very popular and has a good following with locals and tourists, the food is not al-a-carte but is still good value. The bar is very busy and there is always a good buzz, by the way they have won best bar for the last three years so it has a lot to live up to.......itself, there is also a great selection of whiskies. There is an outside space covered and uncovered and families are made very welcome. There is live entertainment at weekends (maybe even at other times) which I imagine would be great. Parking is a bit tricky as it is street parking. The hotel is family run and the owners and staff are very friendly. Location is great and if your into whisky, golf and photography your in for a treat. I wish the room had been better and maybe they will work on this side of the business other than that I would stay again, They certainly have outshone the larger chains where I have stayed. If your on business breakfast is served a little later than you may wish but they may accommodate your requirements, I was happy to be later than usual.

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Checked in on Wednesday 10th August at 1.30pm - which was early and very much appreciated as the weather was awful and we were rather wet and wanted to have a wash and change.

Booked bed & breakfast at a rate of £85 per room so not an outrageous price. We were shown to our room which was old, tired and a bit run down. We had paid extra for a sea view, superior double room. The sea view was blocked by a travelling fair ground (which I guess not really the hotels fault but this could have been pointed out to us at time of booking), and the room was certainly not superior!!

We were advised that if we wanted to eat dinner in the hotel that evening to book a table as the restaurant gets very busy. We looked at the menu and the restaurant and decided to give the invitation a miss!

Breakfast the next day was the usual full Scottish and the usual 'help yourself' to cereal, fruit juice etc. I was totally shocked to see a bowl of tinned Del Monte fruit salad on the table looking like it hadn't been freshly opened that morning!!! Is fresh fruit too much to ask for??

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygoluckyNairn, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
I am sorry this couple were disappointed in their room. Others have described this room favourably (see previous review) and the room was re-decorated this season. The fairground is on site for 2 weeks of the year prior to the Nairn Highland Games which is held on the park outside our hotel. I had not thought to put this information in our web page as no-one has ever commented negatively about the fairground. Although it can be seen from the room, it does not obscure the sea view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in May while visiting friends and family in Nairn.
For a small 3 star hotel the Braeval is great value for money. It's clean, our room was modern and we'll equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board and hairdryer. We also had a good view over the Moray Firth as we opted for a sea view room.
The breakfast served in the Bandstand restaurant was very good as was the service.
The adjoining hotel bar is lively and popular with locals. If you fancy a quieter drink the hotel has a very nice residents Lounge you can chill in with a glass of wine.
We ate out both nights so can't comment on the evening meals. Once again we enjoyed a truly amazing meal at the Golf View Hotel which is a 5-10 minute walk away. We also had a really good meal in the Indian Restaurant on the High Street.
We'd stay here again without hesitation for those visits to Nairn when our often busy social calendar means our finances are too stretched to warrant a stay at the Golf View!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeval Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.