We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Street, Nairn IV12 4HP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Nairn
Porth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night en route Edinburgh Airport but would have been happy to stay longer.

We had a really warm welcome from Scott who was well organised when managing a large group, advising that porterage was available.

Our room was okay, a little on the small side but with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a freestanding shower cubicle which had great water power.

The restaurant and bar were a bit chilly but the service very good. Anders was very polite and efficient in service at both dinner and breakfast - thank you very much.

Overall our experience was very good, thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    15
    15
    45
See reviews for
17
41
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was by far the worst hotel we have stayed in,ever, and we have stayed in many at home and abroad. Our room was so terrible, with a very strong smell of frying fumes, excessively hot, even with all the windows open constantly, also very basic. The bathroom smelled even worse and was hotter and smelled stronger than the room.The plumbing to the shower was a joke, almost a trickle only was available.
The service reminded us of Faulty Towers, but we did not find it very funny at the time, more like frustrating, we could not get the dining staff to understand english, did not even know what porridge was.
We did get moved to another room for the other 2 nights of our 3 night stay, that was dull dark and dingy and the bath was all rusty along the base ugh! We won't ever go back.!!! Christine B

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 4 nights dinner,bed and breakfast in October.The staff were so nice,polite and extremely helpful.Our bedroom was lovely,the rooms were clean and tidy and the towels were fresh every day.The food was really nice and it was always served hot.The chefs chicken soup was the best i have ever tasted.Scott the general manager and Ian were so helpful in telling us all about the area and places to visit.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Needed somewhere for an overnight stay, staff very friendly and food excellent, let down by state of rooms, very small,bathroom so small has to be seen to be believed, if you want a bath it takes around half an hour to fill, plumbing needs sorting, strange set up of rooms, on suite from next room takes up half of room we were allocated, could hear everything that out neighbors were doing!!!,ok for one night, not very quiet and would not go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, the staff although willing had not been trained properly and this included the so called manager. There was insufficent staff and most could not speak English, so it was difficult to get any request responded to. The rooms were very basic, the bathroom was so small it was difficult to dry ones self , virtually no pressure from the shower and waiting an age for the hot water to appear.
The pre dining drink was a difficult experience a) to get served b) to get the drink you wanted eg
no white wine ,no tonic water, no chilled white wine etc. The manager was advised he insisted that white wine would be available when we were there 3 nights.
Next the horrific dining experience,overcrowded dining room,plastic tablecloth,no drink service at table, non English speaking staff. The food on the first night was beef which could not be eaten as had probably been re heated several times and was just just too tough to chew, with undercooked frozen potatoes and sweet corn mixed with peas yuck. The standard was maintained throughout our stay,and breakfast did not escape their magic touch,undrinkable orange juice,cold porridge,cold cooked breakfast, and unbelievable undercooked toast which was also cold along with insufficient marmalade. How this hotel has 3 stars beats me has it actually visited or stayed at who inspects?

Room Tip: Don't get the one I had,a request to change by several guest was greeted with none available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our coach tour booked us (family of 4+2 grand parents) in this hotel on 26th Aug night. This is the worst experience I have had staying in any hotel..the phones do not work, the shower did not work, the rooms are dated...there is no lift...if the shower does work (for which I had to make a trip to Reception), it is only cold water. The decor was pretty average and in general, the hotel was quite dated!

The breakfast was about average, and with only 3 waiters (one of them was the guy in Reception !) handling around 60 guests, the wait for the toast was 30 min.....

Please stay in this hotel AT YOUR OWN RISK. I don't know what the Scottish Tourist Board looks at when inspecting hotels and they need to 'downgrade' this 3-star hotel to 0.5 stars!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardersier
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We held our wedding here and I cannot compliment the staff enough. The manager, Scott, couldn't do enough for us during the planning stage and during the actual event there plenty of staff available to help out. In particular I would like to thank Amanda, head waitress. The meal and buffet were great. There was one minor issue with a member of front of house staff with whom some of our guests had problems communicating but again Scott was always on hand to smooth things over. We stayed overnight too and the room was lovely as was breakfast.

We've also been to the carvery at the weekend a few times and that is brilliant value for money and very tasty. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Albert Street, Nairn IV12 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel is set only a few miles from Inverness and in the best residential area of Nairn. One of the closest hotels to Inverness Airport and near to the major trunk routes.Beautiful sandy beaches, putting green, children's adventure play park, swimming pool, squash courts and full leisure facilities are also within easy reach of the hotel. Nairn, with its unique micro climate, is an ideal touring centre for the Highlands of Scotland, close to Inverness, Loch Ness and all that it has to offer. Only 15 minutes from Cawdor Castle and Culloden Battlefield. It is a perfect break whatever your interest - Whiskey Trail, Heritage, Touring, Walking and Golfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nairn
Nairn Best Western
Windsor Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.