We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary boutique style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clubhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Clubhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Clubhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Contemporary boutique style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Totally unexpected in Nairn - lovely modern, stylishly decorated, comfortable hotel. We had a beautiful room on the top floor, very spacious and elegant. Loved the décor. Supremely comfortable super king size bed - and I am demanding! We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant which is also popular with non- residents, which is always a good sign. All staff very friendly and keen to make sure you are happy. We booked though a discount rooms site, so had a very good deal, not sure I would have paid the full peak price, seems expensive for this part of Scotland. We love the Moray Firth area and will definitely aim to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete R, General Manager at The Clubhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Clubhouse Nairn and took time out to write a review. I appreciate feedback, even if derogatory, providing they are constructive. I note your comment on price but, please ring us direct for a price when booking your next break to the Highlands. Prices are numbers that can be changed, depending on availability and demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    50
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
114
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Clubhouse over the 2nd and 3rd of August as part of our "Tour of the North" trip to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. The hotel was bright and welcoming with plenty of parking space.
Our room no 6, was on the first floor and had a lovely big bed anda bathroom we could have held a partyin....super big bath.
On the first night we ate in the bar and had an excellent meal, well prepared and presented with a bottle of wine to wash it down.
The second night our anniversary, we ate in the Orchard restaurant.a lovely setting.
The Director, fraser, who was ining with some of his family, came over to congratulat us and have a chat. Fraser's son was also very charming, in the best possible way. All the staff were welcoming and efficient. A loely time was had by myself and my husband.
The Chikita, Falkirk.

Room Tip: Room 6 was quiet and looked out onto the gardens which were lovely. I loved the big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A very modern hotel which is clean and comfortable! The food in the restaurant is excellent although they had no strawberry ice cream! Wine was up to my standard but the music in the restaurant was absolutely awful!! Great place to stay for a golfing holiday in Nairn!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights mid week. The hotel is very modern and clean. We had a room on the second floor over looking the front of the hotel. The room was large, with a large 6 ft bed. We found the breakfast to be very good with the waitress who couldn't do enough for you. We ate in the hotel on our 1st night but was disappointed by the food, the portions of Monk fish were very small for a large price, so choose not to eat there the second night. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed as a single traveller and was given a single room on request. The decor was a bit overdone but good food in the restaurant and the breakfast excellent. Staff were busy but There was a lovely lady serving breakfast who thoughtfully brought me a newspaper as I was eating alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at The Clubhouse Hotel between July 21 - 25. Room #3 was terrific, it was quiet and staff was very friendly and helpful. On the evening of our first night we decided to stay and eat at the restaurant - we never ate any where else - food was terrific (both breakfast & dinner.) I (we) highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Room #3 was on the corner and very bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Took my family up to Narin for four days .
We have never been here before and knew nothing of the hotel but took a chance as it looked good on the internet.
On arrival it looked a very nice hotel in nice surroundings with well maintained gardens and floral displays.
Inside was no different clean and tidy and very smart .
My wife and I were in room three which is large and newly decorated , my sons were in room 6 which was a good size clean and very smart .
Both rooms had large screen televisions and internet access.
We ate in the bar on the first night and had a great meal the sea bass was amazing well presented and really tastey.
We also ate in the orchid restaurant the following evening which was a pleasant experience great food and service.
On the third night we ate out in the town which was ok but returned to eat in the hotel for our last night as we had great meals and service not to mention the Hoegaarden wheat beer that they have on draught it's now my favorite.
There is also a magnificent golf course at the bottom of the road by the sea which is 5 minutes walk although we never had to walk down with our clubs as the owner took us down in his car.
We will be back great hotel and great value.
And a big thank you from our family to the staff who made our stay a great one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clubhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clubhouse Hotel

Address: 45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clubhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clubhouse Nairn is a newly refurbished Boutique Hotel catering to golfers, tourists and business people. Located in the west end of Nairn and only a 7 iron from the Nairn Golf club and another 30 links courses within an hours drive from the hotel. This year sees the Scottish Open come to Nairn at the prestigious Castle Stuart Course just outside of Nairn in July. We offer an excellent bar and dining experience prepared by our Head Chef Carl Bontoft along with a variety of Cocktails and Wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Clubhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Nairn
The Clubhouse Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clubhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.