We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clubhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Clubhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clubhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Nairn
Stockton on Tees
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked to stay here in April of this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting relatives. Having stayed in the Premier Inn at Elgin for few visits, we decided to book somewhere different, and boy is it better :-)

Gorgeous old Victorian house with lots of original features including staircase and fires, but having a very modern twist in the decor and soft furnishings. It's light, bright and colourful without being "in your face"

Our bedroom wasn't huge, but big enough to accommodate me and my husband for a couple of nights. Spotlessly clean including the en suit, which was HUGE. Plenty of wardrobe space with ample drawers, full size ironing board and iron, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and a wall mounted, flat screen TV.

Our daughters shared a room. Again spotlessly clean, same facilities as our room, the difference being, they had a double bed each. As it was a twin room we asked for, both girls found this a bonus :-)

Breakfast was amazing. A good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, pastries then a cooked breakfast as well. Toast was served whilst waiting for the cooked breakfast, which was served hot, on a hot plate, another big plus. Waitress was extremely pleasant and helpful. If I was to recommend something to the management, it would be to have granulated sugar on the tables, rather than sugar cubes. We had to ask the waitress, both mornings, for sugar to put on our cereal.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but we did see meals being served and they looked lovely. We did however, partake in the bar, it would have been rude not too ;-). Bar prices were reasonably priced. Cocktails were about £5 a glass.....fully recommend trying one or two whilst you're there. Again, bar staff were friendly as so were the reception.

In all, would stay there again, in fact we plan to in September if there are rooms available. Well worth the run out to Nairn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    33
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
73
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

not wheelchair friendly but other than that, great place, very modern decore, food/service very good. bed too hard for my liking but thats me. I like soft beds
ipod docking station/flat screen tv in the rooms

Room Tip: rooms 12/14 are in back away from road with plenty of parking, 12 is setup for disabled,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights at The Clubhouse in Nairn. Situation is ok if you have a car, parking was adequate. We has a meal in the bar on the first night, this was good. The staff were all very friendly. Our room was number 12 this had disabled facility. I am disabled but do not use a wheel chair I found it to be very good. The breakfast was also good. Cereal, juices, fresh fruit salad, plenty of toast and a very good selection of cooked items.Would recommend it and would stay again if in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Decor was great - groovy and funky :). Room was nice and spacious. Large TV was on a swivel arm so was easily visible around the room. Bed was comfortable. Food was nice, and creatively served (fish and chips on a slate - I love that sort of thing, shows an eye for presentation). Staff were pleasant and helpful. Wi-fi was steady and fast - so important these days. 10 minute walk into the centre of Nairn. Needed a couple of bulbs replacing and when I mentioned it they got straight to it (couldn't actually fix them as they needed to order parts, but no hassle). Safe in the wardrobe is a little fiddly as there is a setting behind the door. I shut it to see how it worked and it locked! My fault for not reading the instructions, but most are set from the outside these days. I liked the fact that they had a proper key for the room, which you opened and locked the door with. Big fob to stop you taking the key away by accident, but not lumpy enough to stop you taking it out with you. Very happy with my stay and next time I have business in the area I will endeavour to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Clubhouse is somewhere we go regularly but decided to leave a review this time as we had such an amazing meal, it would be rude not to share! Much to my delight the menu had been changed and i found myself swithering over my dishes of choice. In the end going with the wood pigeon starter and pork wellington for main. The food was FABULOUS! portion sizes were perfect and the flavours great! Staff were on the ball and very attentive. Thumbs up all round!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very bright and clean hotel, with large rooms. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The food was lovely and the Cocktails highly recommended...Would definitely stay here again :-)...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. Nothing to much trouble for the friendly staff. Large comfortable room and bathroom. Hotel throughout is spotless, could eat of the floors! Breakfast each morning was fresh, non greasey and very moreish. Had evening meal in bar, not a large menu but could not fault what was chosen by husband and myself. Also great cocktail menu of which I tried a few! Would recommend to family and friends. Thank you to all staff, will hurry back for another weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clubhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clubhouse Hotel

Address: 45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clubhouse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clubhouse Nairn is a newly refurbished Boutique Hotel catering to golfers, tourists and business people. Located in the west end of Nairn and only a 7 iron from the Nairn Golf club and another 30 links courses within an hours drive from the hotel. This year sees the Scottish Open come to Nairn at the prestigious Castle Stuart Course just outside of Nairn in July. We offer an excellent bar and dining experience prepared by our Head Chef Carl Bontoft along with a variety of Cocktails and Wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Clubhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Nairn
The Clubhouse Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clubhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.