We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Newton, Nairn, Scotland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre to your Saves list
Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Newton, Nairn, Scotland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at the Newton in Nairn, Scotland during our CIE Scottish Tour. This was an old Castle like hotel with beautiful grounds and period rooms. Antique furnishings, excellent bed and a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere. Deer and other wildlife abound. Great pub and Scottish breakfast. Terrific staff. Quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Speaking with other travelers on our tour, all rooms were more than satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments from your recent stay with us at The Newton hotel.
Glad that you found the whole experience enjoyable and everything was to your liking.
Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland.

Regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    160
    57
    33
    19
See reviews for
78
240
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel was well presented, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was nice, the televisions are very dated and is the only reason I have not scored 5. Food was good. Overall a excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Craig,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Newton hotel and your rating as 'overall a excellent hotel'
As previously noted, we are conscious of the old televisions and it is something we will hopefully address in the future.

Regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very dissaponiting afternoon tea. Had seen advert in local free mag. Lounge area where we were shown to in need of an upgrade, chairs and tables tired looking. Aft tea arrived very promptly but was immediately wishing i had gone eslewhere when it arrived on table. Sandwiches were ham and mustard, roast beef and mustard and cheese!! Also on cheap bread. Scones were hard and traybakes appeared bought in. I complained to waitress, who intimated this was standard and what would come out of kitchen again should it be returned and so we left! Poor effort Newton.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
As this is the same comment sent to myself by e-mail, I refer you to my reply in response to your e-mail.

Regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel was a castle/mansion rebuilt in 1650 and 1950 when an addition was added to convert it into a hotel. We stayed in the old part in a beautiful room with a big bathroom. We wandered the halls in the evening and explored the open rooms which are now used for a variety of purposes--meeting rooms, a bar, etc. The castle is supposedly haunted which lends to the charm of the place. If the tall grass isn't too wet (it rains a lot in Scotland), you can walk out to see the 3 Highland cows: Haggis, Leaks, and Tatties. Also, read up on these national dishes, so you'll be familiar with them when you see them on the breakfast buffets every morning wherever you go! We had a great meal of haggis in the restaurant and met some of the friendliest staff ever. They made staying at Newton a lot of fun by making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old section of the hotel are all different since they were converted into bedroom/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sandy,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Newton Hotel.
Glad you enjoyed your haggis and you were made to feel welcome during your time with us.
Sadly one of our Highland cattle passed away recently, through old age, but the other two are still enjoying their time wandering around the field.

Regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crieff, perthshire, scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just got back home08/05 after a business trip in Caithness. UnFortunately all hotels in Inverness were fully booked and the budget ones were charging £120-130 a night, which led me to drive to Nairn and try at the Newton hotel. Thankfully they had a room and the the lovely blonde girl gave me a good deal with breakfast.(sorry didn't get her name)
The room was clean and comfortable with a huge bed (mattress was a bit too soft for me)and large en-suite with bath and separate shower (shower was the best I've been in for a while) One bug bare was the old fashioned tv and very grainy pictures.
I would recommend this to anyone who is wanting a lovely place to stay set in great surroundings. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Glad we were able to accommodate you on your recent business trip in the local area and give you a good deal.
The comment regarding the televisions is one we are aware off and hope to have resolved in the future.
Pleased to note you found the room clean and comfortable and enjoyed the shower.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next business trip in the area.

Regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here on GROUPON deal. Excellent value. The room was large and clean.
The cuisine was of a very high standard. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive.
The downside was the rather haphazard service in the dining room.
Would return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments.
Your positive comments are appreciated and and your point regarding the service is noted and will be looked at to have a good consistent level for the future.
I do hope you are able to return soon.

Kind regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inveraray
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights beginning 21st April.Couldn't have bettered in any way.Very efficient and caring staff who went out of their way to welcome and look after us.Room very clean and sizeable with very large bathroom containing bath and wonderfully strong shower.Food was excellent,vast choice for breakfast and really enjoyed porridge which was made to order to your preference.Evening meal very well prepared and presented and service spot on.Beautiful grounds and lovely walk to beach across golf course.Wouldn,t hesitate to recommend this stunning to anyone.

Room Tip: stayed in room 122
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Gillian,
Many thanks for your very positive comments regarding your stay at The Newton Hotel.They are very much appreciated.
It was pleasing to note your comments, especially as you had stayed for four nights and would have had many aspects to consider.
I will pass your comments regarding the breakfast and dinner to Martin the Head Chef and his team with my thanks.
Once again many thanks for your comments and I hope it is not to long before you return to the Newton Hotel.

Kind regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.9 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Hotel And Highland Conference Centre Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.