We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park to your Saves list
Nairn East Beach, Nairn IV12 5DE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“really good site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had paid extra to upgrade our caravan but when we arrived we were told none were available so we got upgraded to the Lewis caravan which i have to say is fantastic, main bedroom en suite with another bathroom for the two twin rooms. The swimming pool although on the small side was big enough to cater for the volume of people using it so i don't see why people are complaining that much about it. The entertainment for kids was also very good but on the loud side so my three old didn't want to stay for too long which was a shame as he enjoyed the entertainment.

Our caravan backed onto the beach with a path right onto it which was great as my son enjoyed going on the beach.

overall had a great holiday and would consider going back again next year

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
54
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom caravans ( I cannot remember its name ) which has 2 twin rooms and a shower room / toilet at one end and a double room with en-suite at the opposite end, separated by a lounge / kitchen area. The accommodation was excellent, very clean and fresh and had everything you could think of that you might need in terms of utensils you might use in the house. We walked over a sand dune and were on some of the softest sand and nicest beaches I have seen, which was excellent for early morning walks with a young toddler. The facilities are brilliant also with a very reasonably priced shop on site. The staff we encountered from groundsmen to serving staff were all extremely pleasant and the guys who do the entertainment for the kids deserve special praise. The only criticism I would have about the evening entertainment is that we found it a bit strange having a disco for kids @ 6.30, then Bingo for half an hour then back to the kids games - expecting a room full of hyped up children waiting for their fun to start again to remain quiet for the period of the Bingo game???? Surely it would be better to have the Bingo then an hour of kids fun? Anyway it doesn't take away from the fact, my fiance and I agreed on the 1st night we were so impressed we would go back again. Finally the pool, we did find was ridiculously cold - to the point that our 18 month old son burled his legs up and refused to go into the water when his feet touched it. I don't know if this is an ongoing issue or we were just unfortunate but all in all, highly recommended vacation choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Have to say I first stayed here privately this year and loved the effort the staff made with the kids the area is beautiful and the beach is fab nothing wrong I can say. We then decided to come back through the sun holidays and was wondering if the van would be up to spec I was soo impressed we got a brand new van with remote fire new heating system good telly and iPod Dock and radio. Having visited craig tara where u need to take everything I did the same and took all my usuals to find they supply hair dryer iron etc felt so comfortable and was worth every penny. The restaurant has been refurbed as well staff are friendly and helpful and food is good. We loved it so much were back in September perfect for family we have a 3 yr old she loved playing outside the van having a family BBQ aswell as time on the beach and park and the pool but her most favourite was Sid and Lizzie disco (mine was bingo) although we love Sid and Lizzie to

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our first caravan holiday park experience and i can't recommend it enough. We made use of the facilities (swimming pool, crazy golf, playground, restaurant) and also used it as a base to visit Inverness and Loch Ness. The park is kept very tidy and clean and the staff and visitors were all very friendly. We booked through the Sun so wasn't quite sure what to expect but have no regrets whatsoever. The caravan was a good size and we had booked for 2 adults and 2 children and received a 3 bedroom caravan. We will be visiting Lochloy again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I went here at the weekend with my son. The location is fantastic, right on the beach and one of the safest paces I have stayed. The staff were fantastic and they drove up and checked all was ok. I was upgraded to a fantastic caravan which was clean and lovely throughout (I booked through the sun). Totally recommend this place and have stayed at others before and we loved it here. The other holiday makers were nice (no pikeys!!). The pool is small and compared to some caravan parks there was not loads of facilities but this was nice, the entertainment was good. Would definately go back. Thank you Parkdean Lochloy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, Cheshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We used the caravan park as a base to explore the local area and was able to cover from Spey Bay/Elgin area to Loch Ness and areas in between quite comfortably. Also Nairn itself is well worth exploring and the site provide local walking leaflets in their welcome folder which is very helpful. We did several of the suggested local walks, along Culbin Sands ( an RSPB site) adjacent to the caravan park, the East Beach which is lovely and clean and would be wonderful for children. Also there is a lovely walk up the Nairn River itself with paths on either side. We were very inpressed by all the helpful local information boards en route explaining local features.
The caravan we had was really good and looked as if it had been recently refurbished. There was more storage space than we as an older couple could have needed, but it would be excellent for a family. There was a very large cooker and fridge freezer, and the caravan had high quality pans, crockery and cooking utensils, impessively so for a caravan. Amazingly everthing worked perfectly. The cleanliness of the caravan was excellent too. The only negative we had was that the caravan ( No 19) that we had was parked very close to other caravans and directly opposite end to end another caravan just over the roadway. Most of the other caravans had net curtains, but ours did not and at times we felt we were eating in a goldfish bowl, but this is the only negative we could find, so it did not spoil the holiday for us.
Highlight of the local area for us was a visit to Channory Point where we saw the Dolphins which was amazing. The best time to catch them is 1-1.5 hours before high tide. The Whale and Dolphin Centre at Spey Bay is well worth a visit too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Fantastic site for families seeking a more chilled holiday. The site is quite small (maybe 300 vans?) so very quiet compared to some other places we've stayed. The big beautiful beach is accessible over dunes, people with pushchairs/wheelchairs will find the access easier near entrance of the park, near the harbour. We didn't use the pool so cannot comment, but the playground was great. We stayed in van 236 which was nearly new, well equipped and very clean.
The camp is next to a site of special scientific interest for bird life.
Nairn itself is a lovely small town, good selection of shops and a large CoOp.
We did have one negative, we had one meal in the on site restaurant, which wasn't great, and my meal arrived a good 15 minutes after my husbands. We were given the meal for free as an apology. Apart from this small negative, we had a fantastic time at this lovely site.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

Address: Nairn East Beach, Nairn IV12 5DE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nairn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's Beach O'Clock...Any time is beach time for our holiday guests at Nairn Lochloy, where you can step straight off the park, bare-footed, and onto golden sands. You'll find us nestled between the dunes, a pretty marina and a championship golf course (one of two!). So you might want to bring your clubs, along with your beach balls, buckets and spades. And don't forget your hiking boots - the glorious Highlands are waiting to be explored!* Step straight onto the Nairn East Beach * See the resident Moray Firth Dolphins * Invigorating walks along the Dava Way * Just 15 miles from the City of Inverness * Entertainment and Swimming Pool on park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.