We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine sunsets - from the hot tub looking onto the Moray Firth!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golf View Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golf View Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Golf View Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Divine sunsets - from the hot tub looking onto the Moray Firth!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A fine place for a couple of nights R & R. Comfortable, spacious room: we were lucky enough to have one with a sea view; excellent breakfast: locally sourced produce & waiter service; lovely spa: pool with a view & aforementioned spa on the deck with the divine view. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Would definitely return. Only negative was the rather worn stair carpet and a bit of a camber on the actual stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Great feedback. Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased that you had a lovely stay. I note your comments regarding the stair carpet as this has been included in our maintenance programme. We have recently renewed our reception carpets and principal corridors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golf View Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    230
    78
    54
    28
See reviews for
119
391
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at The Golf View Hotel and Spa (6-8/3), we enjoyed every minute. Unfortunately the weather was poor but it didn't stop us from walking into the town a few times, the hotel is in a beautiful location, so we walked along the beach which on a good day would be stunning.
Our room was huge with a large bathroom. The hotel is spotless and the spa facilities are great. We enjoyed the sauna , steam room and even the outdoor hot tub! If we were to be very critical, the changing rooms are a little tired in comparison with the rest of the hotel.
The food was excellent, we enjoyed the 6 course taster menu the first evening and both had steak the second evening. Very enjoyable.
The staff were all excellent, very friendly, we were made to feel very welcome.
We will definately be returning at some time in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback as this is much valued. Great news that you had such a lovely time. I have noted your comments regarding the changing rooms which we look at. We hope to see you again soon at the Golf View Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked a DBB weekend break and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive and friendly. The spa facilities were very good and the outdoor hot tub had fantastic views over the moray firth. The hotel is located right on the shore front and it is a 15 minute leisurely stroll along the front and into town. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable break. First visit but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for kind feedback. I will pass your comments onto the team at the Golf View Hotel and Spa in our weekly standards and service meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have just spent 2 nights at the hotel with a good friend on a DBB spa package which included 3 mini treatments. I say mini treatments but although only half hour each, they were extremely good and we felt thoroughly pampered. The hotel is warm and inviting with character, set in a perfect location in an affluent part of Nairn overlooking the water. We even tried the outdoor hot tub which was amazing. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional throughout the hotel and spa and we were especially impressed with the therapists and the bar and restaurant staff. We opted for a twin room which was very spacious and comfortable with a lovely, big bathroom and great shower. You should not be put off by other reviewers' comments re cracked sinks and decor. These are minor details. Also I cannot agree with the few negative comments re the 6 course taster menu which we thought was amazing (and I have dined at many reputable restaurants). Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice. All in all the package was excellent value and we had a very enjoyable stay. Please continue to offer this package, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for such a fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at the Golf View Hotel and Spa. I will pass on your comments to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just back from 3 night break at this hotel. The hotel is in a lovely setting and has nice view over the Moray Firth. Was glad I had my paperwork as when we arrived they thought we should have arrived the day before (their mistake). The room was nice enough and the bed comfortable and the bathroom was also big. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful as I have a lot of food intolerances. They checked the ingredients with the chef and cooked it specially. It is a very relaxing hotel and enjoyed our weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and we delighted that you enjoyed your meal and that we were able to go that extra mile to help. Apologies for any confusion at check as this is not our standard. We look forward to seeing you back at the Golf View Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for one night on a special rate which included Dinner B&B and a half-hour treatment. The room was spacious and well-equipped. The Bathroom had a bath and shower which was nice.The only down side was that it looked over the top of the restaurant and the air-con was quite noisy but it was turned off overnight though.
The Pool etc was lovely although the floor around the pool was a little dirty which was probably a result of coming in from the outdoor Hot Tub.
My highest praise must be for the lovely lady who gave us our Massage. My husband had been having back pains, and she tailored her massage to alleviate this and he reported all the issues had gone afterwards. My Massage was pretty wonderful too, considering I was the last appointment (5.30) and she had been at it all day, there was no diminuation in her professionalism and attention.
We were disappointed with the Dinner and would have preferred the menu in the conservatory with hindsight, although a previous reviewer has reported that this is not possible under the terms of the deal unless you pay extra for it. It is a 6-course Taster Menu, but we did not like the choice of Mains, and I accept this is personal taste. The surcharge to order from the a la carte instead was very high, and we felt, prohibitive. For some unexplained reason we only got 5 of the courses, and coffee was an extra charge, but it didn't really matter in the end. Another reviewer has reported about the service in the dining room being inconsistent, and I have to agree. The staff are friendly but there are not enough of them, and we had to wait a long time for a glass of wine to come for example. Breakfast had a comprehensive selection but my scrambled eggs were cold and gritty, and the bacon overcooked, dry and hard.
Overall, we would go back because the views are beautiful, the leisure facilities very good and the rooms are nice. I just know now to be specific about what room I want, and go on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: ask for sea view and avoid 18 and 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. I have noted your comments regarding service and will discuss with the team particulaly concerning staffing levels as we must always have an appropriate level of service. I can also confirm that our Conservatory restaurant is our fine dining restaurant. Thanks again for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Feb'13,booked through Easy breaks.Inclusive of dinner, bed & breakfast with a bottle of wine per couple on the first night. Dinner was either a 6 course taster menu or a £32 dinner allowance toward the a la carte menu.We chose the taster menu on both evenings & found the standard & quality excellent.Free bottle of wine was of a much better quality that the glass purchased the following evening.Breakfast offered a very good selection which included Eggs benedict & scrambled eggs with salmon in addition to the usual fry up which included the best haggis & black pudding I have ever tasted.
Bedroom was confortable & warm.Bed an excellent size & proved comfortable for my 6'5" husband .Downside-badly cracked bathroom sink & bedroom window let down what was otherwise a lovelly hotel.
Vey friendly staff.We were charged for someone elses drinks on our final bill but the helpful receptionist quickly .resolved this for us.
Excellent value for money .Would recomend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback and good to hear that your enjoyed your stay. I will pick with our maintenance department regarding your sink as this is not to our standard. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf View Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.