We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hiddenglen Holidays

Lodge with south facing balcony.
Lodge with south facing balcony.
Lodge with south facing balcony.
Looking up at the lodges from the south.
The living area with kitchen behind.
The other side of the living area.
Nairn
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
janjam31
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The good life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Now we know why it's called Hiddenglen. Set well back of the road, and approx. 3 miles from Nairn, peace and tranquilly abound in bucket loads. It's a working farm with the everyday comings and goings you would expect.
Cows, sheep, chickens and a couple of dogs blend in well with the relaxing atmosphere and the beautiful view we had from our chalet. The patio doors were open every night so we were able to watch the birds feeding in the garden, in fact I got up early several mornings just to sit outside and watch them.
Our chalet was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. A large selection of books, dvd 's and maps, not to mentioned a well stocked folder with all the "things to do and see" kept us well occupied and made for easy planning.
A stroll round the lake, a boat, some fishing, a walk, or in our case a jog in the woods means there is something here for everyone.
A welcome box of eggs and a card from Therese is a lovely touch to come into as well.
We would certainly be back if we were in the area again.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TeakyDor
Dunfermline, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Perfect Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you’ve ever stayed on one of those chalet sites where the cabins are tightly squeezed in to every corner and you’re always overlooked by the neighbours, then this site is the EXACT opposite. Lovely views, spectacular wildlife (red squirrels, chaffinches, woodpeckers and we heard a cuckoo), remote yet only two miles from Nairn and it’s carry outs, restaurants and supermarkets.
We stayed in one of the three bedroom lodges. It was spacious, comfortable and well designed. The lodges sit on an organic croft farmed by the owners Peter and Therese who were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. We would be delighted to rebook in future and have already recommended it to friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jennifer...
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Lodge in amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and daughter (11) are just back from a holiday at Therese and Peter's Hiddenglen lodge in Nairn. We wanted a place where we could relax in beautiful natural surroundings and we won the lottery with this place! The lodge itself was big, spotlessly clean with a huge balcony and panoramic views. During our stay we identified over 40 birds, and a couple of red squirrels visited our balcony every morning to feast on nuts. My daughter collected the chickens eggs daily and hugged, I am sure, every chicken there! We also went out on the boat many times, very easy to row, and did pond dipping. Therese has made up a Treasure Hunt around the grounds, which was a lot of fun. The area is very child friendly/safe, and there is a large trampoline, slide and sand pit to entertain them. Everything is provided for you, including a large selection of books, games and DVDs. Be sure to read The Long Bridge: Out of the Gulags by Urszula Muskus (Peter's Grandmother), it's an amazing story! There is a copy in the lodge. We were so sad to leave this tranquil place, and it is somewhere my daughter will always have amazing memories of. Therese and Peter made us very welcome from the start and nothing was too much trouble for them, we felt part of the family during our stay and will definately return!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The natural surroundings and the balcony to sit out in.
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cathy S
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful location, fantastic lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This is the best self catering we have stayed in. The lodge was spotlessly clean, very large and warm. We were grateful for that as the weather was very changeable! It is in an ideal location for days out, Inverness, Culloden, Fort George etc were only a few miles away. Hidden Glen is beautiful, we saw lots of wildlife from the lodge, woodpeckers, deer, siskins ,the birds are too numerous to mention. I would recommend this to anyone. Although we didn't go with children I'm sure my granddaughter would have loved it as there were lambs, calves and hens on the farm and dolphins to visit in the Moray Firth only a short drive away.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The peaceful, private location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
les G
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic accomodation, activities and scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Picked up this fantastic place off Visit Scotland and it is so undersold its unreal. Therese and Peter are the most welcoming hosts you could ever hope to have. Warm pleasant welcome and nothing was too much trouble with plenty involving the kids collecting eggs grading them and they even got to help with lambing (timing is everything) Required wellies to go on a walk round the lakes but thats not a problem they provided them too. Got a rowing boat on the small lake and provided lifejackets for the kids.
Accomodation is everything they describe and more !! We were a family of 6 and the living / dining area is adequate with plenty couches and dining table is really an 8 seater so plenty room. The cleanliness and quality of the cabin is second to none.

Our kids did not want to leave they had a fantastic time there

This couple represent tourism in Scotland to the highest degree and cannot be compared to any other accomdation its so unique.

If your looking for a quality relaxing break in Scotland this has got to be the one

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything it was faultless
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Stu M
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Should be called hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

A totally stunning lodge and surroundings, met on arrival very warmly and welcomed into the lodge. 12 fresh eggs were left for us and an abundance of information about things to do in the area and further afield. A great little selection of games, jigsaws and DVDs for our son to plough through of an evening after a busy day on the big slide and trampoline, or running round the woods and fields. We were met every morning by the cheeky red squirrels at 8 and an array of different birds on the feeders. Very warm and comfortable lodge and would defiantly return.

5*+

Great place to stay and explore.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Inbal D
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed in the chalet which has fantastic views over the lake and valley.
Saw a woodpecker and lots of other birds from our window.

Our boys are 6 and 7 and just had the best time ever playing in the den in the woods, on the trampoline and big slide and rowing the boat on the lake.

Highlights for them were collecting and sorting the eggs, feeding the chickens and baking bread with Bianca.

They made lots of friends to play out with and we all had a lovely time.

Thank you Therese, Peter, Rob, Bianca, Nathan and Josh.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Got a tick in my leg at Culbin Wood on a walk! Never take your wellies off!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$439
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Therese M
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 54 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing