We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf View Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golf View Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Golf View Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland (Formerly a Swallow hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old fashioned quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked the Golf View Hotel through the website special advertised in the press, £49.50 each and £3 booking fee.
We had room 54 on the third floor but there is a lift.
A lovely room with a fantastic view of the seashore, it certainly helped that weather was beautiful when we were there.
Our bedroom room had two armchairs and twin beds with lovely sheets.
It being summer the heating was not on but the was an electric heater to take the chill off later in the evening.
A lovely modern bathroom with a bath and a shower cabinet!
Our room had free Wi-Fi with a fairly good connection.
We did not have dinner as we were meeting friends. The breakfast was lovely and all staff have uniforms on.
The hotel also has a modern leisure centre so we had a swim and a turn in the outdoor hot tub. There was also exercise machines available.
A grand old hotel which has been kept up to date with the decorations and the furnishings.
No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    214
    75
    53
    26
See reviews for
107
360
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. We had a very nice room, clean and comfortable, with a sea view and the bathroom had a great shower and a separate bathtub.
Staff at reception were lovely and the public areas are very nice.
The indoor pool with Jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna next to it were great.
Sadly, the hotel is terribly let down by the quality of service in the bar and dining rooms. There were far too few staff, and those that were there seem young and inexperienced and utterly unable to think for themselves, with no apparent manager or senior member of staff to supervise.
On the Saturday night when we dined there, we counted 40+ guests eating in the dining room and only one member of staff to deal with them. The poor chap did his best, but he couldn’t possibly provide a good service when he was rushed off his feet and dealing with dozens of requests by himself. He did eventually get some help from the bar but, judging from our experiences there, he’d have been better off alone!
The food was just average, and not hot when served, which isn’t really good enough for the prices they charge.
The service simply isn’t 4-star standard. I would have rated the hotel higher, had we not eaten or had drinks there. Judging from other reviews on here (which I wish I’d read before visiting!) we are not alone in feeling this way.
I would stay here again, but would have drinks and meals elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Anniversary so asked for a room at the front; Got one at the back but moved to side after requesting move. Bottle of Cava appeared as apology. Reception staff indifferent to our requests. Bar devoid of staff and several people wandered off - missed business!
Dinner was in the main dining room as we were on a DB&B + Spa package. 6 course taster menu. 2 staff serving - couldn't cope but they did work hard but needed more help. 1st course arrived after the 2nd and was a spoonful of dried out pate on a spoon. Rest of meal didn't fare much better and sweets and cheese had been pre prepared and had gone soggy as a consequence. Would have been better in the sea view conservatory (WOW, great view!) where we could have eaten off the a la carte which was excellent (I know because I had a course off it as I couldn't eat the 2nd course of the taster menu). Breakfast good but again shortage of staff so like dinner, service pathetically slow.
Spa treatments were great with professional staff who were really pleasant to be with. Many thanks to them.
Final note: got up in the morning and left room for breakfast, tripping over a pile of sheets and towels on the floor outside our bedroom door and every other bedroom door down the corridor. Not great to think that your sheets and towels had been lying on a dirty floor before you used them?

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I arrived for a two night Spa break having booked direct with Crerar Hotels.
We were given a lovely room with partial seaview although we had not paid for a full seaview.
Decor was a little tired but very clean.Table lamp not working throughout stay despite it being reported to Reception.There was also no toilet roll or soap in the bathroom! These were resolved very quickly.
We agree with the comments from Richard "Below Par". Long wait in dining room lack of staff in the restaurant and bar. Proper training was required for some staff.
However I did find that the Reception staff, although under pressure, to be very professional and welcoming even to the point of remembering my name as I passed by.
The Spa area was adequate but the girls were lovely and very professional and caring.
It was unfortunate that the changing rooms were being re-vamped and this did cause a bit of a problem.
When we spoke to other people we learnt that there were several different prices that people had paid for the same type and quality of accomodation and meals allowance.
This seemed very unfair. I am all for competition and good business management but £100 approx being a difference for the same deal was just too much!!!
We enjoyed our break and will definately return soon but will check out various agencies for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: second floor front for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Okay, first the good news: the hotel has spectacular views over the Moray Firth and if you've booked a 'room with a view' you can lie in your four-poster bed, sipping a cup of tea looking out over the water to the mountains beyond. The full Scottish breakfasts are freshly prepared with excellent local produce. The meals served in the informal lounge at lunchtime and dinner are also of a good quality. But, don't be in a hurry. The service on our visit was glacially slow. (which accounts for why our party gave the main restaurant a miss in the evening and went out for sustenance) One had the feeling that the guests spoilt the smooth running of the hotel. Breakfast servings could border on the chaotic, if more than four guests arrived at once. All had to wait in line till the staff found time, in between taking orders, to seat them. And don't expect a welcome or acknowlegement of your existence from any member of staff in the hotel's lobby -- they're far too busy getting on with their own jobs to ponder how they might make your stay more pleasurable. The bar area wasn't much better. Between the hours of six and seven when one could expect guests to want to have a pre-prandial drink, it was often unstaffed. On one occasion I was greeted by the strains of Jefferson Starship belting out from a music centre perched on the bar. They might well have built a city on rock and roll, but they would be hard pushed laying down the foundations for an evening here. After turning it off, someone duly appeared. So, not enough staff, and those that were there, could do with a crash course in 'people skills'. Maybe things will improve in the high season and by that I don't mean a session with the Proclaimers.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for a room with a view over the Moray Firth. For those who don't play g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Arrived checked in fine swimming pool was lovely nairn beach was good too but dinner our 6 course was not as good as expected slowest dinner service ever : lovely food when we got it ; but waiting time wAs unreal lol

Hope breakfast is not same as im pregnant 30 weeks and my food is veryimportant to me just now i get grumpy if im hungry
Nice location nice hotel
Was dissapointed that there was no little treat for us in room as i emailed asking for sample menu etc as it was our wedding anniversary n got no reply also they never mentioned it at all

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Where can I start with this hotel. ROOM, 21 very large with a huge bed & very comfortable, we had a sofa and two further chairs. The bathroom was large with a separate shower cubicle, excellent. STAFF, freindly, professional, and efficient what more can you ask for. LOCATION, right on the Moray Firth. There is a prominade which is ideal for those morning walks before breakfast. The Nairn golf course is a few minutes walk away and lots of golf outing were stayng at the time we stayed, great golf course. FOOD, we stayed for 2 nights and had the six course taster menu, this was just fantastic, compliments to the chef. Lots to see in the area, Fort George, Culloden Battlefield, Whisky trails.I recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland (Formerly a Swallow hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf View Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.