We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Invernairne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Invernairne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Invernairne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Nairn
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really good service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A guest house and not full hotel, the bedrooms are a bit dated with the really old style en-suites but the keys here are the beds, the food and the service. the beds are new, firm and give a great nights sleep, the breakfast was fresh and hot, really good, and the service is friendly and helpful from the minute you arrive. cant fault it for a £75 double. Much better value than the golf view that's for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
64
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 2 nights here last month and from start to finish it was an excellent stay. On arrival we were greeting by the very friendly host, who showed us our room and also gave us a printed sheet stating local restaurants and pubs, very useful. Breakfast was excellent and the view from the dinning room was beautiful. All in all the Invernairn is a comfortable guest house, with large rooms, in an ideal position.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful setting! Our room was absolutely lovely and the view breathtaking. We loved being able to walk from our hotel to the sea walk. Our hosts were terrific and we had a fabulous breakfast. One of our favorite B & Bs in all of Scotland!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Invernairne. It's very quiet and peaceful – I kept my bedroom window open all night and was lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea. Breakfast is lovely, the staff are pleasant, the room was cosy, and it's perfect for a wander along the beach. I will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Invernairne is no longer a hotel but a guest house however there are lots of places to enjoy an evening meal nearby and a list is provided when you book in.

The Invernairne has a Wow factor being a unique building in a good situation . You can walk to the beach through the garden. This year I saw the dolphins from my room window that was a great plus. It is a quiet and peaceful place to stay.

We stayed in the Firthside ground floor room which has fantatic views of the Moray Firth and is a large spacious room with a four poster bed.

Breakfast is mainly buffet style with a good fruit, cerial, and cooked selection which gives the owners Kay and Doug time to give guests any attention required and they are always happy to suggest places to visit if asked.

Another great stay at this lovely guest house. We have stayed many times and have taken family and friends all of which agreed the Invarnairne is special.

Room Tip: Many rooms have sea view just ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely, cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wishing to stay for couple of nights by the sea before heading inland for our annual week in the Cairngorms we chose the Invernairne based on the good reviews from previous guests. In fact it lived up to and even exceeded our expectations starting with the warm welcome, through the stunning views of the Moray Firth and the excellent breakfasts. This is indeed a guest house with the style and feel of a three star hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As there is no lift and the stairs might prove difficult for the less able ask for a ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for three nights over the weekend of the Highland Games in Nairn. The hotel was well placed to walk into the town and to the seafront, as well as to the golf course. The very pretty hotel gardens lead directly onto the beach. Our room was comfortable, very clean and quiet. The room was a little on the small side (we stayed in Viewfield), but we were not there other than to sleep and shower! The breakfast room was beautiful, with views onto the gardens and the ocean. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. All in all we would recommend this guest house to others.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms which would be good for people with walking difficulties as there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Invernairne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invernairne Hotel

Also Known As:
Invernairne Hotel Nairn
Invernairne Hotel Nairn, Scotland
Address: Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Invernairne Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Invernairne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Invernairne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.