We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than our own home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boath House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boath House Hotel to your Saves list
Boath House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Nairn
Aspen, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than our own home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Boath House is like the home owned by your rich grandparents in a private park - if you were luck to have rich grandparents who lived in a private park. It is a small intimate home where your every need is met, from wonderful rooms, to discrete staff to fabulous meals. From arrival to departure you feel as if you living the life of luxury enjoyed a century ago by the very few who were luck enough to be very rich. The rooms are great, the food fantastic and the grounds absolutely magnificent even when it rains. It is the perfect place for a quiet getaway from the family, friends and the office.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    26
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
140
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I spent two nights at the Boath House with my husband earlier this month. It was a very beautiful hotel and rather decadent (aka, expensive). Our room was very large and the bathroom was beautiful. We had a bathtub with claw feet and loads of Molton Brown products, which made for a great bath! :-)

When we arrived, we were greeted by a VERY formal young lady. Everything was very hush hush, and it wasn't the most comfortable environment. When we told her that we were not eating dinner there, she seemed shocked.

While we had heard the restaurant was great, we chose not to dine there. We were sightseeing all day and didn't want a 'fancy' dinner at night. I think that the hotel is beautiful and the breakfasts were amazing....but I don't think it was the right hotel for us, given the intent of our trip. If we were relaxing and lounging around looking for fine dining, etc., then the Boath House would've been great. Sadly, I think it was overpriced for the value we got out of it. We were in Scotland for 12 days, and stayed places that were much less expensive and much more relaxing, romantic and cozy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here with friends for a birthday treat and weren't dissapointed, the place is a real gem and one of the best places ive ever stayed and by far the best i've stayed locally. Its not cheap but is very exclusive and has fantastic food but well worth it. The owners and staff were great and made us feel very welcome. Sure its near the main road but you hardly notice this, we spent the afternoon in the impressive grounds messing about in a boat in the loch with a glass or two of bubbly, it was so relaxing and you could really be anywhere. The owners really have done an outstanding job in making the place relaxed and stressfree just wish we could of stayed longer. Will definately be back for another treat !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

In August 2010 my eight-year old daughter and I spent a three-week holiday in Scotland. We first stayed for three days in Edinburgh (at Prestonfield, q.v.), then went on to Nairn for a week (at Boath House), continued on to the Isle of Skye for another four days (at Kinloch Lodge, q.v.) and spent our final week near Fort William (at Inverlochy Castle, q.v.).
Boath House is a very special hotel: It is small (only eight rooms) and the owner-managers (Don and Wendy) live there so that it feels more like a private home than a hotel.
Don and Wendy are two dears - they are most friendly and always ready to help you or give you useful advice about what to do. They have managed to assemble a very small but very dedicated staff (all of them locals as far as I can tell) - each and every one of them is very friendly and always ready to help guests with anything (e.g., when I asked for a cloth brush to borrow and they did not have one, they went so far as to buy one for me). It would be unfair to single out any of them but if I absolutely had to, it would be Jonathan (but probably only because he was the one we dealt with most).
The grounds of the hotel are lovely - a small pond, wonderful, old trees, a walled garden - but, it has to be pointed out, due to the proximity of the A96 there is no escaping the traffic noise in the park.
The absolute highlight, to be sure, is the hotel restaurant: It certainly deserves its Michelin star. There is a set menu (four courses plus cheese and dessert) so there is not really a choice (except, of course, to omit a course!) - but everything is of the highest quality and tastes more than very good. It is true, the portions are small: When you had lunch and full English afternoon tea, you will be alright, but, when you return from a few hours of hiking with only a light snack or some fruit for lunch, you will leave the table still hungry. But neither the non-existent choice nor the small portions are really a problem - the restaurant staff is more than willing to accommodate every special wish you might have: Vegetarian food instead of meat or fish? A bowl instead of a cup of soup? Skip or modify a course (if there is something you absolutely dislike)? Larger portions? No problem at all - provided you tell them in advance ("in advance" meaning after breakfast and not half an hour before dinner). The service is on a par with the quality of the food: professional, very friendly and not formal or condescending in any way. Dinner itself is quite a formal affair: Guests gather at 7 pm in the drawing room where they may have an apéritif and are presented with (delicious!) canapés, from about 7.30 pm guests are conducted to their tables in the dining room. Inappropriately and, in my mind, sadly there is no dressing code; so you may see people in sneakers and T-shirts among all the starched linen, the silver cutlery and the crystal glasses (speaking of style, they ought to get rid of those cheap looking plastic trays!). Breakfast is served quite late (at 8.30 am during the week and at 9.00 am on Sundays) so that you are sure to get enough sleep! The breakfast menu is rather short but, once again, everything is of the highest quality. The croissants were delicious (unfortunately they are served only about every other morning); and although they cannot do pancakes, they make very fine omelettes (even though they are not on the menu).
The hotel is furnished and decorated in a very tasteful way - with many works of contemporary art blending harmoniously with old furniture and traditional panelling or wallpaper. Our room, the Superior Courtyard Suite, was, it must be said, a bit of a disappointment. "Courtyard Suite" is a misnomer in two ways: First, it is not a "courtyard" but a "cellar" suite because that is where it is located - which means you do not have a view at all, although it is not as bad as it sounds because there is enough daylight coming in from a kind of wintergarten with a glass roof that belongs to the suite and that provides access to some stairs leading directly up to the hotel garden. Second, it is really a junior suite because, in my mind at least, a (full) suite consists of separate rooms; however, besides the bathroom and the above-mentioned wintergarden (which not really counts), there was only one large room. Otherwise our room was alright: spacious and tastefully furnished (in a more modern way).
Furthermore, this being a very small hotel, there are some (mostly minor) compromises to be made: There is no valet parking, no 24-hour concierge service, no turndown service and no shoecleaning service (the last being not a minor inconvenience given the Scottish weather).
The immediate (and not so immediate) surroundings of the hotel offer a lot of attractions and there is more than enough to do for one or even two weeks. Must-sees include Urquhart Castle on Loch Ness (a 45-minute drive away) and Cawdor Castle (a ten-minute drive away). Nairn, the next town (just five minutes away) is a nice little town with a beautiful beach and beachfront area (minus a gaudy "amusement park"). Nature lovers should visit Culbin Forest (immediately east of Nairn), where you can walk (or run) a couple of miles in the forest or, alongside it, on the beach, and Glenmore Forest Park with its beautiful lochs (although this takes you an hour to get to).
So, would I return to Boath House? Absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

