We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf View Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golf View Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Golf View Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland (Formerly a Swallow hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked this short break via 5pm.com and had a lovely peaceful holiday. Our room although looking onto the car park was more than adequate, large with a settee and lounge chair in addition to the usual hotel bedroom furniture. Our experience seemed to be much better than previous reviewers. The first person we saw when we entered the hotel was who I now believe must have been the newly appointed manager and although I thought he was another guest as he was not on duty at that time, he greeted us warmly and I thought "what a nice man". The other staff were equally helpful and pleasant. I have to agree with some of the other reviewers re the taster meal. Who would pay nearly £33 for this small meal? Although it was nice and did fill us up adequately it was still not worth that amount. Can I also mention the cost of a packet of crisps sold in the bar was £1.20!!!! I would advise guests to bring your own snacks. Overall a nice holiday and would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback and would hope to see you back at the Golf View soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    214
    75
    53
    26
See reviews for
107
360
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked four poster room for mini moon. Had room 10, first floor with sea view. Beautiful room with large bathroom, views were stunning. Very quiet. Used the spa, really nice, great hot tub feature outside where you can watch sunset. Food reasonable but not fantastic, ended up eating up the road after our first meal. Breakfast was great with a decent hot and cold choice. Easy parking, nice strolls up to town along the beach.

The problem with this place is what others have mentioned many times, the front of house experience. Whilst pleasant enough, you don't feel the focus of attention as the guest should be. No hello's etc when passing the desk. You somehow feel you are being a burden. The ground troops are very nice but I suspect poorly managed with forgotten orders a common problem by the comments I heard. The housekeeping staff were fantastic, and super helpful with our requests. There is one manager an ?indian chap who is fantastic, polite, welcoming, genuinely interested which provided an even starker comparison for the above points. I even wondered if he'd been brought in specially.

I would stay again, the negatives were not directly offensive, more disappointing because Golf view could be really fantastic with a better customer focus.

Room Tip: Room ten was fantastic and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and overall rating. I have passed on your comments to the team. We have a appointed a number of new staff including our new Food and Beverage Manager, Ankit to whom you have mentioned in your review. The key to these appointments is to increase our customer service and with training to give staff increased confidence and greater social interaction. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired! We were in room 52 which, although a good size and great views, had frayed/disintegrated curtains badly in need of replacement! We found a previous guests' underwear in the bedside cupboard. Although the beds were made each day, the room was not tidied i.e. the kettle was not returned to the tea tray nor was the empty box of tissues recharged! The lighting was totally inadequate - you couldn't even see into the wardrobe to find your clothing! The shower doors didn't close properly, the toilet seat wasn't fitted correctly so you felt as if you would fall off! The bath taps were broken causing the water to splash all over the floor and up the wall.
The food, although tasty, was inadequate and we were hungry at the end of each day. I certainly would not pay £33 per night for the tiny portions! Badly presented!

Room Tip: Ask for sea views. The 2nd floor rooms directly below 51 and 52 (which are on the top floor) have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for feedback. I have reviewed the room concerned and we will order new curtains. More particularly our Head Housekeeper has spoken to the housemaid whose allocated room was the one you have stayed in to reiterate our housekeeping standards. Other maintenance issues have been dealt with. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and our sincere apologies that you had to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettyhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Golf View is a lovely hotel right on the beach of the Moray Firth at Nairn. We stayed here as we were white water rafting with Ace Adventures on the Saturday (about 20 mins away). I didn't make use of the spa facilities as this isn't my thing but some of the other partners (we were a group of 10) did and appeared happy with their experience.
The food is very good - they have all inclusive weekends where you can eat from the 6 course taster menu or upgrade at a relatively small cost to the various a-la-carte options - for a larger sized portion. Some of the guys that ate from the taster were hungry at the end of the meal so opted for a-la-carte on the second night.
Our only real disappointment with our stay was the 'front of house' experience - a couple of members of this team seemed to forget the objective/purpose of their job, i.e. customer service and most things did seem too much trouble. An example - we asked for a joined up table of 10 for our meal on the Saturday evening, however were very pointedly told "No", the reason being that as the tables were mainly rounds it was difficult to push them together...now this would be an acceptable explanation apart from the way it was deliverd and that having eaten in the restaurant the night before (when 6 of us ate together) we knew that the tables were square! By the by, we gained the attention of the restaurant manager and he very quickly resolved this for us and we were able to enjoy our meal all sat together on a line of 4 square tables. We did raise the 'front of house' concern with the same manager at the end of our meal - he has been there just a few weeks, previously employed by the Marriott, and assured us that he was dealing with these concerns (obvously not just us that had raised this) and we were happy with this. As we explained to him, it would put us off returning - its a beautiful hotel in a lovely location and its a shame if important members of the team were letting the hotel down.
Our room - third floor - was lovely, with great views of the Firth - we watched two porpoises swimming past on one morning. It's a lovely walk along the sea front down to the marina.
As I say, if I was reassured that the front of house had been improved then I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor at the front have great views. Our room was number 51.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your good review. I am delighted that you met our new Food and Beverage Manager who was able to resolve any issues that you had with a table set up and that enjoyed all others aspects of your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for the first time . The bedroom was quite large and had a good sized bathroom . The food which we had during our break was excellent with the evening meal consisting of a 6 course taster menu which although some of the portions were quite small still filled us up. I must also mention the excellent leisure facilities.I used the swimming pool which was at a nice warm temperature and had amazing views of the beach .
There was also a hot tub ouside in the grounds which a brave couple utilised It was October after all .There was amble free parking in front of the hotel and a nice feature is that when you leave the hotel grounds through the rear gate you are on the riverside promenade from which you can walk into Nairn town centre.To sum up Great location,Great Food and excellent leisure facilities with helpful staff will definitely return .

Room Tip: try and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we very much look forward to seeing you again. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay was a good stay, i would recommend this to anyone. The only disappointing thing was the evening meal we had, it was all cold. This could have been due to the fact they had a big table of around 20 to cater for but sad for a 4 star hotel. The waiting staff could be done with some more training as little things let them down.
All in though, it was fine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for good feedback. Certainly food should not come out cold as it is all freshly prepared. I will check with our kitchen. Our new Food and Beverage manager is on board and he is majoring on our waiting staff service.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Booked on 5pm.com.from the moment we arrived the words wow kept popping up.the staff were so welcoming the room we got to die for(no.10) facilities 5star and the 6course taster menu....amazing.would highly recommend this hotel oh and amazing setting.

Room Tip: No 10-four poster.....fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, Owner at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. It is much appreciated and I will share with the team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland (Formerly a Swallow hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf View Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.