When we arrived at the hotel we were met by Jonny (The GM) who really set the friendly standard for the hotel and staff. The hotel and everything about it is excellent and everyone who works there makes you feel if you are staying with your best mates and they are going to give you the best time ever!

The food is inspiring and the wine choice has ensured that we are searching the internet for suppliers - just to keep the memories alive!

We stayed in the cottage about 40 metres from the hotel. Don't be put off by this since it is a fantastic place. It is very well decorated and fitted out, and the walk up for breakfast and dinner just adds to the occasion.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

What a disappointment . Could be so much better. Firstly it's next to a main road and quite noisy. Our room was lovely and looked on to a lake and a garden tractor and the owner's caravan [ for 24hrs] Then there's the cockerel ouside the window at 5 a .m. There was a lot of background noise from the kitchen .The spa room in the basement is dark and dreary .Both appointments were late- one 40 mins. Food is certainly good but there are weaknesses. No breakfast before 0830 although they will leave some out with a kettle on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, Owner at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Dear Guest
Hoteliers hate poor reviews- particularly if they had been made aware of a situation that could have been addressed if the guest had only mentioned it!!
The view from your room takes in 15acres of lawns,lake and woodlands. The van referred to was there overnight being packed for a climbing trip. It is 18 ft long and 6 ft high and was parked 30 ft lower than your window. Not much of an obstruction!
This however is not the point.- we are here to keep guest happy not upset them, a quiet word would have seen it vanish instantly.
The "tractor" is a ride on mower and is garaged at night but used every day it is not raining.
There are horses in the field next door, cows and chickens across the way, badgers, kestrel, deer, swans , ducks and rabbits in the grounds. We can but apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I would recommend Boath House v highly. The welcome was perfect when we arrived covered in mud after a long day of hiking. Our room - no 1 - was just the right size with fresh fruit and tea and coffee and cookies waiting for us. The bed was super comfy and I pulled up an armchair to read by the window through which light streamed in. The bathroom was sizeable with a great claw foot bathtub and shower and fantastic full size Molton Brown products. and lots of light.
I really have to say a word about the staff who were fun and interested and incredibly good at their jobs without being intrusive. Don was fun to speak to and get to know and even lent us jackets for fishing once he realised how poorly equipped we were. The breakfasts were just fantastic with delicious smoothies and veggie juices, wonderful herb muesli, yoghurt and fruit and the best scrambled eggs this side of the atlantic. The bread is scrumptious, the dinner menu is superb with great size portions (don't understand the people complaining about portion size - I was absolutely stuffed after the 6 course meal incl. cheese and dessert - how much are you people eating?!) and delicious flavours. They take their food v v seriously here and so they should, its absolutely divine. I was also impressed by the gardens - they are beautiful and you can see the care that has gone into the landscaping. Nice bantam hens too :)
I had a treatment in the spa which while small was so relaxing i fell asleep almost before they started my massage. They were also v careful about my allergies and v considerate about any other sensitivities. I really really enjoyed my trip. I think the only complaint I could think of was that the bathroom door had trouble shutting which was a bit of a pain and It was pretty pricey. Something to save for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScotlandIndia, General Manager at Boath House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review - it is very gratifying to be truly appreciated and that all the hard work that goes on behind the scenes is noticed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Boath House in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boath House Hotel

Address: On A96 | Auldearn, Nairn IV12 5TE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boath House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boath Hotel Nairn
Boath House Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boath House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.